IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Can anyone fill me in..., been out of the forums..
KurtCocain
post Sep 3 2003, 18:20
Post #1





Group: Banned
Posts: 57
Joined: 26-March 03
Member No.: 5683



Hey I have been away from the forums and stuff so I need some advice on which's the best program to use for burning 1. Audio 2. Data 3. Make 1:1 copies.

Since this is an audio forum.. I am begging the experts -- which software's best. I am going to use mpc and ape (or wavs decoded from them)...

Thanks.

KurtCocain.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Sep 3 2003, 18:29
Post #2


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



In my opinion:

> 1. Audio

Sek'd Sequoia or Magix Samplitude. Else, Feurio!

> 2. Data

Nero

> 3. Make 1:1 copies.

Data copies: CloneCD/Alcohol 120%
Audio copies: EAC


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Daffy
post Sep 3 2003, 18:31
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 189
Joined: 30-September 01
From: North Carolina
Member No.: 114



1. Burnatonce
2. Burnatonce
3. Exact Audio Copy

These two programs is all you'll need (in my opinion....others will vary).

Daffy
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Sep 3 2003, 18:46
Post #4


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



I disagree with using Burnatonce for audio compilations. It doesn't fix the 588 samples offset between wav files (the only way to go truly gapless, indeed)


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Daffy
post Sep 3 2003, 19:02
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 189
Joined: 30-September 01
From: North Carolina
Member No.: 114



QUOTE (rjamorim @ Sep 3 2003, 01:46 PM)
I disagree with using Burnatonce for audio compilations. It doesn't fix the 588 samples offset between wav files (the only way to go truly gapless, indeed)

Damn. Please elaborate. This is the first I'm hearing of this 588 sample gap. Is that gap enough to notice, i.e., a click or pop?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
n68
post Sep 3 2003, 19:13
Post #6


yup..


Group: Banned
Posts: 715
Joined: 1-February 02
Member No.: 1225



Gday..

@daffy.. i totally agree on 1. and 2.
i haven't tried BAO for 1>1.. i always have been using padus discjuggler..
which is awesome on what it does.. regardless of content.

@roberto.. i know jamie have been informed by this..
but he likely forgot.
run by BAO forum and give a yell..
but this issue is kinda old.. so i assume jamie has fixed it..
bwt. what version are you using..

personally i haven't burned a gapless cd with BAO yet
so i wouldn`t know.

This post has been edited by n68: Sep 3 2003, 19:17
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Sep 3 2003, 19:19
Post #7


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



QUOTE (Daffy @ Sep 3 2003, 03:02 PM)
Damn.  Please elaborate.  This is the first I'm hearing of this 588 sample gap.  Is that gap enough to notice, i.e., a click or pop?

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....indpost&p=21688

I never tried, but I reckon it's noticeable. Gaps introduced by non-gapless encoders aren't big either.

QUOTE
@roberto.. i know jamie have been informed by this..
but he likely forgot.
run by BAO forum and give a yell..


Bleh, no. Don't feel like going through the hassle of registering on another forum to give bug report on software I don't use. :B

You can point him to this thread though.

QUOTE
bwt. what version are you using..


I don't use it, but I saw people complaining it isn't implemented in bao.

Might have been an older version. But I prefer to be safe and use my trusty Sequoia, which I know for sure that implements this feature.

Edit: I did a quick search for "588*" and "offset" at the bao forums, and found nothing about this issue. So it's possible that Jamie never actually heard about it.

This post has been edited by rjamorim: Sep 3 2003, 21:16


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
KurtCocain
post Sep 3 2003, 20:17
Post #8





Group: Banned
Posts: 57
Joined: 26-March 03
Member No.: 5683



THANKS a lot guys!

WOW, rjamorim,

I really have not heard about Sek'd Sequoia or Magix Samplitude... Hmmmm seems I have been out for A WHILE smile.gif)))

Oh, and for data, yeah, I think Nero does a good job. Is there any difference in the new version -- the Ultimate 6.0.0.9 It kinda eats a lot of resources and I would rather use and older version. Is that OK. If yes, which older version wouls you reccomend, guys.

Cheers.

KurtCocain.

P.S. -- foobar has developed a lot too smile.gif) I am experimenting with it now, trying the diff plug ins ...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Sep 3 2003, 21:24
Post #9


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



QUOTE (KurtCocain @ Sep 3 2003, 04:17 PM)
I really have not heard about Sek'd Sequoia or Magix Samplitude... Hmmmm seems I have been out for A WHILE  smile.gif)))

Well, the only four burners I know of that guaranteedly have this feature of wav ofsetting are:

-Magix Samplitude
-Sek'd Sequoia (both are nearly the same software)
-WaveLab
-Feurio!

Others might have this feature as well, but I never saw reports.

CoolEdit/Audition + the CD burning plugin doesn't offer this feature.

QUOTE
Oh, and for data, yeah, I think Nero does a good job. Is there any difference in the new version -- the Ultimate 6.0.0.9 It kinda eats a lot of resources and I would rather use and older version. Is that OK. If yes, which older version wouls you reccomend, guys.


I think the most interesting news in Nero6 is the hability to burn file names bigger than 64kbps (using UDF)

That feature isn't available in older versions.

Regards;

Roberto.


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pio2001
post Sep 3 2003, 22:16
Post #10


Moderator


Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3936
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 73



This 588 samples topic is only relevant when you burn wavs that have been recorded from analog sources, not when they come from CDs, because in the later case, they are already OK. Audio data is stored by sectors of 588 samples on a CD. So at the end of the track, the program fills the last sector with null samples, in order to complete it.
Intelligent programs set the next track marker at the end of the previous sector, then, in the last sector, when the wav is finished, they go on with the data of the next track. A track marker can't be set inside a sector.
Well, OK, if you need a picture, I can do one, just ask.

I had a CD burned with Nero with this problem, by accident. Only some track markers had a little audible click. On many, no problem could be heard.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SlowPulse
post Sep 3 2003, 23:22
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-December 02
Member No.: 4020



cdrdao, the engine behind burnatonce, handles the 588 samples issue just fine.
I have no idea if burnatonce implements it correctly.

Here's an example
If you have two wav files you can construct a .toc file for cdrdao like this:

CODE
CD_DA

// track 1
TRACK AUDIO
FILE "01.wav" 0
FILE "02.wav" 0 123

//track 2
TRACK AUDIO
FILE "02.wav" 123


This means that track 1 will be complete 01.wav file plus 1st 123 samples from 02.wav, and track 2 will be from 124th (counting starts from 0, so its 123 in the .toc file) sample in 02.wav to the end of that file.


You get the picture?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rocketsauce
post Sep 4 2003, 02:40
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 8-May 02
From: Hollywood, CA
Member No.: 2000



Speaking of Feurio, does anyone know if it's ever going to be updated, or has the dev moved on to other projects.

Rob


--------------------
http://ivechosendisco.tumblr.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Sep 4 2003, 02:44
Post #13


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



QUOTE (SlowPulse @ Sep 3 2003, 07:22 PM)
cdrdao, the engine behind burnatonce, handles the 588 samples issue just fine.
I have no idea if burnatonce implements it correctly.


Bleh. For all that it matters, I can also load the wave files on Audition, chop off the offending samples and move them to the next wave.

What I want is a program that automagically detects the sample offset and adapts the next sample. Can CDRDAO do that automatically? or maybe Burnatonce detect the offset and create a TOC accordingly?

This post has been edited by rjamorim: Sep 4 2003, 02:47


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Sep 4 2003, 02:46
Post #14


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



QUOTE (rocketsauce @ Sep 3 2003, 10:40 PM)
Speaking of Feurio, does anyone know if it's ever going to be updated, or has the dev moved on to other projects.

Feurio was acquired by Ahead some time ago. I don't know if they plan to keep developing it or what.

I don't know if the author started working at Ahead either.


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
n68
post Sep 4 2003, 09:41
Post #15


yup..


Group: Banned
Posts: 715
Joined: 1-February 02
Member No.: 1225



Gday..

QUOTE
Feurio was acquired by Ahead some time ago. I don't know if they plan to keep developing it or what.


take a wild guess.. laugh.gif

should be suprising if ahead do that..

This post has been edited by n68: Sep 4 2003, 12:28
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Sep 4 2003, 14:40
Post #16


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



QUOTE (n68 @ Sep 4 2003, 05:41 AM)
take a wild guess.. laugh.gif

I don't take wild guesses. I won't spread rumours before having a fair amount of insight. You should do the same. :B


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
minix
post Sep 4 2003, 16:29
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 19-January 03
Member No.: 4639



QUOTE (rjamorim @ Sep 4 2003, 03:46 AM)
Feurio was acquired by Ahead some time ago. I don't know if they plan to keep developing it or what.

Are you sure?
I don't know, but I think that it only started to be distributed by Ahead, not acquired.

At the end of the German beta page, there are some notes about Feurio! 2:
http://www.feurio.com/Beta.shtml
This page is 2 years old:
http://www.feurio.com/feurio2.shtml

I don't speak German, but the translator seems to say something like OGG and APE will be supported, apart from plugins possibilities.
The developer usually writes in the German de.comp.hardware.laufwerke.brenner newsgroup.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
thop
post Sep 9 2003, 17:08
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 6-June 03
Member No.: 7034



The developer of Feurio has said that Feurio2 is not gonna be released. I think somewhere in the newsgroup you mentioned, i shall look it up.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
thop
post Sep 9 2003, 17:22
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 6-June 03
Member No.: 7034



Ok i looked it up and Jens Fangmeier says that Feurio2 was already almost ready earlier this year but they decided not to release it because of the new european equivalent to the DCMA, which renders Feurio illegal, and stopped development.

This post has been edited by thop: Sep 9 2003, 17:24
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
n68
post Sep 9 2003, 17:30
Post #20


yup..


Group: Banned
Posts: 715
Joined: 1-February 02
Member No.: 1225



Gday..

hmmz. sound like it.. alright..
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
minix
post Sep 9 2003, 19:55
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 19-January 03
Member No.: 4639



QUOTE (thop @ Sep 9 2003, 06:22 PM)
Ok i looked it up and Jens Fangmeier says that Feurio2 was already almost ready earlier this year but they decided not to release it

ohmy.gif mad.gif

gggrrrrrrrrr
How sad! sad.gif sad.gif
but is that for sure or depends on that law?
is the law already "active"?

I guess that Feurio 1 would be as illegal as Feurio 2 then... is Feurio1 going to disappear?
Wouldn't be enough to disable the antycopy routines and convert Feurio in a "legal" program like Nero? (which by the way copied a CDS200 disc with a LG 48x).

Do you have the link or the title of that thread?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
n68
post Sep 9 2003, 20:37
Post #22


yup..


Group: Banned
Posts: 715
Joined: 1-February 02
Member No.: 1225



Gday...


this proposal is from 2001.. but will came active 2003..
(if?) and in europa this would mean these will become
illegal :


Alcohol 52%
Alcohol 68%
Alcohol 120%
Audiograbber
BlindWrite Suite
CDex
CD Master Clone
CDR Win
CloneCD
Disc Juggler
Easy CDDA Extractor
Exact Audio Copy
Feurio!
Fire Burner
Softdiv CD Ripper

CloneDVD, WinOnCD and Nero Burning ROM remain legal, as they cannot copy protected DVDs/CDs.


a tumb up for roxio.. (engelman/ahead.)

This post has been edited by n68: Sep 9 2003, 20:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
minix
post Sep 9 2003, 22:27
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 19-January 03
Member No.: 4639



QUOTE (n68 @ Sep 9 2003, 09:37 PM)
CloneDVD, WinOnCD and Nero Burning ROM remain legal, as they cannot copy protected DVDs/CDs.

Yes, but I don't understand it...
Why CDRWin becomes illegal and Nero not?
Nero can write in raw mode, can't it read in raw mode also?
What's the difference with CDRWin?

And, as I said, I was able to copy a CDS200 protected disc with Nero.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Sep 10 2003, 06:19
Post #24





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3327
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



Anyone know if fb2k's audio cd burner is gapless or not?


--------------------
∑:<
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rjamorim
post Sep 10 2003, 07:11
Post #25


Rarewares admin


Group: Members
Posts: 7515
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Brazil
Member No.: 81



QUOTE (Canar @ Sep 10 2003, 02:19 AM)
Anyone know if fb2k's audio cd burner is gapless or not?

It's based on the Nero engine. I wonder if it's the duty of the engine, ot the component, to fix the 588 samples issue.


--------------------
Get up-to-date binaries of Lame, AAC, Vorbis and much more at RareWares:
http://www.rarewares.org
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th April 2014 - 05:50