IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Drag and drop out of foobar, Want to use foobar as a database frontend
Der_Iltis
post Nov 2 2012, 16:34
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 9-August 03
Member No.: 8270



Dear community,

I'm wondering if there is the possibility to use foobar not as an audio player, but its powerful database abilities. I have a huge collection of music (>300000 songs) and I am using mixxx for DJing with Mp3s.
foobar is great both for organizing my music collection, especially auutomatically add replaygain and bpm and so on. But foobars advanced search script is also very useful to search for some nice song that matches the bpm/genre/year.

And here's what I miss: Every time I found a song, i cannot drag and drop it out of foobar into mixxx (or any other application). I could either copy the entire file path, or I can use the "open containinjg folder" feature. Is there a 3rd party component, that can do this more efficient?

Thanks a lot (and excuse my poor english)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Nov 2 2012, 17:01
Post #2





Group: Developer
Posts: 3206
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



I can drag-n-drop from fb2k playlist to Winamp.
ver. 1.1.16.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bulletproof2k
post Nov 2 2012, 17:07
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 15-January 11
From: Russia
Member No.: 87344



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Nov 2 2012, 20:01) *
I can drag-n-drop from fb2k playlist to Winamp.
ver. 1.1.16.
with iTunes it works too.


--------------------
♪ ♪ ♪ (((d[^_^]b))) ♪ ♪ ♪
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bulletproof2k
post Nov 2 2012, 17:12
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 15-January 11
From: Russia
Member No.: 87344



You can drag from the "library tree".


--------------------
♪ ♪ ♪ (((d[^_^]b))) ♪ ♪ ♪
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Der_Iltis
post Nov 2 2012, 17:12
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 9-August 03
Member No.: 8270



Really? I will have to test it today...

Well, what makes my problem a little bit more complicated is that I run foobar under Linux with Wine. So maybe the disfunctionality is due to the use of wine, not foobar. This would also make sense, because the file handling is somehow changed within wine, so the foobar filename is not the "true" filename...

Maybe I could use a command line plugin... Hm... I will think about it...

First of all: Thank you very much...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ojdo
post Nov 2 2012, 17:44
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 894
Joined: 18-June 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 31980



"Command line plugin" = foo_run. It allows you to run a custom commad from the context menu. It supports full title formatting, so something like "mixx --add %path%" or might work.


--------------------
http://freemusi.cc/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2014 - 20:49