Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Tube Amp Modeling (Read 8431 times) previous topic - next topic

Tube Amp Modeling

I'd like to dig into modeling tube amps with digital equipment. I have basic knowledge about DSP, FIR/IIR filters, phase shift in IIR filters and such.
Now for a try, I've ran a ~300Hz sine wave through an tube amplifier (OR120-like).
This is the sine wave:

Tube Amp Modeling

Reply #1
SPICE is a pretty good way to model the behavior of analog circuits with relatively high accuracy.  Its just really slow since you're doing a full time domain model of the underlying electronics rather than black boxing it.

If you want something less accurate but faster, take a look at Google scholar.  People have proposed an enormous number of approximate models that simulate the nonlinearity and feedback of tube amplifier circuits without the full simulation of the underlying electronics, at least to some degree.

Tube Amp Modeling

Reply #2
I think you just need to make a (non linear) transfer function.  i.e. For small values, input = output.  At larger values, you reduce the gain proportional to the input level, so you eventually get limiting/clipping. 

You can use different transfer functions for positive & negative half-cycles.

Some low-pass filtering should help too.  The waveform looks a lot like a clipped waveform through a low-pass filter. 

Remember that the sound of a guitar amp also depends on the speaker & cabinet.