IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 TAK questions
horror_master34
post May 5 2007, 22:44
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 11-January 07
Member No.: 39535



I'm thinking about switching from FLAC over to TAK, but I have two questions

1) What is the command line setting for Extra Max compression? (I can't figure this one out)

2) Can you tag TAK files with foobar2000 or is a separate program needed to tag them?

Thanks for the help
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mangix
post May 5 2007, 22:55
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 584
Joined: 26-February 06
Member No.: 28077



-p4m

you can tag them with foobar2000 as long as you have the plugin.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spockep
post May 5 2007, 23:15
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 120
Joined: 8-November 06
Member No.: 37320



QUOTE (horror_master34 @ May 5 2007, 17:44) *
I'm thinking about switching from FLAC over to TAK, but I have two questions

1) What is the command line setting for Extra Max compression? (I can't figure this one out)

2) Can you tag TAK files with foobar2000 or is a separate program needed to tag them?

Thanks for the help



You can also use EAC and TAK with wapet to tag them. Works like a charm:

EAC and TAK
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kanak
post May 5 2007, 23:47
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1190
Joined: 12-January 06
From: Cambridge, MA
Member No.: 27052



QUOTE (horror_master34 @ May 5 2007, 17:44) *
I'm thinking about switching from FLAC over to TAK, but I have two questions

1) What is the command line setting for Extra Max compression? (I can't figure this one out)

2) Can you tag TAK files with foobar2000 or is a separate program needed to tag them?

Thanks for the help


I'd recommend p4 over p4m. p4m is slower and doesn't give that much of a benefit. See for yourself.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
horror_master34
post May 5 2007, 23:50
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 11-January 07
Member No.: 39535



This is both a TAK & EAC question

How do you compress a WAV file to a TAK file using EAC? I've read the wiki on it, but that's for going from CD to TAK and adding tagging in the process. I just want to compress from a WAV to a TAK file without all the tagging in the command line.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post May 6 2007, 00:05
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (kanak @ May 5 2007, 15:47) *
I'd recommend p4 over p4m. p4m is slower and doesn't give that much of a benefit. See for yourself.
I'd go for p2 (normal) myself.

You're going to see a huge difference in compression between TAK and flac -8 even using TAK's turbo mode. I don't see much point in sacrificing speed for a small increase in compression when you're already blowing flac out of the water.

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=TAK

QUOTE (horror_master34 @ May 5 2007, 15:50) *
How do you compress a WAV file to a TAK file using EAC?
Configure EAC to use TAK per the wiki and then drag your wave files onto the EAC window.
QUOTE (horror_master34 @ May 5 2007, 15:50) *
I've read the wiki on it, but that's for going from CD to TAK and adding tagging in the process. I just want to compress from a WAV to a TAK file without all the tagging in the command line.
You're not going to keep tags while converting wave to TAK using EAC. With the exception of a couple of programs (foobar and EAC not being one of them), your wave files aren't going to contain any metadata.

On second thought it sounds like you don't care about tagging (duh!).

Just configure according to the wiki, but replace wapet.exe with takc.exe.

For the command line, instead of

%d -t "Artist=%a" -t "Title=%t" -t "Album=%g" -t "Year=%y" -t "Track=%n" -t "Genre=%m" "C:\Program Files\TAK\takc.exe" -e -pN %s %d

simply use

-e -p2 %s

This post has been edited by greynol: May 6 2007, 00:09


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
horror_master34
post May 6 2007, 00:26
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 11-January 07
Member No.: 39535



I still can't get it to work. When I start to compress the WAV it goes from compressing to saying it's completed in like 2 seconds. Then the temp file is deleted. I have no idea what's wrong.

I have "use external program" checked
Parameter passing scheme is set to "User defined encoder"
File extension is set to .tak
Program is set to the path where Takc.exe is located
Additional command line is set to -e -p4m %s
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drbeachboy
post May 6 2007, 00:46
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 499
Joined: 22-October 04
From: Southern NJ
Member No.: 17776



For foobar2000, in "Parameters": -e -p4m %s %d

You had no output file set, %d will give you that.


--------------------
Surf's Up!
"Columnated Ruins Domino"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post May 6 2007, 00:54
Post #9





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (drbeachboy @ May 5 2007, 16:46) *
You had no output file set, %d will give you that.

%d is not necessary when using takc with EAC.

This post has been edited by greynol: May 6 2007, 03:03


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
horror_master34
post May 6 2007, 02:13
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 11-January 07
Member No.: 39535



I'm still unable to compress to TAK from WAV. Anybody have a solution to this?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mangix
post May 6 2007, 02:21
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 584
Joined: 26-February 06
Member No.: 28077



QUOTE (greynol @ May 5 2007, 16:54) *
%d is not necessary when using takc.

it doesn't work with -
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post May 6 2007, 02:51
Post #12





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (Mangix @ May 5 2007, 18:21) *
QUOTE (greynol @ May 5 2007, 16:54) *

%d is not necessary when using takc.

it doesn't work with -

That's true as well. My comment about %d was for EAC, not foobar2000. I just edited it for clarity.

FWIW, I just configured the EAC's "Additional command line options:" with
-e -p2 %s
and it worked just fine. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by greynol: May 6 2007, 03:04


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spockep
post May 6 2007, 03:00
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 120
Joined: 8-November 06
Member No.: 37320



QUOTE (horror_master34 @ May 5 2007, 21:13) *
I'm still unable to compress to TAK from WAV. Anybody have a solution to this?


If you don't want to tag, then just download TAK and use the official TAK GUI. No need to use any other programs at all. It couldn't be easier. biggrin.gif

TAK 1.0.1 Applications
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drbeachboy
post May 6 2007, 16:06
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 499
Joined: 22-October 04
From: Southern NJ
Member No.: 17776



QUOTE (greynol @ May 5 2007, 19:54) *
QUOTE (drbeachboy @ May 5 2007, 16:46) *
You had no output file set, %d will give you that.

%d is not necessary when using takc with EAC.

I thought he was asking regarding fb2k, not EAC. As we all know, EAC will not let you do anything with a pre-existing wav file. Though I did forget that with fb2k, "Converter" won't even let you complete the setup without the "%d".


--------------------
Surf's Up!
"Columnated Ruins Domino"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drbeachboy
post May 6 2007, 16:51
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 499
Joined: 22-October 04
From: Southern NJ
Member No.: 17776



I ran greynol's EAC config and it worked perfectly.

CODE
Program: My Path To\Wapet.exe
Additional...options: %d -t "Artist=%a" -t "Title=%t" -t "Album=%g" -t "Year=%y" -t "Track=%n" -t "Genre=%m" "My Path To\takc.exe" -e -pN %s


--------------------
Surf's Up!
"Columnated Ruins Domino"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post May 6 2007, 18:38
Post #16





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (drbeachboy @ May 6 2007, 08:06) *
As we all know, EAC will not let you do anything with a pre-existing wav file.
As I mentioned earlier, EAC will allow you to compress pre-existing wave files:
QUOTE (greynol @ May 5 2007, 16:05) *
QUOTE (horror_master34 @ May 5 2007, 15:50) *
How do you compress a WAV file to a TAK file using EAC?
Configure EAC to use TAK per the wiki and then drag your wave files onto the EAC window.
...though as spockep already suggested, there's a perfectly good GUI for converting waves to taks.

QUOTE (drbeachboy @ May 6 2007, 08:51) *
I ran greynol's EAC config and it worked perfectly.
I can't take credit for this. Synthetic Soul is the one who wrote the "EAC and TAK" wiki article. wink.gif


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th April 2014 - 09:56