IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Ramdisk Performance, Foobar Playback Stops/Skips Using Ramdisk
jayess
post Oct 8 2012, 21:15
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 18-August 12
Member No.: 102432



I'm multitasking and having a hard time believing that this Ramdisk plugin actually works. 8 core Intel box, 8 Gig of ram, running Windows 7 and latest Foobar. Currently backing up one 3T drive to another identical drive in a Thermaltake USB dual exterior drive carrier. Also ripping CD's to one of the drives in that carrier using DBpoweramp, and mindlessly surfing the web using Firefox.

If I attempt to play music from that drive using Foobar and copy it into the Ramdisk it should be a non-issue from a common sense standpoint and my CPU utilization is practically zero, but the music keeps stopping and skipping whenever I do something in Firefox or say Wordpad despite supposedly being played from the Ramdisk. How can that be?

Also, why does this thing list two of the same commands of "Send to Ramdisk" and "Add to Ramdisk" to confuse people?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Oct 8 2012, 21:29
Post #2





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4336
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (jayess @ Oct 8 2012, 21:15) *
Also, why does this thing list two of the same commands of "Send to Ramdisk" and "Add to Ramdisk" to confuse people?
I haven't used the RAM disk plugin, but by analogy to the playlist management commands in foobar2000 "send" should replace the content of the RAM disk with the selected files and "add" should append the selected files to the RAM disk.

Do the audio problems also occur when you are not using the RAM disk? Which output mode do you use (DS, WASAPI, ASIO)?


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Oct 8 2012, 21:41
Post #3





Group: Developer
Posts: 3213
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



I don't think that foobar2000 can prevent Ramdisk from paging out.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jayess
post Oct 8 2012, 22:15
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 18-August 12
Member No.: 102432



QUOTE (foosion @ Oct 8 2012, 15:29) *
QUOTE (jayess @ Oct 8 2012, 21:15) *
Also, why does this thing list two of the same commands of "Send to Ramdisk" and "Add to Ramdisk" to confuse people?
I haven't used the RAM disk plugin, but by analogy to the playlist management commands in foobar2000 "send" should replace the content of the RAM disk with the selected files and "add" should append the selected files to the RAM disk.

Do the audio problems also occur when you are not using the RAM disk? Which output mode do you use (DS, WASAPI, ASIO)?


This is all it says on the component page "Usage: right-click a group of tracks, use "Send to RAM-Disk" or "Add to RAM-Disk" commands from the "Utilities" sub-menu."

For idiots like me I sure would appreciate something simple such as "Send files to Ramdisk and play them" or "Play selection using Ramdisk."

I use DS. There's plenty of other threads about the effects of using Wasapi or ASIO on a Xonar STX card, and they aren't pretty.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Oct 8 2012, 22:30
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 953
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



QUOTE (jayess @ Oct 8 2012, 23:15) *
I use DS. There's plenty of other threads about the effects of using Wasapi or ASIO on a Xonar STX card, and they aren't pretty.
But ASUS' driver development department is:



--------------------
Audiophiles live in constant fear of jitter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 17:18