IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Foobar2000's replaygain with CLI encoder?
Differenciam
post Jun 22 2003, 22:31
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 453
Joined: 15-January 03
Member No.: 4577



I use Foobar2000's CLI encoder, to convert an APE+CUE to many seperate LAME --alt preset standard files.

Anyway, I see the CLI encoder has a replaygain option.

What replaygain is it though, in comparison to MP3gain? Is it track gain, max no clip gain, or does it just normalize all the songs to one distinct volume? Thanks. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeSomeone
post Jun 22 2003, 22:46
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 920
Joined: 22-October 01
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 335



I would expect Foobar2000 to just add tags with values for peaks and gain. You decide which to use at playback (or in the diskwriter setting).
You could check if the replaygain_album_* tags are created with "show file info" in Foobar2000.
--
Ge Someone


--------------------
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Messer
post Jun 22 2003, 22:54
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 568
Joined: 6-May 02
From: Warsaw / Poland
Member No.: 1977



I don't think so. Foobar diskwriter actually applies volume correction to raw audio data before it is feeded to encoder.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Differenciam
post Jun 22 2003, 23:11
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 453
Joined: 15-January 03
Member No.: 4577



QUOTE (Messer @ Jun 22 2003 - 01:54 PM)
I don't think so. Foobar diskwriter actually applies volume correction to raw audio data before it is feeded to encoder.

Hmmm, then why did MP3gain say that the MP3s I converted with foobar without replaygain had clipping except for a few quiet ones? huh.gif

This is just so I can play the MP3s on my portable CD player, not for my computer, it doesn't count as a music player. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Messer
post Jun 22 2003, 23:29
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 568
Joined: 6-May 02
From: Warsaw / Poland
Member No.: 1977



QUOTE (Differenciam @ Jun 23 2003 - 12:11 AM)
QUOTE (Messer @ Jun 22 2003 - 01:54 PM)
I don't think so. Foobar diskwriter actually applies volume correction to raw audio data before it is feeded to encoder.

Hmmm, then why did MP3gain say that the MP3s I converted with foobar without replaygain had clipping except for a few quiet ones? huh.gif

Of course foobar applies it only if you enable replaygain in diskwriter and there's rg data avialable. I didn't mean that it is "hardcoded" functionality, just explained how it works if enabled B)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Differenciam
post Jun 24 2003, 04:03
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 453
Joined: 15-January 03
Member No.: 4577



Hmmm, just figured out, foobar's replaygain does lower the volume to prevent clipping, but WAY more than MP3gain's max no clip gain does. MP3gain's max no clip gain tried to make the volume higher by 4 dB on a few songs that I used foobar's replaygain on. My portable's low already so I'll have to learn tweak foobar's replaygain so there aren't any steps to encode to MP3 outside foobar...

Thanks. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd April 2014 - 19:51