IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Nero AAC Recommended Settings, Discussion
BinaryTB
post May 22 2006, 18:59
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 7-July 05
From: Boston, MA
Member No.: 23188



I read/searched, but couldn't find an answer. But was there ever a consensus on what to arguments to use with the command-line encoder for iPod compatibility AND to keep the file size low?

e.g.
-lc forces LC, but has a higher bitrate
leaving out -lc keeps the bitrate much lower, but may or may not be an LC AAC file

Strange enough, both files at Q0.5, but bitrates varying a lot.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post May 22 2006, 19:01
Post #52


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4853
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



Just use -lc and tweak the -q setting until you get the kind of bitrate you like.

The bitrate only increases because the quality scale has a different base. The encoder doesn't suddenly get less efficient or anything.

This post has been edited by Garf: May 22 2006, 19:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Maurits
post May 22 2006, 19:55
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 353
Joined: 30-September 05
From: London, Europe
Member No.: 24805



What is meant by iPod compatibility? Just to force LC profile I suppose? There are no compatibility issues are there?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BinaryTB
post May 22 2006, 20:04
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 7-July 05
From: Boston, MA
Member No.: 23188



QUOTE (Garf @ May 22 2006, 14:01) *
The bitrate only increases because the quality scale has a different base.

I don't understand what that means exactly, but just to clarify, Q0.5 with and without -lc should sound the same, but the bitrates would just vary?

QUOTE (Maurits @ May 22 2006, 14:55) *
What is meant by iPod compatibility? Just to force LC profile I suppose? There are no compatibility issues are there?

Yup, I think iPods only do LC right now.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post May 22 2006, 20:11
Post #55


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4853
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (Spooon69 @ May 22 2006, 21:04) *
QUOTE (Garf @ May 22 2006, 14:01) *

The bitrate only increases because the quality scale has a different base.

I don't understand what that means exactly, but just to clarify, Q0.5 with and without -lc should sound the same, but the bitrates would just vary?


No. When you force -lc, the quality scale shifts, and Q0.5 doesn't have the same meaning as without -lc.

Basically, -q0.5 means "encode at some constant quality level". But when you force the encoder to LC mode, "-lc -q0.5" means "encode at some other constant quality level". The reasons for this are explained at length in other threads here.


As I stated already in my first answer, just lower the -q setting till you get the bitrates you want again.

This post has been edited by Garf: May 22 2006, 20:21
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rudefyet
post Jun 19 2006, 07:40
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 229
Joined: 29-December 03
From: Columbus, Ohio
Member No.: 10785



so what would the best setting for ~128kbps be?

I would assume 0.4, but foobar2000 has 0.41 = ~130kbps, so I'm a tad uncertain
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Jun 19 2006, 07:45
Post #57


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4853
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



QUOTE (rudefyet @ Jun 19 2006, 08:40) *
so what would the best setting for ~128kbps be?

I would assume 0.4, but foobar2000 has 0.41 = ~130kbps, so I'm a tad uncertain


If you want 128kbps, use "-br 128000". VBR never guarantees a given bitrate.

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=44310
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jebus
post Jul 11 2006, 22:02
Post #58





Group: Developer
Posts: 1289
Joined: 17-March 03
From: Calgary, AB
Member No.: 5541



So just to clarify, using -q 0.5 without -lc will still be perfectly iPod compatible, because (at least right now) 0.5 is not using HE anyhow, correct?

And if I want to find the equivalent with -lc enabled, all I need to do is find a -q setting that gives the same bitrate on the same file, and it should be of identical quality to the -q 0.5 file without -lc? Nothing else will be going on there? Different lowpass for example?

I think this is a confusing design decision, while I understand the reasoning.

This post has been edited by Jebus: Jul 11 2006, 22:16
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TheQat
post Jul 13 2006, 23:09
Post #59





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 20-October 02
Member No.: 3579



I'm using this command line with EAC:

CODE
/c e:\nero_digital_audio\win32\neroaacenc.exe -q 0.5 -if %s -of %d && e:\nero_digital_audio\Neroaactag.exe %d -meta:artist="%a" -meta:album="%g" -meta:track="%n" -meta:title="%t" -meta:genre="%m" -meta:year="%y"


and it is producing m4a files that give the error:

CODE
Could not load info (Unsupported format or corrupted file (moov box not found)) from:
"E:\Documents and Settings\Benjamin Miller\My Documents\My Music\iTunes\glassjaw\Glassjaw  - Mu Empire.m4a"


when I attempt to add them to my foobar playlist. I have no idea what to do about this problem.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I can provide the specs of my computer if needed.

This post has been edited by TheQat: Jul 13 2006, 23:10
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
audioffile
post Dec 20 2007, 02:36
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 20-November 07
Member No.: 48905



There is a link to this thread in the HA wiki. I am wondering if that link shouldn't point to the sticky instead of this thread. unsure.gif

Also, all the wiki pages on AAC are all locked for editing. I'm a total noob to the wiki huh.gif but i thought the whole idea was that anyone could edit/contribute. What's the deal? ermm.gif

Sorry if this isn't the place for this post, but I'm not sure where else to ask this question.

EDIT: Figured it out on my own (found the wiki forum) sorry for the post in the wrong place. lalala.gif

This post has been edited by audioffile: Dec 20 2007, 04:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
arfken
post Jan 4 2008, 19:34
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 2-January 08
Member No.: 50086



QUOTE (TheQat @ Jul 13 2006, 16:09) *
I'm using this command line with EAC:

CODE
/c e:\nero_digital_audio\win32\neroaacenc.exe -q 0.5 -if %s -of %d && e:\nero_digital_audio\Neroaactag.exe %d -meta:artist="%a" -meta:album="%g" -meta:track="%n" -meta:title="%t" -meta:genre="%m" -meta:year="%y"


and it is producing m4a files that give the error:

CODE
Could not load info (Unsupported format or corrupted file (moov box not found)) from:
"E:\Documents and Settings\Benjamin Miller\My Documents\My Music\iTunes\glassjaw\Glassjaw  - Mu Empire.m4a"


when I attempt to add them to my foobar playlist. I have no idea what to do about this problem.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I can provide the specs of my computer if needed.


I know that this post is old, but I was having precisely the same problem when I encoded using the latest Nero AAC encoder, and I seem to have found what the problem was. I am using the command line from the sticky-thread about recommended Nero AAC settings, but I kept getting this "moov box not found" error over and over again. iTunes just refused to play it, and Quicktime said it was a format that it did not understand. The problem was that I had the "Add ID3 tag" option in EAC checked by accident, and unchecking it and redoing the rip/encode fixed the problem. I have searched for quite a while on HA and on Google, but nobody seemed to post a solution, so to anybody out there experiencing it, just something to try. cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
audioffile
post Jan 6 2008, 00:43
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 20-November 07
Member No.: 48905



QUOTE
CODE
Approx. average bitrate <-> Quality table

Bitrate          Quality
~15                 0.05    
~32                 0.15
~63                 0.25
~99                 0.35
~146                0.45
~197                0.55
~248                0.65
~299                0.75
~350                0.85
~401                0.95


For stereo, right? Multichannel would be higher?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Synaptic Line No...
post May 20 2013, 14:31
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 19-May 05
Member No.: 22137



The command line options in the sticky are incorrect. It should be %source% and %dest%. You can mouse over the input field in EAC to show the new options.

The new options are here:

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?ti...ression_Options

This post has been edited by Synaptic Line Noise: May 20 2013, 14:32
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post May 20 2013, 14:46
Post #64





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



It might be easier to consult my table specifically documenting placeholders and comparing them between versions of EAC:
http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?ti...AC_placeholders
I could edit the OP, but so could Garf, and I think it best to leave it to him.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 10:50