Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Zoom H6 vs H4n & other portable recorders (Read 15174 times) previous topic - next topic

Zoom H6 vs H4n & other portable recorders

So I finally got a portable recorder, the Zoom H6. Overall it's pretty cool, it doubles as a 6-in interface as well.

From what I've noticed in a few days of use and after reading the manual, there's a few things that bug me that seem too obvious to me to have been overlooked, but I have no previous experience with modern digital recorders:

1) You can put "marks" on your recording for easier navigation, but there seems to be no way whatsoever to delete these marks. You can view a list of them, but not do anything about them (but add more).

2) When you overdub, you can record many times, and each time will be saved as a different "take" but again, there seems to be no way to delete a take.

3) There seems to be no way to move recorded tracks to blank tracks, so when you overdub, you need to physically change the mic to another input and change input settings for that mic again. This may be a problem if you're overdubbing more than 4 tracks and your mic requires phantom power, cause the H6 only offers it on 4 inputs.

4) When overdubbing, you press record and have to start from the beginning, apparently there's no way to overdub only the parts you actually need to record.