IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
New Speakers
Sonikko
post Oct 5 2012, 19:53
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-October 12
Member No.: 103655



Hi everyone, I've been following the forum for a while, and recently I decided to change my speakers. I listen to different music styles, from hard rock to dance, so I'd like a pair of speakers that can do great basses and highs. My budget is ~300€. Could you help me out tongue.gif? My current speakers are "Trust Soundforce 1200" that were a present 6-7 years ago, so I don't have any idea how much these costed. I'm not very satisfied with those, even though they are not very very bad...
PS: Sorry for my bad english.

This post has been edited by Sonikko: Oct 5 2012, 19:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hlloyge
post Oct 5 2012, 20:16
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 689
Joined: 10-January 06
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 27018



You need computer speakers for 300 euros?
Maybe time to invest into little active studio monitors, like KRK, or Alesis, or Behringer...?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sonikko
post Oct 5 2012, 20:40
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-October 12
Member No.: 103655



QUOTE (hlloyge @ Oct 5 2012, 20:16) *
You need computer speakers for 300 euros?
Maybe time to invest into little active studio monitors, like KRK, or Alesis, or Behringer...?

I'm sorry, since I'm new to this kind of things, could you explain more about those?
EDIT: What I want to know is, can I connect these to my computer?

This post has been edited by Sonikko: Oct 5 2012, 20:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dgauze
post Oct 6 2012, 02:19
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 13-March 09
Member No.: 67901



QUOTE (Sonikko @ Oct 5 2012, 12:40) *
I'm sorry, since I'm new to this kind of things, could you explain more about those?
EDIT: What I want to know is, can I connect these to my computer?


Yes. You just need an adapter, or a cable with a 3.5mm stereo plug on one end, and two 1/4 inch mono plugs on the other. Like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Hosa-CMP159-Feet-Spe...6/ref=pd_cp_e_0
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sonikko
post Oct 6 2012, 07:44
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-October 12
Member No.: 103655



QUOTE (dgauze @ Oct 6 2012, 02:19) *
Yes. You just need an adapter, or a cable with a 3.5mm stereo plug on one end, and two 1/4 inch mono plugs on the other. Like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Hosa-CMP159-Feet-Spe...6/ref=pd_cp_e_0

Great, thank you. So these should do http://www.dv247.com/studio-equipment/ales...tors-pair--9490 ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Oct 6 2012, 10:14
Post #6


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1709
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



QUOTE (Sonikko @ Oct 6 2012, 08:44) *
QUOTE (dgauze @ Oct 6 2012, 02:19) *
Yes. You just need an adapter, or a cable with a 3.5mm stereo plug on one end, and two 1/4 inch mono plugs on the other. Like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Hosa-CMP159-Feet-Spe...6/ref=pd_cp_e_0

Great, thank you. So these should do http://www.dv247.com/studio-equipment/ales...tors-pair--9490 ?

This don't seem to have unbalanced jack inputs, but plenty of active monitors do have them, so i'd find one of them.
example http://www.krksys.com/krk-studio-monitor-s...t/rokit-5.html# (unbalanced RCA)

(I have this patched in my video editing station like so: aja > HDSDI to video monitor (abusing this to get analog audio) > analog to KRK unbalanced <<< far from perfect, but works, still waiting to introduce a simple mixing console just for listening purposes)

example 2 http://www.genelec.com/products/2-way-monitors/6010a/

This post has been edited by smok3: Oct 6 2012, 10:22


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Big_Berny
post Oct 6 2012, 10:45
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 241
Joined: 9-February 03
Member No.: 4921



Teufel Motiv 2 are great 2.1-speakers for pcs: http://www.teufelaudio.com/pc/motiv-2-p167.html

Their sound is really great and they are one of the best (for that money) in tests here in europe.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Brand
post Oct 6 2012, 11:16
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 312
Joined: 27-November 09
Member No.: 75355



QUOTE (smok3 @ Oct 6 2012, 11:14) *
QUOTE (Sonikko @ Oct 6 2012, 08:44) *
QUOTE (dgauze @ Oct 6 2012, 02:19) *
Yes. You just need an adapter, or a cable with a 3.5mm stereo plug on one end, and two 1/4 inch mono plugs on the other. Like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Hosa-CMP159-Feet-Spe...6/ref=pd_cp_e_0

Great, thank you. So these should do http://www.dv247.com/studio-equipment/ales...tors-pair--9490 ?

This don't seem to have unbalanced jack inputs

Like most (all?) equipment with balanced TRS inputs, it accepts unbalanced TS as well.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Oct 6 2012, 11:33
Post #9


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1709
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



QUOTE (Brand @ Oct 6 2012, 12:16) *
Like most (all?) equipment with balanced TRS inputs, it accepts unbalanced TS as well.

is that a fact? or should i read this http://community.klipsch.com/forums/storag...al_to_unbal.pdf ? or should i just trust you? what exactly?


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Brand
post Oct 6 2012, 12:23
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 312
Joined: 27-November 09
Member No.: 75355



You shouldn't trust me, you should trust whatever the manufacturer of the specific equipment says.
I admit that I don't know if "balanced TRS input" and unbalanced TS output always works fine, but I'd say in practice it mostly does. (But this is just from my limited personal experience, I apologize if I made it sound statistically relevant when it's not.)

This post has been edited by Brand: Oct 6 2012, 12:24
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arnold B. Kruege...
post Oct 8 2012, 15:00
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 3534
Joined: 29-October 08
From: USA, 48236
Member No.: 61311



QUOTE (smok3 @ Oct 6 2012, 06:33) *
QUOTE (Brand @ Oct 6 2012, 12:16) *
Like most (all?) equipment with balanced TRS inputs, it accepts unbalanced TS as well.

is that a fact? or should i read this http://community.klipsch.com/forums/storag...al_to_unbal.pdf ? or should i just trust you? what exactly?


The Klipsch forum paper seems pretty simplified but generally free of errors.

This is the longer version of the story:

Rane Sound System Interconnection - pretty much the whole story.

Then there are these:

Jensen white paper 1

Jense white paper 2

Jensen AES paper

This is actually a very deep area, and discussion can go on and on.

Usually, simple solutions work, but sometimes they don't and then... ;-)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2014 - 14:44