Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: DAC IV stages (Read 49912 times) previous topic - next topic

DAC IV stages

How important are DAC IV stages in the design of a DAC? I've heard they can cause audible differences. Is this true? I'm not a DAC designer, but I assume there are those who understand the technical merits. Is it a big deal?

DAC IV stages

Reply #1
The I-V (current to voltage) conversion stage of a digital to analog converter is just one of several critical analog stages that can impact the performance of a DAC.  Two products may share the same D/A conversion IC, but may have very different performance.  Each of the analog stages that follow the DAC IC contribute noise and distortion to the audio.  With careful design, these artifacts can be minimized to levels that are well below audibility.  For example, Benchmark's new DAC2 converter uses a ES9018 DAC IC and achieves a 129 dB SNR A-weighted, and distortion that is better than -109 dB.  This implies that distortion is below the threshold of hearing until peak music levels reach 109 dB SPL.  Furthermore, noise would not exceed the threshold of hearing until peak music levels reach a damaging 129 dB SPL.  For all practical purposes, the noise and distortion produced by the DAC2 are inaudible.  The DAC2 probably defines the current state of the art.