IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Playing FLAC files without gaps?
krs000a
post Apr 30 2013, 13:34
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 31-March 12
Member No.: 98253



If I have a CD containing a concert or nonstop mix, where there are no gaps inbetween tracks, and I rip the whole CD as one Flac file per track, how do I play them back without hearing a gap between the tracks? I tested and ripped a full CD of 15 tracks with EAC and I ended up with 15 Flac files, but when I play it in MPC i hear the gaps between each track. Tell me how to play them (which player) without having to hear the gaps. I realize I could rip to 1 large flac file, but I rather not as I want to easily be able to select track and locate tracks by filename and not having to play thru a 60 min flac file.
Please be nice in your replies, I am a newbie and I don't know much about flac.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rollin
post Apr 30 2013, 14:42
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 185
Joined: 5-March 08
Member No.: 51815



Try foobar2000 smile.gif http://www.foobar2000.org/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Apr 30 2013, 14:44
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4337
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



most players will play them back gaplessly with no problem. assuming windows, you can try foobar2000, winamp, musicbee, mediamonkey amongst many others.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DonP
post Apr 30 2013, 15:01
Post #4





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 1469
Joined: 11-February 03
From: Vermont
Member No.: 4955



For players that give gaps, it is not anything to do with FLAC. It is because those players can't switch from one file to the next without losing some time. Smarter players start reading the second file before the first file is done, so the transition is seamless. Or, when there is *supposed* to be a gap, it is more precise.

Of the players I use in Linux, Amarok plays gapless, Clementine does not.
In Windows I pretty much just use foobar.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CoRoNe
post Apr 30 2013, 15:30
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 31-May 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 22417



QUOTE (krs000a @ Apr 30 2013, 13:34) *
I tested and ripped a full CD of 15 tracks with EAC and I ended up with 15 Flac files, but when I play it in MPC i hear the gaps between each track.
...
I realize I could rip to 1 large flac file, but I rather not as I want to easily be able to select track and locate tracks by filename and not having to play thru a 60 min flac file.
It's intrinsic to how DirectShow works. Every time the song changes a new graph has to be created, resulting in a small pause.
There's another option though. Rip to 1 large flac-image, tag it properly (embed cue-sheet), download MPC-BE, enable the internal Flac Source Filter and you'll be able to use the Navigate-menu to select the song you want to listen to.


--------------------
DC-Bass Source Mod: http://reino.degeelebosch.nl
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
krs000a
post May 1 2013, 08:53
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 31-March 12
Member No.: 98253



Thank you for your help, everyone!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th April 2014 - 05:27