IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Converting MP3 2Channel to AC3 5.1 Channel, Can ne one put Guide + Softwares Req.
TechnoMania
post Sep 21 2004, 13:18
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 8-August 04
From: India
Member No.: 16106



Hi All

I have heard that it's possible to convert MP3 to AC3 5.1 although
orignal AC3 sounds totally diffrent but still you should also explore other possible ways.

Can someone post the a Simple Method for
Converting MP3 to AC3 5.1 and the list of softwares required for it.

Or Some links where this is given in detail.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tas
post Sep 21 2004, 15:34
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 24-August 04
Member No.: 16485



Seems all versions of programs got a little bit messed up. I tried to find out the latest versions.
Sadly the thread from KpeX and his Website isn't updated since 2003. So a comprehensive overview is missing. You've to go through the posts yourself.

Method 1: Easier steps, also covers direct Exact Audio Copy to AC3 encoding!

UpmiX: tool to automate stereo to 5.1 conversion
www.Doom9.org
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?thre...20&pagenumber=1

Software needed: (links also in the Forum posts)
http://www.freewebs.com/kpex/UpmiXv0.71.zip
http://users.masternap.org/gircobain/UpMixGUI012.zip
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/sox/sox12175.zip

For EAC to AC3 look up forum post and this link!
http://www.freewebs.com/kpex/EncodeAC3v0.50.zip
better use Upmix from above!

Method 2: Better Quality
http://www.dtsac3forum.digitalzones.com/SAD51Bidule.htm

For your information:
99% Complete List of Stereo to Surround Methods
(http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?threadid=79774)


Have fun,
TAS


--------------------
video: http://www.doom9.org / codecs: http://www.rarewares.org
general: http://mp3.radified.com / EAC: http://www.saunalahti.fi/cse/EAC/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sergelac
post Sep 21 2004, 16:03
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 19-November 03
From: Québec
Member No.: 9923



you can use "Dolby Pro Logic 2" or "CLMEI"

Software needed :
- GraphEdit
- Cyberlink Audio Effect (claudfx.ax) (PowerDVD 5)
- WAV Dest (WAVDEST.AX)


in GraphEdit :

File / Render Media File

remove "Default DirectSound Device"

Add :
Cyberlink Audio Effect
WAV Dest
File writer

right-click on "Cyberlink Audio Effect"
Filter Properties
select "Using 6 Speakers"



or you can use "matrix-mixer" : http://sourceforge.net/projects/matrix-mixer

This post has been edited by sergelac: Sep 21 2004, 16:08


--------------------
Worms Armageddon Maps & Schemes : http://sergelac.cjb.cc/maps/maps.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TechnoMania
post Sep 21 2004, 18:11
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 8-August 04
From: India
Member No.: 16106



Hey guys thanks a lot for putting ur hard efforts for helping me out in my problem.

I am going thru the various solution over here.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
KpeX
post Sep 21 2004, 18:30
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 5-December 03
Member No.: 10214



Hi tas and Technomania,

I haven't updated the freewebs site in some time, because I haven't been using it. UpmiX v0.71 is still the latest version - the only reason there haven't been updates is because the script does everything I want it to and I haven't heard of any bugs or requests. I strongly recommend giving UpmiX GUI a try, is is a fully independent software and shouldn't require the original Upmix.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TechnoMania
post Sep 21 2004, 18:51
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 8-August 04
From: India
Member No.: 16106



Hi Kpex

I am trying to configure it but i am still unsuccessful.

Can u just help me out buddy.

All i want is Mp3 as input .ac3 5.1 as output.

Well i have downloaded
1.>EncodeAC3v0.50.zip
2.>UpmiXv0.71
3.>sox12174.zip cud not get sox12175.zip
4.>UpMixGUI012

Can u just tell me how do i actually place all this softwares the GUI also
asks me about other softwares.

Please help me on all the Required softwares so that i cud prove the MP3file as
input.

I am not able to configure it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tas
post Sep 21 2004, 19:51
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 24-August 04
Member No.: 16485



QUOTE (TechnoMania @ Sep 21 2004, 06:51 PM)
Hi Kpex

I am trying to configure it but i am still unsuccessful.
Can u just help me out buddy.
All i want is Mp3 as input .ac3 5.1 as output.
*



??
I beg you just read and study and do a little work for yourself!
Nevertheless I don't understand what the problem is:
I recommend using UpMixGUI because it supports long filenames and deep directories.

http://dspguru.doom9.org
download newest besweet beta and ac3enc.dll as well if its not included in the besweet package.

1. unpack and put UpmixGUI, SOX and besweet in one directory.
2. Start UpMixGUI and configure the Paths (double click on paths)
3. select File or directory to convert

MP3 is supported so you don't no need to transcode to WAV first.
For DVD authoring with AC3 you need to convert to 48KHz.

That wasn't too complicated - was it?
To rip and upmix a CD directly to AC3 Dolby Digital 5.1 you need EAC.

regards, TAS.

This post has been edited by tas: Sep 21 2004, 19:52


--------------------
video: http://www.doom9.org / codecs: http://www.rarewares.org
general: http://mp3.radified.com / EAC: http://www.saunalahti.fi/cse/EAC/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TechnoMania
post Sep 21 2004, 20:22
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 8-August 04
From: India
Member No.: 16106



Well i am able to covert it now but still wating for the file to be converted.

thanks.

well i wud like to know that what is the quality of this type of upmixing is it
really matching the 5.1 standard.

i mean is it same as orignal 5.1 recorded or even near it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
KpeX
post Sep 21 2004, 20:35
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 5-December 03
Member No.: 10214



QUOTE (TechnoMania @ Sep 21 2004, 11:22 AM)
Well i am able to covert it now but still wating for the file to be converted.

thanks.

well i wud like to know that what is the quality of this type of upmixing is it
really matching the 5.1 standard.

i mean is it same as orignal 5.1 recorded or even near it.
*
huh.gif
There is no original 5.1, if you're encoding from an MP3. Unless I'm misunderstanding you the source is stereo.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tas
post Sep 21 2004, 21:08
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 24-August 04
Member No.: 16485



Not to mention the quality loss of transcoding from such a lossy source.

I suggest you study some basic audio stuff first.
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&t...8300#post424063

You get a 5.1 Dolby Digital track. That doesn't include you get a brilliant recording.


--------------------
video: http://www.doom9.org / codecs: http://www.rarewares.org
general: http://mp3.radified.com / EAC: http://www.saunalahti.fi/cse/EAC/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TechnoMania
post Sep 21 2004, 21:27
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 8-August 04
From: India
Member No.: 16106



I know its not orignal ac3 as the source is mp3 2 channel.

but does in this ac3 audio that is encoded from mp3 the dialogues come from center channel.

and rest all music effects from l and r channel.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
KpeX
post Sep 21 2004, 21:55
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 5-December 03
Member No.: 10214



QUOTE (TechnoMania @ Sep 21 2004, 12:27 PM)
I know its not orignal ac3 as the source is mp3 2 channel.

but does in this ac3 audio that is encoded from mp3 the dialogues come from center channel.

and rest all music effects from l and r channel.
*

Well, it depends on the audio source; the UpmiX method is a very, very basic transformation - aside from frequency and gain transformations, the front two speakers are the original two channels, as are the rear two channels, and the center channel is the addition of the original two. This method was designed for listening to music on a 5.1 system; if you're looking for a more advanced dialogue extraction do some searching on the doom9 audio forum.

This post has been edited by KpeX: Sep 21 2004, 21:55
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TechnoMania
post Sep 21 2004, 22:07
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 8-August 04
From: India
Member No.: 16106



sure i will do it
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 12:12