IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
mp3 -> wav -> mp3 sound quality?
navsimpson
post Oct 11 2006, 23:24
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 11-October 06
Member No.: 36240



I was really hoping someone here could give me some advice to minimise the degredation of sound quality converting mp3s to wavs and then back to mp3s. Why would I do something so crazy, you ask?

Here's the deal: until I can afford something new or Steve Jobs takes over Sony, I am stuck using Sonicstage. Some of my MP3s just won't play in software and on my DAP and I am now forced to convert them to wav's and then back to mp3s (last resort, only thing that works - "It's a Sony" mad.gif ). These are files I obviously can't just re-rip, so I'm stuck. I realise this is possibly a very subjective question, but I'm naturally worried about sound degredation and wanted to ask if anyone knew of a way to do this while minimising the impact on sound quality. The files are currently 320kbs CBR, ripped using Real Jukebox a few years ago, and using lossless isn't an option due to my tiny 40GB hard drive.

Any help will be much appreciated,

-Nav
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
guruboolez
post Oct 11 2006, 23:47
Post #2





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 3474
Joined: 7-November 01
From: Strasbourg (France)
Member No.: 420



MP3 -> WAV -> MP3 shouldn't sound differently than MP3 -> MP3.
If reencoding is the only working solution for you then use the best encoder at the highest bitrate to minimize the quantisation error effects. It should be LAME at 320 kbps.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kwanbis
post Oct 11 2006, 23:59
Post #3





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2353
Joined: 28-June 02
From: Argentina
Member No.: 2425



QUOTE (navsimpson @ Oct 11 2006, 22:24) *
Some of my MP3s just won't play in software and on my DAP

tried mp3repacker?


--------------------
MAREO: http://www.webearce.com.ar
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
navsimpson
post Oct 12 2006, 03:51
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 11-October 06
Member No.: 36240



QUOTE (kwanbis @ Oct 11 2006, 18:59) *
QUOTE (navsimpson @ Oct 11 2006, 22:24) *

Some of my MP3s just won't play in software and on my DAP

tried mp3repacker?


Thanks for the suggestions - really appreciate it. I did try mp3repack and, in all honesty, I found it to be a bit much for me. I think if mp3 -> mp3 is going to be same deal, then I am going to use dbPowerAMP since it has LAME and a 30 day free trial.

Thanks again,

-Nav
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2Bdecided
post Oct 12 2006, 11:09
Post #5


ReplayGain developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 4945
Joined: 5-November 01
From: Yorkshire, UK
Member No.: 409



But mp3repacker is lossless. If it works, it's a better solution than full re-encoding (which loses quality).

Cheers,
David.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
navsimpson
post Oct 12 2006, 15:41
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 11-October 06
Member No.: 36240



QUOTE (2Bdecided @ Oct 12 2006, 06:09) *
But mp3repacker is lossless. If it works, it's a better solution than full re-encoding (which loses quality).

Cheers,
David.


In theory, mp3repacker should be better, but it doesn't work for me. 'Repacked' files still won't play in Sonicstage. Thanks for the suggestion though.

-Nav
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Oct 12 2006, 17:50
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 3305
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



Which way are you repacking them - from VBR to CBR or from CBR to VBR?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin F.
post Oct 12 2006, 18:25
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 15-July 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 32930



You could also try MP3val to fix your MP3s.


--------------------
FLAC.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
navsimpson
post Oct 14 2006, 16:50
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 11-October 06
Member No.: 36240



Thanks so much for all the suggesetions. Unforunately, they didn't fix the problem, but it's apprecaiated nonetheless. I eventually gave up and 're-transcoded' to mp3 and that did fix the problem - I used dbPowerAMP and just went from 320 -> 320 and alt present insane (which I'm assuming was the highest?).

The actual drop in sound quality wasn't as bad as I expected. It's noticeable on the highs and voices etc., but it isn't as bad as one might think.

Here's hoping Sony gets their act together someday...

-Nav
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 11:46