IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Time Remain for VBR files
BuckI
post Dec 9 2003, 16:47
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 6-December 03
Member No.: 10223



Hey all,
I started to rip my CD collection using I EAC v 0.9 beta 4 with and lame 3.90.2 using alt-preset standard. The first 10 CD's I ripped, the mp3's play fine in winamp.

I started ripping again a few days later and may have tweaked some settings, but they all look the same as the first time I ripped. The difference is some of the files 10%? do not show the corrrect time remaining in winamp. They act all crazy and change constantly as the song plays. The quality sounds fine, but Winamp doesnt seem to like some of these "new" MP3's.

Any ideas on what is going on?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Linkin
post Dec 9 2003, 17:12
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 257
Joined: 9-May 02
From: Germany
Member No.: 2009



humm...doublepost?

what winamp version do you use?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BuckI
post Dec 9 2003, 17:41
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 6-December 03
Member No.: 10223



I dont think I doubleposted, I think it was moved from general to the MP3 forum. Anyway, I am using Winamp 2.80. I am really worried about this problem if I use these MP3's to DJ with. They make Professional DJ CD players that can read VBR MP3, but without an accurate remain time, you don' t know how much time you have to prepare for your next song.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Linkin
post Dec 9 2003, 18:05
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 257
Joined: 9-May 02
From: Germany
Member No.: 2009



i would suggest you try updating your winamp to 2.81 or 2.95 or 5 rc iirc there was once a bug in winamp, that calculated display time for lame vbr mp3 files wrong.

or maybe the header of your mp3s is broken, try foobar with fix mp3 header if updating winamp doesn't work.

maybe you can also try mad mp3 decoder for winamp.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BuckI
post Dec 9 2003, 18:17
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 6-December 03
Member No.: 10223



I will def try all those solutions, but I am wondering if there is an option in EAC that will cause the VBR MP3 to be different. My first 10 rips were all fine, no problems reading time in Winamp. Now using the same program with the same computer a day later some of the files dont show the correct time.

I piled up alot of compression tasks for the lame.exe, like about 90 at one point, since I can rip to WAV faster than my computer can convert MP3. Could that have something to do with it? I continued to work on the comp while lame worked in the background, could that corrupt some of the MP3 files?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
getID3()
post Dec 9 2003, 21:39
Post #6


getID3() developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 252
Joined: 20-September 02
From: Kingston, ON
Member No.: 3413



If you accidentally disabled the writing of the LAME tag (using the -t command line option) that would prevent winamp from displaying the correct time remaining. Not sure if that's your problem, but it's a possibility.


--------------------
getID3() = PHP audio & video metadata parser: http://getid3.sourceforge.net
Current version: v1.7.0 (released January 19, 2004)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd April 2014 - 19:50