IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Question on playback queue
buffalo_guy
post Jan 20 2013, 05:16
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 20-January 13
Member No.: 106025



I am new to Foobar 2000. I see that I can right click and select a number of files to play. Is there a way to have these selected files play ONLY? What is happening is that when the last selected song plays the very next item in the list then plays. Often, rather than create multiple lists, I will select a handful of songs from a master list and just play those. Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
romor
post Jan 20 2013, 05:29
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 650
Joined: 16-January 09
Member No.: 65630



I had same problem. Luckily someone made such component: http://www.saunalahti.fi/cse/foobar2000/
After installing, you can set it through menu > playback > stop after queue


--------------------
scripts: http://goo.gl/M1qVLQ
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jan 20 2013, 05:41
Post #3





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5144
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (buffalo_guy @ Jan 20 2013, 04:16) *
What is happening is that when the last selected song plays the very next item in the list then plays.
That is the exact purpose of the playback queue: to insert some songs between the flow of the current playlist. It is not designed for building a now-playing list. The feature seems like an afterthought to me, and sometimes I think it might be better if it did not exist due to the confusion it causes. wink.gif

QUOTE
Often, rather than create multiple lists, I will select a handful of songs from a master list and just play those.
Then maintain a ‘playlist on the go’ in addition to whichever list(s)/categories you already have set up as separate playlists. Send songs from your ‘normal’ playlists to that, and keep it playing.

Sure, there are workarounds, but the best solution is to understand the different behaviours and purposes of playlists vs. the playback queue within foobar2000, without reference to how they might work in other applications such as Winamp. If you are interested, these subjects have been discussed many times before in past threads that should be easy to find on a search.

This post has been edited by db1989: Jan 20 2013, 05:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
buffalo_guy
post Jan 20 2013, 18:51
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 20-January 13
Member No.: 106025



QUOTE (romor @ Jan 20 2013, 05:29) *
I had same problem. Luckily someone made such component: http://www.saunalahti.fi/cse/foobar2000/
After installing, you can set it through menu > playback > stop after queue



Thanks. This worked perfectly! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 20:19