Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: A Few Turntable Questions -- curved tonearm? stylus bouncing? (Read 6929 times) previous topic - next topic

A Few Turntable Questions -- curved tonearm? stylus bouncing?

Hello, Hydrogenaudio!

I recently purchased a used SL-1200MK2. It appears to be in great shape (even the pop-up light still works!), but I'm a complete newbie when it comes to the following:

1. Is dropping (and subsequently bouncing) the stylus from a height of ~2 inches likely to hurt the cartridge or tonearm? (whoops! it's so light...)
2. When at rest, part of the tonearm isn't parallel to the platter. It curves downward at a slight angle towards the end, positioning the cartridge below the platter. Is this normal? (edited in Paint for clarity) (it's a bit difficult to photograph, sorry!)

Side view:

Thank you!

Reply #1
1. Possibly, but I doubt it. The cantilever suspension might have been broken by the fall.Unfortunately there really aren't any rules of thumb that tell you if your cart is hosed or not. If it sounds worse than before, you should toss it. Personally I've done worse things to a cart with no ill effects that I can hear.

2. Yeah, that's probably wrong. This looks like a rather nasty azimuth error, actually. It looks like the tonearm needs to be rotated. I don't own a 1200 so I don't know how to do this, but I assume it's easy.

What you should be aiming for is, roughly, for the bottom side of the cartridge to be parallel to the record plane.

Reply #2