IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Compression Queue Control Center in EAC, How does it work?
Metallo
post Oct 18 2005, 21:02
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 14-December 03
Member No.: 10426



Hi,

Can anybody tell me how does Compression Queue Control Center work and what does it do?

I cannot find any tutorial around on this.

Thanks
Alex


--------------------
AOPEN AX34, PIII 1.0 GHz, 1GB RAM, Maxtor 40GB, WD 120 GB, Plextor 16/10/40A & PX-716A, HIS 9600 256Mb, 2xMonitor Philips 109P20, Canon i865, W2K, WXP
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Oct 18 2005, 22:11
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



I guess this is my fault. smile.gif

If you'd followed the search I posted here one of the posts you may have read is this one, which points to this thread.

Basically EAC's Compression Queue Control Center lets you rip multiple CDs to WAVE, and then encode those WAVEs at a later date, as one batch.

Please check the links and post further questions.


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Metallo
post Oct 19 2005, 12:36
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 14-December 03
Member No.: 10426



QUOTE (Synthetic Soul @ Oct 18 2005, 01:11 PM)
I guess this is my fault. smile.gif

If you'd followed the search I posted here one of the posts you may have read is this one, which points to this thread.

Basically EAC's Compression Queue Control Center lets you rip multiple CDs to WAVE, and then encode those WAVEs at a later date, as one batch.

Please check the links and post further questions.
*


Thanks for driving me to the right post.
I tried the serach function but it came out with "no results" crying.gif

Nevermind, I know where to look now.

Cheers
Alex


--------------------
AOPEN AX34, PIII 1.0 GHz, 1GB RAM, Maxtor 40GB, WD 120 GB, Plextor 16/10/40A & PX-716A, HIS 9600 256Mb, 2xMonitor Philips 109P20, Canon i865, W2K, WXP
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Metallo
post Oct 19 2005, 12:54
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 14-December 03
Member No.: 10426



Hi,

Another question.

WHen I rip Live CDs, in order to avoid the "gap" among the mp3, I use the
Fade In/Out function.

This is because I use the mp3 files in my Car Player only.

So, for example, let's take a Live CD containing 12 Tracks.

Track 1 - Fade Out
Track 2 to 11 - Fade In & Out
Track 12 - Fade In

In order to speed up the process, I have created the corresponding profiles in EAC that allow me to load them instead of changing the settings everytime.

Now the question:

Do I have any better option to further automate this process when ripping from a Live CD?

I'd like to find a way that allows me to do it in a sort of "batch automated process", by instructing EAC to use Profile Fade Out for Track 1, then switch to Profile Fade In & Out from 2 to 11 and finally, switch to Fade In for Track 12.

Am I asking too much? unsure.gif

Thanks
Alex


--------------------
AOPEN AX34, PIII 1.0 GHz, 1GB RAM, Maxtor 40GB, WD 120 GB, Plextor 16/10/40A & PX-716A, HIS 9600 256Mb, 2xMonitor Philips 109P20, Canon i865, W2K, WXP
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Oct 19 2005, 13:02
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



QUOTE (Metallo @ Oct 19 2005, 12:54 PM)
I'd like to find a way that allows me to do it in a sort of "batch automated process", by instructing EAC to use Profile Fade Out for Track 1, then switch to Profile Fade In & Out from 2 to 11 and finally, switch to Fade In for Track 12.

Am I asking too much? unsure.gif

I cannot see how you could do this with EAC.

I would have thought you may be able to do this with some command line tool that I don't know of. So you would rip to WAV from EAC and then run a script to do the fades and then encode to MP3.

Sorry, not much help.

I guess if you like this method then each to his own - but it seems a lot of effort to me.

The other option is to rip to CD image (whole album as one file) obviously, but I guess that is not acceptable (as you can't skip tracks).


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Metallo
post Oct 20 2005, 12:48
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 14-December 03
Member No.: 10426



Hi,

Let's go for the next question.

Once you have all the "sleeping" wav to be compressed in the Control Center, is there a way to pre-define their destination folder?

The problem is that if you have 150 files, I'd like them to go automatically into thier specific folder.

This task is even more complicated for me because I only use %N %T, so I'm afraid I will have to add the Artist in order to avoid they mix all the "01" first, then "02" etc.
But if I add the Artist, can I then rename all the files back to %N %T only in a batch process?

Thanks for helping.

Alex


--------------------
AOPEN AX34, PIII 1.0 GHz, 1GB RAM, Maxtor 40GB, WD 120 GB, Plextor 16/10/40A & PX-716A, HIS 9600 256Mb, 2xMonitor Philips 109P20, Canon i865, W2K, WXP
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Oct 20 2005, 13:35
Post #7





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



I can only assume that it is predefined by your naming convention specified in EAC.

If I understand right the WAVE files should have the same filename and path that the compressed files will eventually have. If this is the case then if they survived then your compressed tracks should also - or to put it another way if they didn't you're already screwed and compression won't make things worse.

I don't understand why you have "<track> <title>". Surely you must then store those in an artist/album folder? Why not just use "<artist>\<album>\<track> <title>" (%A\%C\%N %T) ?

Otherwise, I'm sure there are many file renamers that can rename files using a mask system - or you could use foobar to rename from the tags.

Edit: If you look in the CQCC it actually lists the final filename and path.

This post has been edited by Synthetic Soul: Oct 20 2005, 13:37


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Metallo
post Oct 20 2005, 15:59
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 14-December 03
Member No.: 10426



QUOTE
If I understand right the WAVE files should have the same filename and path that the compressed files will eventually have. If this is the case then if they survived then your compressed tracks should also - or to put it another way if they didn't you're already screwed and compression won't make things worse.


Not really, I did not delete the wav files, they are into my folder smile.gif

QUOTE
I don't understand why you have "<track> <title>". Surely you must then store those in an artist/album folder? Why not just use "<artist>\<album>\<track> <title>" (%A\%C\%N %T) ?


Because, my car player does not support more than 8 or 10 characters and in addition, putting the number in front of the tracks is the only way to guarantee the playing sequence.

Typically, my tracks are named:

01 We Will Rock You
02 Bohemian Rhapsody
03 Etc.


The Folder where I put them will be titled (Artist - Album)

For instance:

Queen - Live Killers

So, if I put 10 albums on a CD, I like to have the Artist name in the folder that shows on the screen of the car player and then I can see the sequence of the tracks, although most of them are truncated because of the display limit.

Should I add Artist and Album name, I would only visualize Artist and part of the Album name. At least now, I can see most of the titles and get the Artist on top, being the folder name.

Hope this clarifies.

Thanks man.
Alex
smile.gif


--------------------
AOPEN AX34, PIII 1.0 GHz, 1GB RAM, Maxtor 40GB, WD 120 GB, Plextor 16/10/40A & PX-716A, HIS 9600 256Mb, 2xMonitor Philips 109P20, Canon i865, W2K, WXP
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Oct 20 2005, 16:08
Post #9





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



QUOTE (Metallo @ Oct 20 2005, 03:59 PM)
QUOTE
If I understand right the WAVE files should have the same filename and path that the compressed files will eventually have. If this is the case then if they survived then your compressed tracks should also - or to put it another way if they didn't you're already screwed and compression won't make things worse.
Not really, I did not delete the wav files, they are into my folder smile.gif
Sorry, I don't understand you. What I am saying is that EAC has created the WAVE files with the file name and path that the eventual comrpessed files will have. (Therefore any overwriting will have already occurred.)

QUOTE (Metallo @ Oct 20 2005, 03:59 PM)
QUOTE
I don't understand why you have "<track> <title>". Surely you must then store those in an artist/album folder? Why not just use "<artist>\<album>\<track> <title>" (%A\%C\%N %T) ?
Because, my car player does not support more than 8 or 10 characters and in addition, putting the number in front of the tracks is the only way to guarantee the playing sequence.

Typically, my tracks are named:

01 We Will Rock You
02 Bohemian Rhapsody
03 Etc.


The Folder where I put them will be titled (Artist - Album)

For instance:

Queen - Live Killers

So, if I put 10 albums on a CD, I like to have the Artist name in the folder that shows on the screen of the car player and then I can see the sequence of the tracks, although most of them are truncated because of the display limit.

Should I add Artist and Album name, I would only visualize Artist and part of the Album name. At least now, I can see most of the titles and get the Artist on top, being the folder name.
But you can generate the folder using EAC.

If you used:

%A - %C\%N %T

... as your naming scheme, you would get:

"Queen - Live Killers\01 We Will Rock You"


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Metallo
post Oct 20 2005, 17:08
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 14-December 03
Member No.: 10426



QUOTE
Sorry, I don't understand you. What I am saying is that EAC has created the WAVE files with the file name and path that the eventual comrpessed files will have. (Therefore any overwriting will have already occurred.)


Sorry, I misunderstood your question, yes indeed, the overwriting has already occurred.

QUOTE
But you can generate the folder using EAC.

If you used:

%A - %C\%N %T

... as your naming scheme, you would get:

"Queen - Live Killers\01 We Will Rock You"


C\ stands for the drive?
Forgive me the question but I don't know much about scripts.

If it is so, when I rip in wav, I can assing the folder, is it so?

Thanks
Alex


--------------------
AOPEN AX34, PIII 1.0 GHz, 1GB RAM, Maxtor 40GB, WD 120 GB, Plextor 16/10/40A & PX-716A, HIS 9600 256Mb, 2xMonitor Philips 109P20, Canon i865, W2K, WXP
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synthetic Soul
post Oct 20 2005, 17:18
Post #11





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 4887
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Exeter, UK
Member No.: 16217



No. %C is the album name.

"%A - %C\%N %T" is "<album> - <artist>\<track> <title>".

Suppose you:
  1. Open the EAC options (F9)
  2. Select the "Filename" tab
  3. Enter "%A - %C\%N %T" (without the quotes) in the "Naming scheme" box
  4. Select the "Directories" tab
  5. Select "Use this directory"
  6. Enter " C:\Music" (without the quotes)
If you then ripped "Live Killers" as tracks EAC would create the folder "C:\Music\Queen - Live Killers" and create the tracks using a "<track> <title>" format - so track one would have the path "C:\Music\Queen - Live Killers\01 We Will Rock You.wav".

Edit: When I say 'EAC would create the folder "C:\Music\Queen - Live Killers"' I mean it will create the folder "Queen - Live Killers" in the existing folder "C:\Music". "C:\Music" must exist already (I believe).

This post has been edited by Synthetic Soul: Oct 20 2005, 17:21


--------------------
I'm on a horse.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Metallo
post Oct 20 2005, 19:29
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 14-December 03
Member No.: 10426



QUOTE (Synthetic Soul @ Oct 20 2005, 08:18 AM)
No. %C is the album name.

"%A - %C\%N %T" is "<album> - <artist>\<track> <title>".

Suppose you:
  1. Open the EAC options (F9)
  2. Select the "Filename" tab
  3. Enter "%A - %C\%N %T" (without the quotes) in the "Naming scheme" box
  4. Select the "Directories" tab
  5. Select "Use this directory"
  6. Enter " C:\Music" (without the quotes)
If you then ripped "Live Killers" as tracks EAC would create the folder "C:\Music\Queen - Live Killers" and create the tracks using a "<track> <title>" format - so track one would have the path "C:\Music\Queen - Live Killers\01 We Will Rock You.wav".

Edit: When I say 'EAC would create the folder "C:\Music\Queen - Live Killers"' I mean it will create the folder "Queen - Live Killers" in the existing folder "C:\Music".  "C:\Music" must exist already (I believe).
*


You are absolutely right rolleyes.gif
Thank very much for the tip, it makes things much easier now.

Regards
Alex


--------------------
AOPEN AX34, PIII 1.0 GHz, 1GB RAM, Maxtor 40GB, WD 120 GB, Plextor 16/10/40A & PX-716A, HIS 9600 256Mb, 2xMonitor Philips 109P20, Canon i865, W2K, WXP
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd April 2014 - 20:04