IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Why is my volume control so much longer than it was before?, [TOS #6: was ďWhat happened?Ē]
ask-rus
post Jan 22 2013, 12:08
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 2-January 11
Member No.: 86987



What happened? crying.gif
http://rghost.ru/43225826/image.png
Why is it so long?

This post has been edited by ask-rus: Jan 22 2013, 12:09
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dynamic
post Jan 22 2013, 12:38
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 17-September 06
Member No.: 35307



You can adjust the size of the volume control to suit your needs. There's a dotted line separator on the right that you can grab and drag, and the mouse pointer will change to a resize icon.

BTW, you should choose a better subject line to identify the problem (TOS#2) and explain in words if possible. It makes it easier to help you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jan 22 2013, 12:44
Post #3





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5159
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (Dynamic @ Jan 22 2013, 11:38) *
BTW, you should choose a better subject line to identify the problem (TOS#2) and explain in words if possible. It makes it easier to help you.
TOS #6, but yes, ask-rus, you will need to make more effort than that.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ManyPopes
post Jan 22 2013, 13:38
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 16-December 12
Member No.: 105211



You will need to right click on the toolbar and untick 'lock toolbar' before moving the voume control.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ask-rus
post Jan 22 2013, 14:08
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 2-January 11
Member No.: 86987



This happened after the update fb2k. The size of the regulator does not change even after unlocking the toolbar.

This post has been edited by ask-rus: Jan 22 2013, 14:09
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ask-rus
post Jan 22 2013, 14:16
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 2-January 11
Member No.: 86987



Windows 8 x64
fb2k v1.2.2 + Monkey's Audio Decoder [only]
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Jan 22 2013, 15:28
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1244
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



Maybe a button vanished and the volume control is taking up the slack

Or you accidentally increased the window width. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ask-rus
post Jan 22 2013, 16:15
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 2-January 11
Member No.: 86987



Was:
http://rghost.ru/43232383/image.png
Now:
http://rghost.ru/43225826/image.png
Minimal size of Volume Control increased twice.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jan 22 2013, 16:18
Post #9





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5159
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



So did the width of the window. As dhromed suggested.

Test whether narrowing the window brings the volume control back down in size.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ask-rus
post Jan 22 2013, 16:26
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 2-January 11
Member No.: 86987



http://rghost.ru/43232826/image.png
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ask-rus
post Jan 22 2013, 16:30
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 2-January 11
Member No.: 86987



http://rghost.ru/43232913/image.png

I beg to move the topic to the appropriate section of the forum, and I apologize for the bad English.

headbang.gif
http://rghost.ru/43233846/image.png


This post has been edited by ask-rus: Jan 22 2013, 17:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jan 22 2013, 17:10
Post #12





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5159
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (ask-rus @ Jan 22 2013, 15:30) *
I beg to move the topic to the appropriate section of the forum
What section would that be? This is not a third-party plugin, itís not related to third-party development, and it does not seem to be a problem in the sense that is appropriate for Support.

Please wait and see whether other users confirm the same increased size in v1.2.2 and perhaps whether a developer comments. Besides, sorry, but itís not a very problematic difference.

Edit: In any case, I did laugh at your last picture. wink.gif

This post has been edited by db1989: Jan 22 2013, 17:11
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ask-rus
post Jan 22 2013, 17:19
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 2-January 11
Member No.: 86987



I could remove the Volume Control, but here it is even worse:
http://rghost.ru/43234376/image.png

This post has been edited by ask-rus: Jan 22 2013, 17:20
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Jan 22 2013, 17:47
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1244
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



I went to through the trouble of photoshopping the pictures on top of eachother.

Your foobar window in Windows 8 is wider, and there's a small difference in how the separator is rendered between the toolbar and the volume slider, causing even more width.

Simply narrowing the window will solve the problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ask-rus
post Jan 22 2013, 18:13
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 2-January 11
Member No.: 86987



...
My foobar2000 - http://rghost.ru/43235948
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jan 22 2013, 18:20
Post #16





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5159
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



It would be polite to respond to dhromed. Did you try what he suggested?

What is the link for? I can only imagine itís either an unspecified invitation for someone else to fix it for you, or just off-topic publicity of your configuration.

Either way, it’s not good etiquette to ignore people at the same time as you drop a link with absolutely no explanation.

This post has been edited by db1989: Jan 22 2013, 18:21
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ask-rus
post Jan 22 2013, 18:30
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 2-January 11
Member No.: 86987



I do not understand you, you do not seem to understand me. It's hard to write in English, so do not respond to the specific.

http://translate.google.ru/

This post has been edited by ask-rus: Jan 22 2013, 18:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jan 22 2013, 18:35
Post #18





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5159
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Google Translate is not much use without having some text to translate. This thread just gets less productive.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ask-rus
post Jan 22 2013, 18:37
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 2-January 11
Member No.: 86987



I do not understand how people could not see an increase in the size of the volume control. I narrowed down the window and extended, the minimum size is very large.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BenB
post Jan 22 2013, 19:14
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 627
Joined: 17-April 12
Member No.: 98921



So basically what it comes down to is you don't like the minimum size of the volume control, which seemingly has been increased (for the DUI only? as CUI looks unaffected). Guess you'll have to move it, remove it or get accustomed to its increased size (which can hardly be classified as "very large") as I doubt it will be reverted.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Jan 22 2013, 20:21
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 1244
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



QUOTE (BenB @ Jan 22 2013, 19:14) *
, which seemingly has been increased (for the DUI only? as CUI looks unaffected).


It's because of a difference in rendering buttons in Windows 8, and because ask-rus has made his window wider.

QUOTE
I do not understand you, you do not seem to understand me. It's hard to write in English, so do not respond to the specific.


As an experiment, I tried this with Google translate:

The foobar window is wider. That is why the volume slider is also wider.
Foobar окно шире. Именно поэтому регулятор громкости также шире

Windows 8 also shows buttons differently, and that can't be fixed.
Windows 8 также показывает кнопки по-разному, и что не может быть исправлена.

QUOTE
I do not understand how people could not see an increase in the size of the volume control.

We can see it.

Sadly, you will have to get used to the new size. sad.gif
К сожалению, вам придется привыкнуть к новому размеру.


And now I have to go make dinner.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 18:20