IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

18 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
qtaacenc: a command-line QuickTime AAC encoder for Windows
nao
post Jan 22 2010, 11:15
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 16-June 06
Member No.: 31911



Hi,

As I already posted in the other thread, I released a tiny tool for Windows to access the QuickTime AAC encoder from the command line. Now some important features, gapless support and pipe encoding, have been added, so I've decided to create a dedicated thread for this software.

You can get the latest version here.

Any comments or questions are accepted in this thread.
Thanks

This post has been edited by greynol: Nov 28 2010, 01:03
Reason for edit: fixed link.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tedgo
post Jan 22 2010, 11:23
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1089
Joined: 16-April 04
From: Bavaria, Germany
Member No.: 13548



Many thanks for this smile.gif
Now i can use True VBR within foobar2000.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alexxander
post Jan 22 2010, 11:30
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18143



Interesting tool smile.gif Thank you for your contribution nao.

To clear up, one question: One needs to have installed QuickTime Pro, right? (I'm no user of Apple software)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
grimes
post Jan 22 2010, 11:30
Post #4





Group: Developer
Posts: 302
Joined: 12-November 07
From: Frankfurt
Member No.: 48701



Thank you, nao, for that nice encoding tool.
Can't wait to test pipe encoding.

This post has been edited by grimes: Jan 22 2010, 11:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nao
post Jan 22 2010, 11:39
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 16-June 06
Member No.: 31911



QUOTE (Alexxander @ Jan 22 2010, 19:30) *
To clear up, one question: One needs to have installed QuickTime Pro, right? (I'm no user of Apple software)

No, pro version is not required.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alexxander
post Jan 22 2010, 12:21
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18143



The Free version will do? According to Apple's website it's only a Player. Or is QuickTime + iTunes necessary?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nao
post Jan 22 2010, 12:35
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 16-June 06
Member No.: 31911



QUOTE (Alexxander @ Jan 22 2010, 20:21) *
The Free version will do? According to Apple's website it's only a Player. Or is QuickTime + iTunes necessary?

Well, qtaacenc directly calls QuickTime APIs to encode, so it doesn't depend on any external applications. You only have to install the latest version of QuickTime.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alexxander
post Jan 22 2010, 12:57
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18143



Thx. I've installed latest Apple QuickTime free version, downloaded your tool and configured foobar2000 v1.0 as you describe on you webspace. Converting from FLAC to m4a works like a charm on Windows 7 64-bits! biggrin.gif

Is it easy to know which files of QuickTime installation are necessary? Maybe a full QuickTime installation can be avoided by just having a set of specific files (possibly against some Apple policy).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
guruboolez
post Jan 22 2010, 13:33
Post #9





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 3474
Joined: 7-November 01
From: Strasbourg (France)
Member No.: 420



I've been waiting for this tool for many years. A million thanks for this, nao!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Jan 22 2010, 15:20
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1506
Joined: 3-January 05
From: Argentina, Bs As
Member No.: 18803



Nao,
Thank you very much. Finally TVBR for Windows users.
Can you implmenet access to HE-AAC encoder as well?
I wonder if it's possible HE-AAC + TVBR. But HE-AAC with --highest will be already great.

Sometimes ago you quality-vs-bitrate graph it might be helpfull for people to get an idea what bitrates will be with tvbr.
Quality vs Bitrate

This post has been edited by IgorC: Jan 22 2010, 15:29
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nao
post Jan 22 2010, 15:34
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 16-June 06
Member No.: 31911



QUOTE (IgorC @ Jan 22 2010, 23:20) *
Can you implmenet access to HE-AAC encoder as well?

Unfortunately, HE-AAC encoder is not available in QT for Windows.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Jan 22 2010, 15:41
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1506
Joined: 3-January 05
From: Argentina, Bs As
Member No.: 18803



Itunes has the same speed as qtaacenc --normal.
--highest and --high give the identical output.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
punkyjet
post Jan 22 2010, 16:02
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 7-January 10
Member No.: 76797



Thank you very much Nao.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
/mnt
post Jan 22 2010, 16:29
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 22-April 06
Member No.: 29877



Thanks for this tool. It works pretty well on foobar2000.


--------------------
"I never thought I'd see this much candy in one mission!"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Xire
post Jan 22 2010, 17:11
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 11-May 08
Member No.: 53447



QUOTE (nao @ Jan 22 2010, 13:15) *
Any comments or questions are accepted in this thread.
Thanks


Thanks a lot for your work. Tried it in several ways and worked just fine. What is the type of license for this file?

This post has been edited by Xire: Jan 22 2010, 17:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halb27
post Jan 22 2010, 17:26
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 2414
Joined: 9-October 05
From: Dormagen, Germany
Member No.: 25015



Just tried, works fine.
Thank you, nao.


--------------------
lame3100m --bCVBR 300
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nao
post Jan 22 2010, 17:30
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 16-June 06
Member No.: 31911



QUOTE (Xire @ Jan 23 2010, 01:11) *
What is the type of license for this file?

I'll apply BSD-style license.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kornchild2002
post Jan 22 2010, 17:38
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 2043
Joined: 8-April 05
From: Cincinnati, OH
Member No.: 21277



I am not sure what you have done but encoding speeds are fixed on my end. I was getting an average speed of 7x which was being reported by foobar2000 v1. Before, I was getting 1x encoding speeds so this is a vast improvement. I also tested gapless playback in iTunes and on my 120GB iPod classic. It all works just fine.

Now I have to start ABXing to determine if Lame 3.98.2, Nero 1.5.3.0, or QuickTime 7.6.5 is right for me.

Edit: I should say that the encoding speeds are from my 1.66GHz Atom powered netbook with 2GB of RAM. 7x is about average for me when it comes to Lame 3.98.2, Nero 1.5.3.0, and other encoders. The only one I have seen that really encodes fast (on this netbook) is the Xing mp3 encoder with speeds of about 15x. I would test on my desktop (four dual-core AMD Opteron 2214 processors at 2.2GHz with 8GB of RAM) but I don't have access to it yet. Encoding speeds on my netbook didn't increase when I sat it to two thread encoding (the Atom processor is hyper-threaded).

This post has been edited by kornchild2002: Jan 22 2010, 18:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jan 22 2010, 18:20
Post #19





Group: Developer
Posts: 3214
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Thanks for the program, nao.

About encoding speed... Core2Duo 2.4 GHz; qtaacenc 20100122; "--tvbr 100 --highest - %d" (encoding via fb2k):

1 thread: ~20x realtime.
2 threads: ~39x realtime.

This post has been edited by lvqcl: Jan 22 2010, 21:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halb27
post Jan 22 2010, 19:47
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 2414
Joined: 9-October 05
From: Dormagen, Germany
Member No.: 25015



I just found an issue when using True VBR at quality level 50.
The m4a files don't contain the last part of the original track.

Doesn't happen at quality level 100.

The exact limit seems to be quality level 58. For this level or below there is this issue.

This post has been edited by halb27: Jan 22 2010, 19:53


--------------------
lame3100m --bCVBR 300
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nao
post Jan 22 2010, 19:59
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 16-June 06
Member No.: 31911



QUOTE (halb27 @ Jan 23 2010, 03:47) *
I just found an issue when using True VBR at quality level 50.
The m4a files don't contain the last part of the original track.

Probably that is due to resampling. With the default setting, the output file is automatically resampled when the target bitrate or quality is low. To prevent this, use --samplerate keep option.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halb27
post Jan 22 2010, 20:04
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 2414
Joined: 9-October 05
From: Dormagen, Germany
Member No.: 25015



You're right, everything's fine when using --samplerate keep.
Thanks a lot.


--------------------
lame3100m --bCVBR 300
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
seVen
post Jan 22 2010, 20:51
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 28-January 03
Member No.: 4760



Many thanks nao! cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
[JAZ]
post Jan 22 2010, 21:10
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 1710
Joined: 24-June 02
From: Catalunya(Spain)
Member No.: 2383



QUOTE (Alexxander @ Jan 22 2010, 12:57) *
Is it easy to know which files of QuickTime installation are necessary? Maybe a full QuickTime installation can be avoided by just having a set of specific files (possibly against some Apple policy).


There is Quicktime Alternative, but i am not sure if that contains the encoders, or just the decoders. You may want to try out.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
antman
post Jan 23 2010, 00:06
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 3-January 07
From: Texas
Member No.: 39241



Tried it with QT alternative 3.1 and the application gives an error message, "this application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem."
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

18 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 06:21