IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Can I "work" on my PC while ripping CD collection to FLAC wi
prskier17
post Mar 26 2013, 14:49
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 26-March 13
Member No.: 107406



I have decided to rip 200+ CD's to FLAC since I finally have my home sound system networked to a home PC. My plan is to bring CD's to work and rip while I'm at my desk. I'm using EAC and have setup per these instructions: LINK REMOVED

My questions is based on the setting linked can I work as normal on my PC without glitches in the Rip? I've complete about a half dozen CD's without any errors in the log.

Thanks!
Chris

This post has been edited by greynol: Aug 19 2013, 17:18
Reason for edit: TOS #9
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Mar 26 2013, 14:51
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1122
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



Yes you can smile.gif Assuming you don't have an antiquated system that dates from the 18th century wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChronoSphere
post Mar 26 2013, 15:02
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 399
Joined: 11-March 07
Member No.: 41384



I think the whole "don't touch your pc while it's doing something important" is a relic from singlecore/low RAM times. Like, remember burning CDs and praying to not get any buffer underruns cause your PC ran out of RAM and the HDD wasn't fast enough?

I had the "pleasure" of being stuck on a 10yo machine for a week, and it was... bad. Could barely do anything without system starting to slowdown and stall. I'm just glad that it's a thing of the past.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
prskier17
post Mar 26 2013, 15:05
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 26-March 13
Member No.: 107406



Haha.... yes I remember holding my breath while hoping to successfully burn a CD! Thanks for the responses... I just wanted to make sure that I wasn't going to be investing this time and then having to do it all over again!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Mar 26 2013, 15:07
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1122
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



QUOTE (prskier17 @ Mar 26 2013, 14:05) *
Haha.... yes I remember holding my breath while hoping to successfully burn a CD! Thanks for the responses... I just wanted to make sure that I wasn't going to be investing this time and then having to do it all over again!


The advantage of secure ripping is that it will tell you if there's anything wrong anyways smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jkauff
post Mar 26 2013, 15:08
Post #6





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 156
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Doylestown, PA
Member No.: 145



If you're doing a lot of CDs, you might want to consider using dbPoweramp CD Ripper. Rips are just as accurate as EAC, and it will use all the cores on your CPU so it's much faster. You can still do other work while it's ripping, but it's so fast you probably won't have time--you'll be busy changing CDs.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skamp
post Mar 26 2013, 16:09
Post #7





Group: Developer
Posts: 1343
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875



Actually EAC will launch FLAC processes in the background too. dBpoweramp's advantage is that it will burst rip tracks, check them against the AccurateRip database, and only rip them in "secure" mode when needed. Ripping a CD in good condition only takes 5 minutes. Whereas EAC can only rip all tracks either in burst rip mode or in secure mode. You can choose the former and manually re-rip tracks in secure mode when needed, but that takes user involvement, where dBpoweramp is fully automated.

This post has been edited by skamp: Mar 26 2013, 16:09


--------------------
caudec.net
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Mar 26 2013, 16:21
Post #8





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I'm able to rip at burst speeds with EAC and be confident that it will automatically perform re-reads when errors are detected. It depends on the drive, though I'm not so sure that there are that many that can give this type of performance/reliability. Mine is a Plextor PX716 which provides reliable error information and can be configured as non-caching when EAC uses FUA.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
prskier17
post Mar 26 2013, 16:43
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 26-March 13
Member No.: 107406



QUOTE (probedb @ Mar 26 2013, 09:07) *
QUOTE (prskier17 @ Mar 26 2013, 14:05) *
Haha.... yes I remember holding my breath while hoping to successfully burn a CD! Thanks for the responses... I just wanted to make sure that I wasn't going to be investing this time and then having to do it all over again!


The advantage of secure ripping is that it will tell you if there's anything wrong anyways smile.gif


That's what I was hoping... thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 16:48