IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
There is a noise when foobar2000 play stereo DSD switch to mulitichann
a923427276
post Oct 17 2013, 10:36
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 17-October 13
Member No.: 111024



I have a device that support decode both stereo and multichannel DSD64 music. Foobar2000 has configured to output DSD when play SACD file. But when from play multichannel DSD64 switch to play stereo DSD64 , or from play stereo DSD64 which to play multichannel DSD64, I hear a noise both at the end of previous DSD and at the begin of following DSD. I have used other music player like Jriver to check this noise issue and found OK! There is no noise if switch between stereo DSD or switch between multichannel DSD 。 And it is also OK if double click to play mulithchannel DSD64 before play to the end of stereo DSD64.

Here , I have another question. The channel maping error when from play stereo DSD64 switch to play multichannel DSD64 . Note that you couldn't do any thing such as fast forward or rewind or jump time during play stereo DSD64 and multichannel DSD64. You must let play in nature. The channel maping error would not appear if you do one time fast forward or rewind or jump time during play stereo DSD64 and multichannel DSD64.

I think the tow questions I described are bugs of foobar2000 player!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Oct 18 2013, 17:41
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



Strange, I can't even seem to playback DSD files with a virgin installation of foobar2000. Must be another bug.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Oct 18 2013, 22:50
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 4499
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



DSD playback is a third party feature, apparently implemented using ASIO. Apparently not very well, at that.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
a923427276
post Oct 23 2013, 01:46
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 17-October 13
Member No.: 111024



QUOTE (Sandrine @ Oct 18 2013, 17:41) *
Strange, I can't even seem to playback DSD files with a virgin installation of foobar2000. Must be another bug.

We must install and configure ASIO to play DSD file using foobar2000. Using Jriver player to play DSD file has the same request. But Jriver has no noise when play DSD file.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Oct 23 2013, 03:25
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 4499
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Then kindly ask Jriver to document their ASIO code. I'm sure they're just dying to help someone else fix their ASIO code. For free.

ASIO is a piece of shit. Using it is a big old hairy mess, and no two closed source developers can manage to get their code working with it in the same way as any other developer. Some may succeed more than others.

I don't think any ASIO using developers who have done what you want have released their source code to the public, so it's up to small projects like this SACD player plug-in to implement their own ASIO player. You're welcome to bug its author to fix it.

I doubt that fixing it is as easy as you think. Changing the output mode requires a complete teardown and restart of the interface. Is your receiver signifying a change in channel counts, or does it continue to read surround when Jriver switches back to stereo mode?

The easiest "fix" is to avoid reopening the ASIO device when only the channel count changes. Instead, open it in surround mode always if possible, then upmix any stereo files to surround, filling in the missing channels with silence.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Oct 23 2013, 15:55
Post #6





Group: Developer
Posts: 3208
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



AFAIK foo_input_sacd uses its own ASIO driver to output DSD so it's a third-party bug.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
a923427276
post Nov 3 2013, 11:02
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 17-October 13
Member No.: 111024



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Oct 23 2013, 16:55) *
AFAIK foo_input_sacd uses its own ASIO driver to output DSD so it's a third-party bug.

Could you please help to tell ASIO developers about this issue?
Or how could I tell ASIO developers about this issue?
Thank you!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Nov 3 2013, 11:24
Post #8





Group: Developer
Posts: 3208
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



http://sourceforge.net/p/sacddecoder/bugs/
Click on "Create Ticket" button.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 14:45