IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Need A Wma Lossless Decoder For Streaming, with stdout output
Superlexx
post Feb 16 2005, 15:21
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 11278



hello, I am looking for a command line WMA lossless decoder for my netjukebox that can decode to stdout. I've found a decoder on the MS's site (wmal2pcm.exe), but it only decodes to a file sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jth
post Feb 16 2005, 15:48
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 4-December 01
Member No.: 579



You might try the slimserver's wmadec:

wmadec

This post has been edited by jth: Feb 16 2005, 15:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Superlexx
post Feb 16 2005, 18:24
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 11278



wmadec produces data that isn't really useful :/. If I run
CODE
wmadec -o test.wav test.wma
, then the resulting file test.wav cannot be played in foobar2000 or winamp and cannot be encoded by oggenc sad.gif. It can be "opened" in wavelab, but it offers a "special file format" dialog, which then makes a mono wave that sounds ok.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jth
post Feb 16 2005, 22:25
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 4-December 01
Member No.: 579



It would have been more helpful if I included some options:

try

wmadec -o test.wav -r 44100 -b 16 -n 2 test.wma
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Superlexx
post Feb 18 2005, 15:46
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 11278



with your options it's the same (the parameters are default anyway). Do you have a link to the wmadec sources?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jth
post Feb 18 2005, 17:21
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 4-December 01
Member No.: 579



yes, the sources are here
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Superlexx
post Feb 18 2005, 17:43
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 11278



OK thx, I'll take a look at them
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jth
post Feb 19 2005, 16:06
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 4-December 01
Member No.: 579



I just saw a bug report about wmadec - that all the output is in mono. This seems to be related to some recent changes. Apparently an an older version of wmadec works fine for one person. Maybe you can give that a try? Sorry for the trouble.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Superlexx
post Feb 20 2005, 23:25
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 11278



this version works better, wavelab reads the output as raw data and it's stereo then. But the output .wav file is rather raw data than PCM WAV, it's missing the header (lame and oggenc fail to compress it correctly). I'll try to modify the source so that the headers get attached (just copy them from a real .wav file or maybe take code from LAME).

EDIT: I've modded wmadec to accept -w as a parameter and write the wave header when set (code taken from LAME), here is a link for those who are interested: http://home.arcor.de/superlexx/files/wmadec.zip . It contains the new wmadec.cpp and the binary.

This post has been edited by Superlexx: Feb 21 2005, 01:21
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WaldoMonster
post Feb 23 2005, 00:49
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 234
Joined: 18-September 02
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 3392



Thanks (again) Superlexx wink.gif


--------------------
netjukebox - the flexible media share
http://www.netjukebox.nl
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
UncleJohnsBand
post Mar 9 2005, 03:48
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 9-March 05
Member No.: 20474



I have been using the GBPVR video/music center along with the hauppage MVP 1000 for accessing the content over the network.

One piece that is missing is the ability to stream WMA since it needs to be converted to MP3.

From reading this post it sounds as though wmadec will decode the wma file and we could then using something like LAME to create the MP3. Is this correctg?

Also....it wasn't clear in the post as to if there was in fact a bug in wmadec that was only producing mono output. Was the altered code you provided above a fix for this problem?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Superlexx
post Mar 9 2005, 11:23
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 11278



My modification is based on the 0.5.3 branch that didn't have the mono bug

Wmadec can decode the WMA for LAME encoding like "wmadec -w input.wma | lame - -"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
UncleJohnsBand
post Mar 10 2005, 00:36
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 9-March 05
Member No.: 20474



Thanks Superlexx.....I am checking with one of the plugin developers fof GBPVR to see if this can be integrated into the My Music plugin.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
UncleJohnsBand
post Mar 10 2005, 01:13
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 9-March 05
Member No.: 20474



QUOTE (Superlexx @ Mar 9 2005, 05:23 AM)
My modification is based on the 0.5.3 branch that didn't have the mono bug

Wmadec can decode the WMA for LAME encoding like "wmadec -w input.wma | lame - -"
*


I am trying to run wmadec and I keep getting the following error message:

Opening stream failed with error code 0x80070002

What would a valid command line look like if I have a file named test.wma?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Superlexx
post Mar 10 2005, 01:55
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 11278



CODE
D:\bin\codec>wmadec -w test.wma | lame - test.mp3
LAME version 3.96 MMX  (http://www.mp3dev.org/)
CPU features: MMX (ASM used), 3DNow! (ASM used), SSE
Using polyphase lowpass filter, transition band: 17249 Hz - 17782 Hz
Encoding <stdin> to test.mp3
Encoding as 44.1 kHz 128 kbps j-stereo MPEG-1 Layer III (11x) qval=3
If you use "-" instead of "test.mp3", lame will output into stdout instead of a file.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
UncleJohnsBand
post Mar 10 2005, 03:50
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 9-March 05
Member No.: 20474



Thanks.....I hate to say it but my only error was not to use the correct name of my input file.....I was using the song title as the name when in fact it was actually named 02 trackname.wma.... tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Superlexx
post Jan 28 2006, 14:50
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 16-January 04
Member No.: 11278



Hi,

I've updated wmadec so it can passthrough the length of decoded data, it must be provided like "wmadec -l 12345 test.wma | ..." where 12345 is length in bytes. Then the length will be written into the WAV header, making tools that hang in the pipe work better.

download (sources and the binary)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2014 - 16:36