IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Autoselect highest quality file?, [Support is not for how-to questions]
Immortaly007
post Jan 22 2013, 18:27
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 19-October 07
Member No.: 47983



Let me explain my problem: I have quite some songs in both MP3 and FLAC format. Ofcourse when I play from my computer I want to play the flac files (even though the MP3 for the same song is also on my disk), but I need the MP3 files to stream them to my tablet/play on my mp3 player etc.
I would like foobar2000 to automatically select the flac file for the songs that I have in flac format and choose whatever's available for the rest of my library. Is there a component/feature in foobar2000 that can do this for me?

edit: is this possible with "foo_skip" setting a query like "If a file exists in the FLAC format and this file is not in FLAC format, skip this file"? Or maybe there is some plugin that can filter the library using the same kind of query.

This post has been edited by Immortaly007: Jan 22 2013, 18:29
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Erich_2
post Jan 22 2013, 19:21
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 239
Joined: 10-September 08
Member No.: 58107



QUOTE (Immortaly007 @ Jan 22 2013, 18:27) *
...
I would like foobar2000 to automatically select the flac file for the songs that I have in flac format and choose whatever's available for the rest of my library. Is there a component/feature in foobar2000 that can do this for me?

Autoplaylist with: "$info(encoding)" IS lossless
or Autoplaylist with: NOT %codec% IS MP3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Immortaly007
post Jan 22 2013, 20:21
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 19-October 07
Member No.: 47983



QUOTE (Erich_2 @ Jan 22 2013, 19:21) *
QUOTE (Immortaly007 @ Jan 22 2013, 18:27) *
...
I would like foobar2000 to automatically select the flac file for the songs that I have in flac format and choose whatever's available for the rest of my library. Is there a component/feature in foobar2000 that can do this for me?

Autoplaylist with: "$info(encoding)" IS lossless
or Autoplaylist with: NOT %codec% IS MP3

I can't seem to find this feature in foobar 2000 v1.2.2. I also believe that this feature won't do all I need. Will autoplaylist make it possible to just drag an album from my media library to a playlist and then not have it select/play the files that are in MP3 format, exept if I have no flac version of that song?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Midiman
post Jan 22 2013, 22:32
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 6-April 12
Member No.: 98463



This problem can be solved by library management. Example:

- path to my FLAC library is D:\Media\FLAC\...
- path to my duplicated MP3 is D:\Media\MP3\...
- path to my unique MP3, M4A etc (those with no FLAC copies ie bought on iTunes/eMusic etc) is D:\Media\Other\...

All I do is NOT add D:\Media\MP3 to the library - I just add the other 2 paths. The other advantage of this approach is that there should be an exact 1-to-1 correspondence with the files in \FLAC and \MP3 - so if there is not, you have forgotten to convert some FLAC to MP3.


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Immortaly007
post Jan 24 2013, 00:30
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 19-October 07
Member No.: 47983



I have now followed Midiman's suggestion and after placing all folders in de correct folder(Flac, Normal, Duplicates) it now works great smile.gif Thanks for the help!
I might write a batch script that fixes this later.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EpicForever
post Mar 23 2013, 17:05
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 651
Joined: 14-September 11
From: Szczecin, PL
Member No.: 93712



Description of my solution, based on tags and additional component (foo_skip) :

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....st&p=828280
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Mar 23 2013, 17:16
Post #7





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (Immortaly007 @ Jan 22 2013, 17:27) *
I have quite some songs in both MP3 and FLAC format. [Ö] I would like foobar2000 to automatically select the flac file for the songs that I have in flac format and choose whatever's available for the rest of my library. Is there a component/feature in foobar2000 that can do this for me? [Ö] maybe there is some plugin that can filter the library using the same kind of query.
Try the recently released foo_bestversion. I havenít seen any feedback on it, so Iím sure the author would appreciate it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Mar 23 2013, 19:22
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4326
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



^the OP hasn't been since january. it looks like EpicForever just randomly bumped the thread. besides the OP has already followed what i think is better advice. transcodes from your own lossless files should never be monitored as part of your main library. why would anyone do this? all my lossless>lossy files go straight on my portable. i'd rather re-encode should the need arise rather than store any on my pc.

if that component can help people tidy up their collection by finding duplicates then that is a good thing.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EpicForever
post Mar 23 2013, 19:57
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 651
Joined: 14-September 11
From: Szczecin, PL
Member No.: 93712



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Mar 23 2013, 19:22) *
transcodes from your own lossless files should never be monitored as part of your main library.

You sound like there was technical reason for not doing this - file system issues, stability issues, resources issues or whatever. There are no reasons not to do this. This is just personal choice. My is based on my vision of my library and playlist contents smile.gif. Your vision is just different smile.gif

QUOTE (marc2003 @ Mar 23 2013, 19:22) *
transcodes (...) main library. why would anyone do this?

Why? Because I simply want to have every music file from my PC available in my library. Not exactly for purposes of listening to it on PC, but just to easily find it via Search option and maybe export to some portable device? Other thing is that I like my folders structure and definitely don't want to change it. That's why I found my own workaround smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Mar 23 2013, 20:11
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 4326
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



i suppose in the case of having multiple portable devices it might be an idea to keep copies on the PC. i hadn't considered that, only owning the one device. i still wouldn't monitor it as part of my foobar library though.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 18:12