IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
DSP plugin that adds white noise or DC offset, if your DAC doesn't like digital silence...
lvqcl
post Jun 28 2009, 18:05
Post #1





Group: Developer
Posts: 3219
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



foo_dsp_noise 0.0.4:

This plugin just adds TPDF white noise or constant DC offset.

It should be last in your DSP chain.

Attached File  foo_dsp_noise.zip ( 56.43K ) Number of downloads: 937
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chris Norman
post Jun 30 2009, 22:14
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 127
Joined: 3-June 05
From: Cluj-Napoca
Member No.: 22498



Sorry to ask but, but why would you want to do that, adding white noise?




--------------------
http://www.vonpell.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeSomeone
post Jul 1 2009, 13:50
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 920
Joined: 22-October 01
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 335



I have 2 questions,
- couldn't you use foobar dither instead? (well I know it can only be used at 16 bit output)
- What kind of DAC's would not like (digital) silence?


--------------------
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Jul 1 2009, 14:51
Post #4





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



See this topic, maybe.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jul 1 2009, 15:51
Post #5





Group: Developer
Posts: 3219
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (Chris Norman @ Jul 1 2009, 01:14) *
Sorry to ask but, but why would you want to do that, adding white noise?

QUOTE (GeSomeone @ Jul 1 2009, 16:50) *
I have 2 questions,
- couldn't you use foobar dither instead? (well I know it can only be used at 16 bit output)
- What kind of DAC's would not like (digital) silence?

Sorry for (possible) confusion. Yes, Yirkha pointed to the thread where you can see some grounds for this plugin.
And, there was an earlier thread with the same problem.
QUOTE (Audionerd @ May 24 2009, 15:09) *
One possible explanation is that only foobar output is truly all zeros when the signal is silent, but I have no way of proving that right now. Suggestions on how to test this are welcome.

Well, this plugin can help to prove or disprove it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chris Norman
post Jul 5 2009, 11:36
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 127
Joined: 3-June 05
From: Cluj-Napoca
Member No.: 22498



QUOTE (Yirkha @ Jul 1 2009, 15:51) *
See this topic, maybe.


Now, I understand the purpose... smile.gif


--------------------
http://www.vonpell.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
solomonkane456
post Feb 7 2010, 01:36
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 7-February 10
Member No.: 77944



This is genius and a great solution for hdmi audio "silent stream" problem. Could you, by any chance
develop this plugin for other players, for instance KMPlayer?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Feb 7 2010, 12:03
Post #8





Group: Developer
Posts: 3219
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Sorry, I don't plan to do this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
solomonkane456
post Feb 7 2010, 19:05
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 7-February 10
Member No.: 77944



Thanks anyway:)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
amiti
post Oct 2 2012, 15:07
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 152
Joined: 1-January 05
Member No.: 18746



In this plugin one can choose to which bit to add the noise. Should the desired output bit depth influence this decision? If I wanted to mimic TPDF noise what would I choose?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Oct 2 2012, 15:23
Post #11





Group: Developer
Posts: 3219
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (amiti @ Oct 2 2012, 18:07) *
Should the desired output bit depth influence this decision?

It depends on what you want.

QUOTE (amiti @ Oct 2 2012, 18:07) *
If I wanted to mimic TPDF noise what would I choose?

It is always tpdf, just with different level.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
amiti
post Oct 2 2012, 18:41
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 152
Joined: 1-January 05
Member No.: 18746



QUOTE
It depends on what you want.


Thank you lvqcl. I was asking what is considered standard or common setting in other software that allow TPDF dither. Would they add the same level of noise to 16 bit and 24 bit target bitdepths? What noise level would be considered normal or common?

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
amiti
post Oct 10 2012, 20:51
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 152
Joined: 1-January 05
Member No.: 18746



I opened a separate thread to understand the dither and noise terminology a little better.

Now , may I ask , if I wanted to dither to 16 bit output format , using your plugin , would the usual way be to set the noise to the 16th bit? Similarly if the target format is 24 bit should the noise in your plugin be set to the 24th bit?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Oct 11 2012, 15:23
Post #14





Group: Developer
Posts: 3219
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (amiti @ Oct 10 2012, 23:51) *
if I wanted to dither to 16 bit output format , using your plugin , would the usual way be to set the noise to the 16th bit? Similarly if the target format is 24 bit should the noise in your plugin be set to the 24th bit?


Yes, that's right
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th April 2014 - 10:01