IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

21 Pages V  « < 13 14 15 16 17 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_dumb, experimental new modplugin, by Kode54
kode54
post Jan 13 2013, 00:09
Post #351





Group: Admin
Posts: 4504
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (Stefan1200 @ Jan 12 2013, 00:18) *
Thanks for this great plugin, it sounds good.

I have some MMD0 files (OctaMed) which can't be played with your plugin. Is it possible to see support for it some day? If you need an example file I can send you one.

Please do share.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordOfOrder
post Jan 13 2013, 07:08
Post #352





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81477



Hello, kode54!
Please tell me, are you planning to add support for the format MT2?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
deus-ex
post Jan 13 2013, 13:07
Post #353





Group: Members
Posts: 273
Joined: 9-September 04
From: Earth
Member No.: 16882



Current version 1.0.1, released on 2013-01-13. tongue.gif *congratulations*


--------------------
Best regards
deus-ex (MODLAND admin: ftp://modland.ziphoid.com)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordOfOrder
post Jan 14 2013, 05:13
Post #354





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81477



And another question: how to disable write tags in a database, that was the old way: writing to a file?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 14 2013, 08:49
Post #355





Group: Admin
Posts: 4504
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (LordOfOrder @ Jan 12 2013, 22:08) *
Hello, kode54!
Please tell me, are you planning to add support for the format MT2?

Oh joy, it looks like a superset of Impulse Tracker, supporting things like synthesizer and effect plug-ins. Isn't there already a replayer for the format?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordOfOrder
post Jan 14 2013, 10:09
Post #356





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81477



It is inconvenient to use third-party players (modplug a player). I thought if it is possible... smile.gif Whether there will be an opportunity to return record of tags to the file?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
deus-ex
post Jan 14 2013, 12:16
Post #357





Group: Members
Posts: 273
Joined: 9-September 04
From: Earth
Member No.: 16882



QUOTE (kode54 @ Jan 14 2013, 08:49) *
Isn't there already a replayer for the format?

Yes there is, then again there was. Mudlord once assembled a plugin based on the ModPlug sources which includes support for the MT2 format, though he didn't pursue this idea any further and the plugin vanished...
...so they thought. wink.gif <- hidden link?


--------------------
Best regards
deus-ex (MODLAND admin: ftp://modland.ziphoid.com)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 14 2013, 18:41
Post #358





Group: Admin
Posts: 4504
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (LordOfOrder @ Jan 14 2013, 01:09) *
It is inconvenient to use third-party players (modplug a player). I thought if it is possible... smile.gif

QUOTE (deus-ex @ Jan 14 2013, 03:16) *
QUOTE (kode54 @ Jan 14 2013, 08:49) *
Isn't there already a replayer for the format?

Yes there is, then again there was. Mudlord once assembled a plugin based on the ModPlug sources which includes support for the MT2 format, though he didn't pursue this idea any further and the plugin vanished...
...so they thought. wink.gif <- hidden link?

That doesn't sound like it supports the full feature set of the MT2 format. That sounds like it just supports the feature set which is compatible with an Impulse Tracker 2 player.

QUOTE (LordOfOrder @ Jan 14 2013, 01:09) *
Whether there will be an opportunity to return record of tags to the file?

You do know that I wasn't actually modifying the original modules' info fields, but simply appending an APEv2 tag with the changes, right?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LordOfOrder
post Jan 15 2013, 03:31
Post #359





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81477



Yes, I know. Now I form and I sort a collection of the chiptunes of music, and it was very convenient earlier - wrote down the APEv2 tag, and on other computer, at other person, when playing through foobar2000 tags will be visible, and now at me tags constantly vanish, especially if to reinstall foobar2000, and also already it is impossible to archive a collection and to transfer to other computer - tags are lost: (
I liked an old method therefore I ask a tick that it was possible to switch over to old option rolleyes.gif .
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 15 2013, 20:03
Post #360





Group: Admin
Posts: 4504
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



For now, you can try keeping the tag database synchronized between systems. It is in the configuration folder, inside index-data, named A0E37853-491D-4659-A509-F409BE0A9BF4.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zageron
post Jan 17 2013, 22:58
Post #361





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 27-August 10
Member No.: 83420



I cannot get the following songs to play back correctly in foo_dumb. They playback just fine in Milky.
Unsure how to fix, or what the problem is.

Thank you! smile.gif

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/43458843/Best_Friends_Forever.rar

This post has been edited by Zageron: Jan 17 2013, 22:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 18 2013, 01:35
Post #362





Group: Admin
Posts: 4504
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (Zageron @ Jan 17 2013, 13:58) *

Fixed. Several of the instruments have envelope nodes which have values greater than the limit of 64. I now mimic the behavior of Fast Tracker 2, which is to clamp them to 64, rather than throwing an error.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zageron
post Jan 18 2013, 02:12
Post #363





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 27-August 10
Member No.: 83420



QUOTE (kode54 @ Jan 17 2013, 16:35) *
QUOTE (Zageron @ Jan 17 2013, 13:58) *

Fixed. Several of the instruments have envelope nodes which have values greater than the limit of 64. I now mimic the behavior of Fast Tracker 2, which is to clamp them to 64, rather than throwing an error.


Woah, fast fix. biggrin.gif
However,
QUOTE
Unrecoverable playback error: Not enough storage is available to complete this operation. (0x8007000E)


http://www.zageron.com/img/20130118011319317.png

This post has been edited by Zageron: Jan 18 2013, 02:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 18 2013, 02:32
Post #364





Group: Admin
Posts: 4504
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



My component would not be throwing Win32 error codes. Try reconfiguring your output device, or if you're playing the files from a Windows share, try verifying that you can still read the files elsewhere.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zageron
post Jan 18 2013, 02:35
Post #365





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 27-August 10
Member No.: 83420



Yes, my apologies. I logged out / in and it worked just fine.

Thank you for the fix!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CJ Flash
post Jan 18 2013, 15:27
Post #366





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 11-September 06
From: Cherepovets
Member No.: 35068



kode54
Hi, foobar2k is processing this IT-mod endlessly (CPU time ~50%). Could you fix it, if possible?
QUOTE
foo_dumb.dll (2013-01-18 14:05:46 UTC) DUMB module decoder 1.0.4


--------------------
The past was yesterday...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
deus-ex
post Jan 22 2013, 19:54
Post #367





Group: Members
Posts: 273
Joined: 9-September 04
From: Earth
Member No.: 16882



I found another module which is replayed incorrectly: orange.ft (Fasttracker 8ch). It used to play fine previously, I don't know with which version of foo_dumb it broke.


--------------------
Best regards
deus-ex (MODLAND admin: ftp://modland.ziphoid.com)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CJ Flash
post Jan 22 2013, 21:19
Post #368





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 11-September 06
From: Cherepovets
Member No.: 35068



QUOTE
foo_dumb.dll (2013-01-22 20:11:26 UTC) DUMB module decoder 1.0.5
- Fixed a serious error in the IT reader's MPT extension parser

Everything's ok now, thanks smile.gif


--------------------
The past was yesterday...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 23 2013, 04:06
Post #369





Group: Admin
Posts: 4504
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (deus-ex @ Jan 22 2013, 10:54) *
I found another module which is replayed incorrectly: orange.ft (Fasttracker 8ch). It used to play fine previously, I don't know with which version of foo_dumb it broke.


Disable the playptmod mode, it wasn't really designed with FastTracker MODs in mind, but I may fix that issue if I can figure out what it is.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 25 2013, 02:11
Post #370





Group: Admin
Posts: 4504
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I posted a workaround in my playptmod fork, which is unlikely to fix that module, and probably has nothing to do with what that module was doing. It works around another suspicious module, which even acts strangely in the original playptmod, but due to how my version is different, this issue would cause a complete lockup in the mixer loop.

Aha, apparently, it's related to using a high base pitch, and there being no period clamping on the vibrato code. Verified that original Protracker has no clamping on the vibrato either. I'm leaving this workaround in, as muting notes which have the equivalent of INF pitch is better than the player locking up completely.

Also, this issue didn't exist in the original playptmod, because it mixed samples differently, and INF pitch (effective period of 0 or less, which causes it to set the channel rate to 0) would likely only cause it to emit the same sample over and over for that channel, instead of locking up trying to write an infinite number of sinc pulses to the mixer buffer.

Hmm, original author has decided to add clamping, so I'll just duplicate that. Likely fixes it, but workaround stays just in case funny things happen in the future.

EDIT: Okay, the workaround didn't fix a further attempt to make it crash, but the current version fixes it now with clamping.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
deus-ex
post Jan 28 2013, 13:00
Post #371





Group: Members
Posts: 273
Joined: 9-September 04
From: Earth
Member No.: 16882



QUOTE (kode54 @ Jan 25 2013, 02:11) *
I posted a workaround in my playptmod fork, which is unlikely to fix that module, and probably has nothing to do with what that module was doing.

Yes, latest release of foo_dumb didn't fix playback for orange.mod (8 chn), so I disabled playptmod as per your suggestion and the issue is gone.

Here's something I found to be disturbing for quite a while but never came around to mention it. I find the playback of .psm modules to be inaccurate regarding the volume in certain cases. This is most noticable at the beginning of below listed modules where the volume of certain channels appear to be too low, almost silent.

Jazz Jackrabbit - Battleships
Jazz Jackrabbit - Tubelectric
Jazz Jackrabbit - Industrius
Jazz Jackrabbit - Lagunicus


--------------------
Best regards
deus-ex (MODLAND admin: ftp://modland.ziphoid.com)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 29 2013, 05:05
Post #372





Group: Admin
Posts: 4504
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Seems to have something to do with the use of surround for channels. Would you suggest I reimplement surround altogether to apply a little phase offset to the phase inversion, or even implement it to output an actual rear channel so users can downmix their modules themselves?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
deus-ex
post Jan 29 2013, 13:19
Post #373





Group: Members
Posts: 273
Joined: 9-September 04
From: Earth
Member No.: 16882



QUOTE (kode54 @ Jan 29 2013, 05:05) *
Seems to have something to do with the use of surround for channels. Would you suggest I reimplement surround altogether to apply a little phase offset to the phase inversion, or even implement it to output an actual rear channel so users can downmix their modules themselves?

Tracker modules utilizing surround channel configuration are rather uncommon. At least actually I can't name any making use of it (more so any which does require surround channel playback for accurate recreation). Having said that you understand I hardly can give you a profound suggestion on which of the both options you offer to pursue. I didn't know that .psm modules support and actually make use of a surround channel setup.


--------------------
Best regards
deus-ex (MODLAND admin: ftp://modland.ziphoid.com)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jan 31 2013, 01:34
Post #374





Group: Admin
Posts: 4504
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



They make use of the surround effect, which is commonly implemented in stereo module players by playing the sample exactly centered, but one channel phase inverted. This kills the bass signal fed to a subwoofer if phase inversion isn't accounted for somehow, as the two channels will cancel each other out if they are simply added together.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gorkha
post Feb 9 2013, 17:48
Post #375





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 31-January 11
Member No.: 87800



This old amiga module: Endtheme sounds wrong. The bass sounds like it plays extra notes or double, lacking a better way to describe it.
I renamed it to a .mod extension to get it playing.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

21 Pages V  « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd April 2014 - 12:05