IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_dsp_effect, A effect array for FB2K
Sandrine
post Feb 9 2011, 11:07
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (mudlord @ Feb 8 2011, 12:26) *
Yep, started adding this as a extra decode post processor service. Just like the HDCD and DTS support you added.


On the CD itself, the flag is in the subcode. Not sure if this is terra incognita, but is there even an agreed upon tag/metadata field for ID3/vorbis to reflect the use of pre-emphasis? If not, maybe foobar could be on the forefront of establishing one so we don't have to rely on reading the cuesheet (alone). Personally, I have excluded cuesheets from the media library since they are usually either embedded or the files are tagged accordingly.

Who said this was going to be easy? smile.gif But it's definitely fun!

This post has been edited by Sandrine: Feb 9 2011, 11:11
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 9 2011, 11:09
Post #52





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



What fields did you tag your files with (for preemphasis)?
FB2K currently does not give info on cuesheet tags or CD subcode/flags..

This post has been edited by mudlord: Feb 9 2011, 11:20
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Feb 9 2011, 11:51
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (mudlord @ Feb 9 2011, 11:09) *
What fields did you tag your files with (for preemphasis)?
FB2K currently does not give info on cuesheet tags or CD subcode/flags..


None, so far. I've kept both an original copy of the CD and a de-emphasized version. I'm actually waiting on the outcome of this undertaking to start using tags.

This post has been edited by Sandrine: Feb 9 2011, 11:52
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeSomeone
post Feb 9 2011, 12:06
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 920
Joined: 22-October 01
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 335



QUOTE (kode54 @ Feb 8 2011, 08:44) *
And as a decode postprocessor service, it may retrieve the metadata from the track at the beginning of decoding and automatically instantiate and return a postprocessor instance that will handle the de-emphasis processing automatically for all supported formats. (CDDA, WAV, FLAC, and WavPack, at this time.)

It can also set and unset metadata which will be available through the dynamic file info functions of the input, so it may indicate that processing has been applied, [..] In which case, if it didn't, the filter would be applied again on playback, even if you already applied it during conversion.

kode54 has good points to keep in mind here.
1) The postprocessor service will only support (a few) lossless formats. However if I ripped a CD (long ago) with pre-emp, using EAC and converted it to MP3 or AAC, the pre-emphasis (increased high-end) would still be there (most of it anyway).
2) To keep track of the fact if de-emphasis is already applied is the tricky part. Imagine the case converting a FLAC to WAV and then to FLAC again. Without some magic the decoder postprocessor service would kick-in twice.

But certainly an interesting project.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 10 2011, 10:24
Post #55





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



That is the main problem I am grappling with.
Maybe the decode postprocessor API can be extended to give info on whether the instance is a decode only or playback instance.

Like the input components.
What I got now is just a tag to see if its enabled or not, and then the decode postprocessor kicks in.

Sadly, unlike HDCD, which can have stream heuristics, I cannot. sad.gif

This post has been edited by mudlord: Feb 10 2011, 10:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 10 2011, 11:37
Post #56





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



There its added.

Already got complaints that the filter is not 100% perfect to SoX. Most likely will rewrite that filter to be so.
Yes, I know the filter is different to the usual method. Will add the proper method next time >_>

EDIT: 0.7.1 up.

This post has been edited by mudlord: Feb 10 2011, 13:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Feb 10 2011, 16:46
Post #57





Group: Developer
Posts: 3208
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Hello mudlord, I have a couple of questions about IIR filter DSP.

1. Min value Q is 1, and default is 10; but usually default value of Q is 0.5 or 0.707. So even minimal possible Q setting is often too high. What do you think about correcting these limits?

2. Formulas for coefficients for BBOOST/LSH/HSH/RIAA_CD - where are they from?

This post has been edited by lvqcl: Feb 10 2011, 17:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 10 2011, 22:34
Post #58





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



1. Yes, I will correct it.
2. Formulas were from as follows:

a) BBOOST is from Audacity
b) LSH/HSH is from http://www.musicdsp.org/files/biquad.c (which is public domain)
c) RIAA_CD/RIAA_PHONO is from SoX

Why do you ask? If this is somehow related to the legal precedent that there is such a thing as copyrighted numbers, then I have no hesitation in complying and removing the component.

This post has been edited by mudlord: Feb 10 2011, 22:50
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Feb 10 2011, 23:25
Post #59





Group: Developer
Posts: 3208
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (mudlord @ Feb 11 2011, 00:34) *
1. Yes, I will correct it.

BTW: IMHO logarithmic scale is better than linear. cool.gif


QUOTE (mudlord @ Feb 11 2011, 00:34) *
b) LSH/HSH is from http://www.musicdsp.org/files/biquad.c (which is public domain)

So, it is "Based on the work "Cookbook formulae for audio EQ biquad filter coefficients" by Robert Bristow-Johnson"

It's interesting that this cookbook contains different formulae for LoShelf/HiShelf etc.

from musicdsp.org/files/biquad.c:
CODE
    A = pow(10, dbGain /40);
    omega = 2 * M_PI * freq /srate;
    sn = sin(omega);
    cs = cos(omega);
    beta = sqrt(A + A);
...
    b0 = A * ((A + 1) - (A - 1) * cs + beta * sn);

from Cookbook:
CODE
    A  = 10^(dBgain/40)
    w0 = 2*pi*f0/Fs
    alpha = sin(w0)/(2*Q)
...
    b0 = A * ((A + 1) - (A - 1) * cos(w0) + 2 * sqrt(A) * alpha)


beta * sn = sqrt(2*A) * sin(omega) = sqrt(2) * sqrt(A) * sin(omega)
2 * sqrt(A) * alpha = 2 * sqrt(A) * sin(omega) / (2 * Q) = sqrt(A) * sin(omega) / Q

sqrt(2)*sqrt(A)*sin(omega) == sqrt(A)*sin(omega)/Q only if Q == sqrt(0.5)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 10 2011, 23:31
Post #60





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Yeh, I have to agree. Found it works well regardless so I just lumped the formula in tongue.gif.
I tried other formulae including the ones in the cookbook, and found that it sounded a bit "off" in my implementations so I just cludged in the ones that sounded better. Can't remember the exact process in how I worked out what sounded the best to me though, sorry.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Feb 11 2011, 19:42
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



I'm having the darnedest problem with the de-emphasis post-processor. One of the DSP effects I'm using is TT-DR-Meter via foo_vst. The TT-DR-Meter measures the dynamic range of the music that is playing and tells me right away which CD editions are victims of the loudness war (i.e. highly compressed, small dynamic range). Now, when foo_dsp_effect is installed, the meter doesn't seem to be able to measure the DR anymore. If I delete the plugin, the meter works fine. I don't have any problems with the HDCD or DTS post-processors.

Any idea what could be the cause of this? Maybe some check that is constantly running instead of the first few seconds of each track?

This post has been edited by Sandrine: Feb 11 2011, 19:42
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 12 2011, 01:45
Post #62





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



QUOTE (Sandrine @ Feb 11 2011, 12:42) *
I'm having the darnedest problem with the de-emphasis post-processor. One of the DSP effects I'm using is TT-DR-Meter via foo_vst. The TT-DR-Meter measures the dynamic range of the music that is playing and tells me right away which CD editions are victims of the loudness war (i.e. highly compressed, small dynamic range). Now, when foo_dsp_effect is installed, the meter doesn't seem to be able to measure the DR anymore. If I delete the plugin, the meter works fine. I don't have any problems with the HDCD or DTS post-processors.

Any idea what could be the cause of this? Maybe some check that is constantly running instead of the first few seconds of each track?


Yes, there is a check RIGHT at the start, when a track is loaded. It chacks the tags then, since I can't find a reliable way to check the metadata other times.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Feb 12 2011, 11:08
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (mudlord @ Feb 12 2011, 01:45) *
Yes, there is a check RIGHT at the start, when a track is loaded. It chacks the tags then, since I can't find a reliable way to check the metadata other times.


Yeah, of course, that is obvious. I was more thinking along the lines of something that could potentially modify the stream, or at least the processing flow before the DSP kicks in.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 12 2011, 12:23
Post #64





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Too bad.

Component's been discontinued anyway.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Feb 12 2011, 16:54
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (mudlord @ Feb 12 2011, 12:23) *
Too bad.

Component's been discontinued anyway.


Uh... why is that? It was working great except for my personal demon TT meter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sunhillow
post Feb 12 2011, 20:16
Post #66





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 483
Joined: 13-October 01
From: Stuttgart
Member No.: 286



A great pity this wonderful component has been discontinued - but thanks a lot for the revival of foo_dynamics!

Cheers hg
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Feb 12 2011, 20:22
Post #67





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Considering other recent and now Recycle Bin-d posts by mudlord, which are quite out-of-character, I don't know whether people should take seriously the recent 'cancellations' of this and the YM decoder.

This post has been edited by dv1989: Feb 12 2011, 20:24
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Feb 15 2011, 19:29
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (Sandrine @ Feb 11 2011, 19:42) *
I'm having the darnedest problem with the de-emphasis post-processor. One of the DSP effects I'm using is TT-DR-Meter via foo_vst. The TT-DR-Meter measures the dynamic range of the music that is playing and tells me right away which CD editions are victims of the loudness war (i.e. highly compressed, small dynamic range). Now, when foo_dsp_effect is installed, the meter doesn't seem to be able to measure the DR anymore. If I delete the plugin, the meter works fine.


It seems that deleting foo_dsp_effect only temporarily alleviated the problem. The real culprit seems to have been the latest update of foo_vst 0.902.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
luk3Z
post Feb 19 2011, 21:38
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Poland
Member No.: 37548



This is funny what I write but I don't know how to run this plugin (I mean configure new preset) biggrin.gif
I have ony foo_dsp_std.dll working (I can load equalizer preset from file).
Maybe foo_dsp_std.dll and foo_dsp_effect.dll can't working both ?

This post has been edited by luk3Z: Feb 19 2011, 21:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 20 2011, 00:56
Post #70





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Preset loading works here

@Sandrine: so its a foo_vst fault. Yay, one less bug biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 20 2011, 02:36
Post #71





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



since I am no longer able to edit posts due to insanity:

lvqcl - fixed the q issue you described, thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
luk3Z
post Feb 20 2011, 10:41
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Poland
Member No.: 37548



QUOTE (mudlord @ Feb 20 2011, 01:56) *
Preset loading works here

@Sandrine: so its a foo_vst fault. Yay, one less bug biggrin.gif


Ok I find it out where it is.
Pref -> Playback -> DSP Man

I have some old presets (23 *.feq files) from old version of foobar (files dates: 2003 and 2005) they're great but I don't know who is the author of these (my preset is "my preset.feq" which I created it long time ago).
If someone need old presets this is the link:

www.mediafire.com/?f8gf94d8xhe8ol6
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
luk3Z
post Feb 22 2011, 12:41
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 13-November 06
From: Poland
Member No.: 37548



I can't edit my previous post anymore, so I put link to the original thread (2005):

www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=30832&st=0

EQ AIO:
Post #23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Feb 24 2011, 09:20
Post #74





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 797
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Strange, tried your presets in the standard EQ and enabled a effect from my array, works.

O.O

Really don't know what the issue is.

edit: oh, new build here!

This post has been edited by mudlord: Feb 24 2011, 09:28
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
.halverhahn
post Feb 24 2011, 17:25
Post #75





Group: Members
Posts: 254
Joined: 4-August 03
Member No.: 8168



Oooooh... a dream come true: On the fly CD de-emphasing smile.gif http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....c=70549&hl=

Thank You!

btw: What the sliders are doing in the CD de-emphasing mode?

Quality= OK, I suppose the quality of output?
Frequency=?
Gain=Gain of output?!

This post has been edited by .halverhahn: Feb 24 2011, 17:48


--------------------
.halverhahn
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

9 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2014 - 23:42