IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FLAC to MP3
Brad1981
post Jul 24 2009, 03:22
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 3-August 05
Member No.: 23676



What is the best way to convert FLAC files to MP3?
I am considering using foobar2000, but I have LAME 3.90.3, which I use with Exact Audio Copy (and prefer to stay with). In foobar2000, do I have to enter any special parameters? I tried converting a FLAC file at V2 190kbps, but got well below 190kbps. When I use this LAME version with EAC, I always get around 192kbps and higher. Are the later versions of foobar2000 compatible with LAME 3.90.3? Do I have to modify any settings?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
antman
post Jul 24 2009, 04:05
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 3-January 07
From: Texas
Member No.: 39241



You don't have to configure foobar at all to transcode with the V settings. Just tell foobar where you stuck lame.exe and it's ready to go.

You encoded one track and got less than 190, that's not unusual. It's VBR. Try encoding some metal and watch in jump well over 190, well at least with lame 3.98.

And you can configure foobar to take whatever, version, encoder you want.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Brad1981
post Jul 24 2009, 05:47
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 3-August 05
Member No.: 23676



Thanks,
Tho I think I may just convert to WAV using foobar, then use Exact Audio Copy to compress to MP3 using my older LAME version. It's an extra step, but gives me piece of mind.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Jul 24 2009, 13:48
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 3305
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



You do know that doing it that way you will lose any tag information?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Jul 24 2009, 16:30
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1122
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



QUOTE (Brad1981 @ Jul 24 2009, 05:47) *
Thanks,
Tho I think I may just convert to WAV using foobar, then use Exact Audio Copy to compress to MP3 using my older LAME version. It's an extra step, but gives me piece of mind.


What extra piece of mind? If you tell EAC to rip to MP3/FLAC it'll rip to a temporary WAV file anyways....as pdq said, you'll lose tagging info with WAV.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Larson
post Jul 24 2009, 16:37
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 27-March 09
Member No.: 68422



why don't you use dbpoweramp?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Brad1981
post Jul 25 2009, 00:37
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 3-August 05
Member No.: 23676



QUOTE (probedb @ Jul 24 2009, 11:30) *
QUOTE (Brad1981 @ Jul 24 2009, 05:47) *
Thanks,
Tho I think I may just convert to WAV using foobar, then use Exact Audio Copy to compress to MP3 using my older LAME version. It's an extra step, but gives me piece of mind.


What extra piece of mind? If you tell EAC to rip to MP3/FLAC it'll rip to a temporary WAV file anyways....as pdq said, you'll lose tagging info with WAV.


That I can get the exact specifications I want with using LAME 3.90.3. I have EAC set up to use this version as MP3 encoder. So I convert FLAC to WAV using foobar2000, then compress the WAVs to MP3 using EAC. The later versions of LAME use different/new parameters, which is recognized by foobar2000, but when I tell foobar2000 to use LAME 3.90.3, I'm not sure if this older version of lame uses these same parameters?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Grunpfnul
post Jul 25 2009, 01:55
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 30-May 09
From: Germany
Member No.: 70242



Why donīt adapt the parameters in Foobar? With your old lame version in use?


Right click on File / Convert / .../ MP3

Choose Output Format to mp3 then click on the right side the three points - change Encoder to custom and there you go :-)
Foobar just sends the commands to the encoder and feed him with .wav pieces.



This post has been edited by Grunpfnul: Jul 25 2009, 01:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
/mnt
post Jul 25 2009, 01:57
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 696
Joined: 22-April 06
Member No.: 29877



The LAME transcoder settings on foobar2000 is designed for LAME 3.97 (-V 2 --vbr-new). You will need to add a custom encoder if you wish to use LAME 3.90.3.

Here is my personal LAME 3.90.3 command line for foobar2000:

CODE
-S --noshist --alt-preset standard - %d




This post has been edited by /mnt: Jul 25 2009, 02:00


--------------------
"I never thought I'd see this much candy in one mission!"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kmitch
post Aug 11 2009, 14:59
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 4-February 08
Member No.: 51021



Reflacer will perform the conversion from FLAC to MP3, and keep them in synch
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stasis
post Apr 16 2010, 23:55
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-January 10
Member No.: 77420



i know this is an old post but dbpoweramp is great and widely considered one of the best
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 13:06