IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Run foobar2k as service
emueyes
post Nov 3 2012, 04:35
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 13-June 12
Member No.: 100657




Let me prefix this by saying that I have searched, looked, read on the topic, to no avail. I'm trying to post questions as a call to the Emergency Dept, not as a walk up Dr to answer my niggling questions. So..

I need to run foobar2k as a service, it seems.

All of my music is on the loungeroom system, which has a good soundcard and amp. The trouble occurs if I use RDP to connect to it for maintenance etc from my other computer; closing the RDP connection leaves me logged into the HTPC, but sitting at the login screen, and fb2k isn't available.

Any solution here would be good, I've tried VNC without much luck, no matter what I do it's slow.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Nov 3 2012, 09:40
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1330
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



You could try make it run as a service with http://serviceex.com/
But it won't help to interface with it from the login screen, just to start if it's closed.
I'm using another program and a bat-file to start it.

Sounds like you want it to take commands from wherever you are, then it's not a service you need per se, just something that can tell it to play.

Telnet: foo_controlserver
HTTP: foo_httpcontrol
UPnP: foo_upnp


--------------------
Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.1
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
emueyes
post Nov 6 2012, 15:11
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 13-June 12
Member No.: 100657



QUOTE (Andreasvb @ Nov 3 2012, 09:40) *
Sounds like you want it to take commands from wherever you are, then it's not a service you need per se, just something that can tell it to play.


Yep. The machine is attached to the TV, which is workable as a monitor but not very comfortable. I use an Android tablet and foobarControl or UpnPlay or BubbleUPnP to control fb2k and that then is the interface to the music collection. Neither see foobar unless the machine is logged in. They use either the http or dlna interfaces.

Using Asset on the same machine works, even when not logged in, but I'd rather not have another layer to have to go wrong. Pity Windows is so restrictive in what will run under these circumstances.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Nov 6 2012, 16:51
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1330
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



I don't think foobar2000 can run as a background service as it's a program with a window.


--------------------
Windows 8.1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.1
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 17:21