IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

17 Pages V  « < 12 13 14 15 16 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FLACCL: CUDA-enabled FLAC encoder by Gregory S. Chudov (prev. FlaCuda), Formerly "lossless codecs and CUDA"
Garf
post Aug 13 2012, 08:47
Post #326


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4853
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



There are some bugs when encoding very large files (>2G):
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....st&p=805071

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
no404error
post Aug 18 2012, 19:32
Post #327





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 23-May 08
From: Rzeczpospolita
Member No.: 53744



Intel® Core™ i7-3770, 8Gb DDRIII-1333, MSI R7770-PMD1GD5, Win7 HP x64

CUETools.FLACCL.cmd.exe -X -o nul --opencl-type GPU --opencl-platform "AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing" --fast-gpu test.wav

-0 = 750.56
-1 = 640.93
-2 = 608.70
-3 = 1164.92
-4 = 1108.60
-5 = 1006.79
-6 = 1067.87
-7 = 960.46
-8 = 761.45
-9 = 515.59
-10 = 395.81
-11 = 347.45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JuanPabloCuervo
post Aug 26 2012, 02:19
Post #328





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 7-June 06
Member No.: 31567



Hi, ..

recently installed Win7x64
and purchased 2x HD7970

but... Flaccl v0.4
does not work...

AMD drivers 12.6

Flaccl v0.3 works... but... no GCN, no Crossfire.
very small performance increase...?

cuetools.flaccl.cmd.exe --11 --task-size 64 --group-size 64 cd1.wav
CODE
C:\Users\jpc\Desktop\FLACCL\flaccl03>flaccl03.exe -8 --task-size 64 --cpu-thread
s 3 --group-size 64 cd1.wav
FLACCL#0.3, Copyright (C) 2010 Gregory S. Chudov.
This is free software under the GNU GPLv3+ license; There is NO WARRANTY, to
the extent permitted by law. <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/> for details.
Filename  : cd1.wav
File Info : 44100kHz; 2 channel; 16 bit; 01:05:14.1880000
Results   : 350.02x; 448997159 bytes in 00:00:11.1826396 seconds;

C:\Users\jpc\Desktop\FLACCL\flaccl03>flaccl03.exe -11 --task-size 64 --cpu-threa
ds 3 --group-size 64 cd1.wav
FLACCL#0.3, Copyright (C) 2010 Gregory S. Chudov.
This is free software under the GNU GPLv3+ license; There is NO WARRANTY, to
the extent permitted by law. <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/> for details.
Filename  : cd1.wav
File Info : 44100kHz; 2 channel; 16 bit; 01:05:14.1880000
Results   : 379.22x; 433963131 bytes in 00:00:10.3215904 seconds;

C:\Users\jpc\Desktop\FLACCL\flaccl03>


crark v3.41 also does not work...
http://www.crark.net/

any ideas?

http://www.golubev.com/blog/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gregory S. Chudo...
post Aug 26 2012, 02:36
Post #329





Group: Developer
Posts: 683
Joined: 2-October 08
From: Ottawa
Member No.: 59035



FLACCL is very hardware-dependant, because architectures were rapidly changing at the time it was written. First thing it does is tries to determine which hardware it runs on, and selects parts of code appropriate for that hardware.
I need to debug the general case for unknown hardware to increase the chances of it working on any new GPUs.


--------------------
CUETools 2.1.4
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JuanPabloCuervo
post Aug 26 2012, 02:40
Post #330





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 7-June 06
Member No.: 31567



QUOTE (Gregory S. Chudov @ Aug 25 2012, 20:36) *
FLACCL is very hardware-dependant, because architectures were rapidly changing at the time it was written. First thing it does is tries to determine which hardware it runs on, and selects parts of code appropriate for that hardware.
I need to debug the general case for unknown hardware to increase the chances of it working on any new GPUs.


i thought it was a Windows problem...
because cRARk for Linux has incredible performance increase HD7970 vs. HD6970
but cRARk for Windows does not even work. strange.

This post has been edited by JuanPabloCuervo: Aug 26 2012, 02:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wdekler
post Sep 10 2012, 12:25
Post #331





Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 15-January 03
Member No.: 4586



It seems that the --ignore-chunk-sizes option is missing which makes it impossible to use with foobar's default flac profile.

Is this just some missing functionality or is not needed with this version?

By the way, I read that the Nvidia 600 series aren't the fastest with flac-cuda I'm still very happy to see encoding speeds of 200-350 with my GTX670. Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Sep 10 2012, 16:46
Post #332


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4853
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (wdekler @ Sep 10 2012, 13:25) *
By the way, I read that the Nvidia 600 series aren't the fastest with flac-cuda I'm still very happy to see encoding speeds of 200-350 with my GTX670. Thanks!


Only 300x? Depends on the source format of course, but a GTX670 should reach 800x speeds even at -8. Try this:

-q -8 --verify --slow-gpu --task-size 32 --cpu-threads 2 - -o %d
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wdekler
post Sep 10 2012, 21:57
Post #333





Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 15-January 03
Member No.: 4586



QUOTE (Garf @ Sep 10 2012, 16:46) *
QUOTE (wdekler @ Sep 10 2012, 13:25) *
By the way, I read that the Nvidia 600 series aren't the fastest with flac-cuda I'm still very happy to see encoding speeds of 200-350 with my GTX670. Thanks!


Only 300x? Depends on the source format of course, but a GTX670 should reach 800x speeds even at -8. Try this:

-q -8 --verify --slow-gpu --task-size 32 --cpu-threads 2 - -o %d


Thanks! I'll certainly try them later this week. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kvanto
post Sep 13 2012, 23:48
Post #334





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 6-April 09
Member No.: 68697



Somehow after updating nvidia drivers to 306.23, flaccl 0.4 stopped working on GTX 570... this is just me?

EDIT: it says
Error: GetDeviceIDs failed: INVALID_VALUE

This post has been edited by Kvanto: Sep 13 2012, 23:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wombat
post Sep 14 2012, 01:04
Post #335





Group: Members
Posts: 950
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 235



QUOTE (Kvanto @ Sep 14 2012, 00:48) *
Somehow after updating nvidia drivers to 306.23, flaccl 0.4 stopped working on GTX 570... this is just me?

EDIT: it says
Error: GetDeviceIDs failed: INVALID_VALUE

Works nicely with a GTX560Ti on Win7/32
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kvanto
post Sep 14 2012, 18:07
Post #336





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 6-April 09
Member No.: 68697



So, can I hope that this will be worked around somehow, or should I stick to old drivers forever?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kvanto
post Sep 27 2012, 08:01
Post #337





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 6-April 09
Member No.: 68697



OK I see this project is dead. Then does anyone know what libraries and/or other files that are part of nvidia windows7 driver FLACCL make use of? So I'll be able to copy them, install new driver and then put old files in sandbox environment or overwrite new files. Or what files in driver package are opencl-related? Maybe someone have some info about GetDeviceIDs failed issue? From its name it looks like some general issue that can happen not only in flaccl.

Edit: I also did some googling and it looks like this problem indicates bug in opencl application

This post has been edited by Kvanto: Sep 27 2012, 08:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hlloyge
post Sep 27 2012, 11:06
Post #338





Group: Members
Posts: 689
Joined: 10-January 06
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 27018



c:\Program Files (x86)\Utilities\CUETools_2.1.4>CUETools.FLACCL.cmd.exe Mustapha
.wav -o Mustapha.flac
FLACCL#0.4, Copyright © 2010 Grigory Chudov.
This is free software under the GNU GPLv3+ license; There is NO WARRANTY, to
the extent permitted by law. <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/> for details.
Filename : Mustapha.wav
File Info : 44100kHz; 2 channel; 16 bit; 00:03:26.3470000
Error : GetDeviceIDs failed: INVALID_VALUE

Windows 7 SP1 64 bit, Sapphire Radeon 5770 1 GB, Catalyst 12.8.

What can I do to make it work?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kvanto
post Sep 27 2012, 11:12
Post #339





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 6-April 09
Member No.: 68697



hlloyge
Hi. try this:
CUETools.FLACCL.cmd.exe --opencl-type CPU somefile.wav -o somefile.flac

Edit: of course this doesn't solves the issue but at least it works.

This post has been edited by Kvanto: Sep 27 2012, 11:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hlloyge
post Sep 27 2012, 12:41
Post #340





Group: Members
Posts: 689
Joined: 10-January 06
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 27018



Yeah, it works, confirmed. Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Miguk
post Dec 5 2012, 12:25
Post #341





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63054



My netbook has Nvidia ION graphic. The whole time I had to use 267.54 driver as flaccl refused to work with later versions always showing "Out of resource" error after encoding several files.

Today I tried the latest 306.97 version - with the same result. sad.gif

Then I tried flaccl 0.3 from the command line - it worked!

I tried flaccl 0.4 from the command line - it worked, too! Though a little bit slower than 0.3.

I replaced 0.4 in Cuetools folder with 0.3 files - the same out-of-resource error but after 12 encoded files (before it were 4).

So I decided to say farewell to flaccl as dll and tried to use it as command-line encoder in Cuetools.

With these settings it works now!



w00t.gif

BTW, my home computer has an ATI Radeon 5870 graphic card. After upgrading the processor to i5 3570K I don't use ATI opencl anymore - Intel 4000 graphic is faster :-)

This post has been edited by Miguk: Dec 5 2012, 12:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Miguk
post Dec 8 2012, 14:50
Post #342





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63054



I don't know why but FLACCL works again with the latest ATI Catalyst driver (12.10).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
06_taro
post Dec 9 2012, 19:19
Post #343





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 22-September 10
Member No.: 84054



QUOTE (Miguk @ Dec 8 2012, 13:50) *
I don't know why but FLACCL works again with the latest ATI Catalyst driver (12.10).

Because 12.9 fixed an issue from 12.4 that OpenCL runtime was broken, resulting in crash or incorrect results on some programs.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sefr-g
post Dec 17 2012, 20:44
Post #344





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-December 12
Member No.: 105234



I've been using and testing FLACCL for some days now, and I ran into some questions:

- will there be tagging support in a future update?

- I've tested up to 24 bits / 96khz / 7.1 channels successfully. will the samples rates 88.2/174.4/192khz be supported at some point (not that I'm a fan of those...)?

- when using flaccl as a command line encoder in foobar, is there a way to force fb2k to use the source wav and not create a temp wav thus slowing the operation down?

- at the moment I'm using batchenc as a gui/frontend and while it skips the foobar delay it lacks tagging. is there a better alternative or a way to include metaflac for the task?

thanks!

btw, here are some benchmarks on a low-end system (with cuetools):
CODE
Celeron E1200 @ 1.6 Ghz, FLAC 1.2.1b -8 -V: 22x, +0%
Celeron E1200 @ 3.0 Ghz, FLAC 1.2.1b -8 -V: 42x, +91%
Celeron E1200 @ 1.6 Ghz, Geforce 210 @ default, FLACCL 0.4 -8 --verify --slow-gpu: 53x, +141%
Celeron E1200 @ 3.0 Ghz, Geforce 210 @ default, FLACCL 0.4 -8 --verify --slow-gpu: 73x, +232%


This post has been edited by sefr-g: Dec 17 2012, 20:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kvanto
post Dec 17 2012, 20:50
Post #345





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 6-April 09
Member No.: 68697



QUOTE (sefr-g @ Dec 17 2012, 21:44) *
I've been using and testing FLACCL for some days now, and I ran into some questions:

- will there be tagging support in a future update?

- I've tested up to 24 bits / 96khz / 7.1 channels successfully. will the samples rates 88.2/174.4/192khz be supported at some point (not that I'm a fan of those...)?

- when using flaccl as a command line encoder in foobar, is there a way to force fb2k to use the source wav and not create a temp wav thus slowing the operation down?

- at the moment I'm using batchenc as a gui/frontend and while it skips the foobar delay it lacks tagging. is there a better alternative or a way to include metaflac for the task?

If it uses temp wav in foobar, I believe you set up it that way. It should do encoding from any source without temp file. Not sure what you say about tags, but if they was in source file, they'll be in final encoded file too.
Btw be careful with anything that is more than 16bits 5.1. It often produces broken files. Verify them after encoding. They may be not completely broken, but some part of it.

This post has been edited by Kvanto: Dec 17 2012, 20:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sefr-g
post Dec 17 2012, 21:07
Post #346





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-December 12
Member No.: 105234



if I skip the %s in foobar's commandline I get an error: The encoder has terminated prematurely with code 1 (0x00000001)

as for tags, if the source wav has tags (shown in foobar) the resulting flac will have none, at least with the "regular" CUETools.FLACCL.exe [options] <input.wav> commandline.

with verifying you mean listening or just using --verify?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kvanto
post Dec 17 2012, 21:17
Post #347





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 6-April 09
Member No.: 68697



QUOTE (sefr-g @ Dec 17 2012, 22:07) *
if I skip the %s in foobar's commandline I get an error: The encoder has terminated prematurely with code 1 (0x00000001)

as for tags, if the source wav has tags (shown in foobar) the resulting flac will have none, at least with the "regular" CUETools.FLACCL.exe [options] <input.wav> commandline.

with verifying you mean listening or just using --verify?

Simply skipping it is not a proper way. check fb2k documentation for correct way, I don't really remember without checking myself.
Thing with tags is a feature of the front end. it will work with foobar, not with FLACCL.exe alone
By verify I mean verify md5 using anything that works for you. personally I use fb2k plugin. maybe FLACCL.exe can do that, I never tried. Original flac package should have ways to do it. If you'll try to mux it in mkv using mkvmerge for example, it will give an errors too. Listening may or may not work as it not always completely broken. It's hard to spot anything that way. BTW while it happens only with more than 16bits audio, it looks like it depends on the _content_ of the audio. For some 24bit audio it never happens, for some other it always happens with any compression level and whatever.

This post has been edited by Kvanto: Dec 17 2012, 21:19
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sefr-g
post Dec 17 2012, 21:40
Post #348





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-December 12
Member No.: 105234



alright thanks.
I've noticed the missing - in foobar's commandline although I could swear I've used it initially. now it works, though a bit slower than with plain cmd.exe.
I'll look into md5, thanks again.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JuanPabloCuervo
post Dec 27 2012, 02:53
Post #349





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 7-June 06
Member No.: 31567



Hi, Happy New Year....

i installed drivers 12.10 and was a BIG improvement over 12.6.
but i read somewhere that 12.11 are even better...

uninstalled the 12.10, reboot & installed the 12.11beta11 NET4

it does improove a bit... over 12.10,
but something strange happens...

with Hitachi 2TB HDD goes faster, than using RamDrive...? crazy right? blink.gif

sadly HDTach 3.0.4 software was discontinued, to test Ramdrive speed.
very strange....

also the latest 12.11beta11 NET4 does not support --group-size 64
gives a Error : internal error: invalid stereo mode.
but with --group-size 32 works ok.

also does not auto-detect the OpenCL name, i guess because i have installled the "Intel SDK OpenCL 2012"

anyway... here are some results:

QUOTE
--opencl-type cpu
164.32x
i7 970 3.2GHz
///////////////////////////////////
AMD Drivers 12.10...

C:\Users\jpc\Desktop\FLACCL\flaccl03>flaccl03 -11 --opencl-type gpu --opencl-platform "AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing" --task-size 64 --group-size 64 cd1.wav
FLACCL#0.3, Copyright © 2010 Gregory S. Chudov.
This is free software under the GNU GPLv3+ license; There is NO WARRANTY, to
the extent permitted by law. <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/> for details.
Filename : cd1.wav
File Info : 44100kHz; 2 channel; 16 bit; 01:05:14.1880000
Results : 670.88x; 433963131 bytes in 00:00:05.8344102 seconds;

...

C:\Users\jpc\Desktop\FLACCL\flaccl03>flaccl03 -11 --opencl-type gpu --opencl-platform "AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing" --task-size 128 --group-size 32 cd1.wav
FLACCL#0.3, Copyright © 2010 Gregory S. Chudov.
This is free software under the GNU GPLv3+ license; There is NO WARRANTY, to
the extent permitted by law. <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/> for details.
Filename : cd1.wav
File Info : 44100kHz; 2 channel; 16 bit; 01:05:14.1880000
Results : 804.20x; 662069752 bytes in 00:00:04.8672085 seconds;

a few more tests with same setting:
791.51x
789.02x
801.63x
806.78x
804.20x
781.65x
806.78x
806.78x

///////////////////////////
with DataRAM RAMDisk now called AMD RamDrive...


R:\>flaccl03 -11 --opencl-type gpu --opencl-platform "AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing" --task-size 128 --group-size 32 cd1.wav
FLACCL#0.3, Copyright © 2010 Gregory S. Chudov.
This is free software under the GNU GPLv3+ license; There is NO WARRANTY, to
the extent permitted by law. <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/> for details.
Filename : cd1.wav
File Info : 44100kHz; 2 channel; 16 bit; 01:05:14.1880000
Results : 789.02x; 662069752 bytes in 00:00:04.9608088 seconds;

a few more tests with same setting:
784.09x
784.55x
786.55x
786.55x
789.02x
789.02x
791.51x
789.02x

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
AMD Drivers 12.11beta11 NET4

C:\Users\jpc\Desktop\FLACCL\flaccl03>flaccl03 -11 --opencl-type gpu --opencl-platform "AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing" --task-size 64 --group-size 64 cd1.wav
FLACCL#0.3, Copyright © 2010 Gregory S. Chudov.
This is free software under the GNU GPLv3+ license; There is NO WARRANTY, to
the extent permitted by law. <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/> for details.
Filename : cd1.wav
File Info : 44100kHz; 2 channel; 16 bit; 01:05:14.1880000
Error : internal error: invalid stereo mode

C:\Users\jpc\Desktop\FLACCL\flaccl03>flaccl03 -11 --opencl-type gpu --opencl-platform "AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing" --task-size 64 --group-size 32 cd1.wav
FLACCL#0.3, Copyright © 2010 Gregory S. Chudov.
This is free software under the GNU GPLv3+ license; There is NO WARRANTY, to
the extent permitted by law. <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/> for details.
Filename : cd1.wav
File Info : 44100kHz; 2 channel; 16 bit; 01:05:14.1880000
Results : 332.33x; 672222043 bytes in 00:00:11.7780207 seconds;

--task-size 128 --group-size 32
791.51x
806.78x
799.07x
806.78x
806.78x
806.78x


This post has been edited by JuanPabloCuervo: Dec 27 2012, 03:14
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JuanPabloCuervo
post Dec 27 2012, 03:22
Post #350





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 7-June 06
Member No.: 31567



QUOTE (sefr-g @ Dec 17 2012, 14:44) *
will the samples rates 88.2/174.4/192khz be supported at some point (not that I'm a fan of those...)?

WTF...not a fan? you really need to change your loudspeakers.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3lXnAGIwicE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ys7lABBrpYw

This post has been edited by JuanPabloCuervo: Dec 27 2012, 03:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

17 Pages V  « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd April 2014 - 12:23