IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Wanted: FLAC eksperts; Command lines for framerate/bitres?!
-Aze-
post Jan 22 2013, 21:23
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 13
Member No.: 106112



Hi guys.

First of all thank you for this great forum. I have found a lot of great info in here.

Now I'm stocked with a question that I just CAN'T find the answer for.

I have a DVD-Audio disc containing 3 demo/test songs, stored in 1 single "AOB"-file (DVD-Audio). It is in PCM 96kHz, 24 bit, 5.1ch.
As I would like to do some listening tests, I'm converting it to various file-formats including FLAC.

I'm using a very basic program called "DVD-Audio Explorer 2008" which can load the DVD-A structure (through the IFO of the DVD-folder), and "extract" the specific tracks from out of the complete .aob-file.
By design the program stores the extracted files as PCM wave, but using a command line for external encoder, I can can load the FLAC.exe, extracting directly to FLAC-files.
It works perfect, but as it is a very basic program, there's no option for changing the framerate, and bit-depth. Only option is for "stereo downmix", which works very well though.

Anyway, what I need is a command line that can "tell" the FLAC encoder, to convert the file to 16bit instead of 24bit, and 48kHz instead of 96kHz.
I have been searching through 100 different sites, trying many different (homemade) command lines, but no luck at all. I just CAN'T fint the correct command, for these changes. The FLAC FAQ doesn't says anything I can use, or if so I'm just blind to it?!

Can some of you guys help me out? It would make my day, really.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
julf
post Jan 22 2013, 21:31
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 14-January 12
Member No.: 96426



What you need is SoX
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jan 22 2013, 21:37
Post #3





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5145
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



In other words, flac.exe itself cannot change sampling rate or bit-depth.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
-Aze-
post Jan 22 2013, 21:46
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 13
Member No.: 106112



Wow...Such fast response. You guys are the best.

I just downloaded Sox, but I have no idea how to use it? How can I tell the "DVD Audio Explorer 2008" to use the Sox for the process? And where to add the command lines?

Really hope that you can clear it out for me, as I really don't know much about this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
phofman
post Jan 22 2013, 22:40
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 261
Joined: 14-February 12
Member No.: 97162



First, create the flac, e.g. high-resolution.flac

Second, open cmd.exe and run the sox command line:

path-to-sox\sox.exe -V high-resolution.flac -r 44100 -b 16 441-16.flac

And sox will convert your high-resolution.flac file to 44.1/16 file called 441-16.flac
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
-Aze-
post Jan 22 2013, 23:27
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 13
Member No.: 106112



Phofman: Thank you very much for the explanation.
I'm still not able to get it to work correctly.

The idea is to encode to FLAC 16/48(44.1) directly from the program "DVD-Audio Eplorer 2008". There's the "run command" line. Shall I clear this, adding the new "Sox-line" to it?
If I have to run the cmd.exe for each file, there's no idea in it, a this is the exact same than if just using any other converter. The idea is that it should be done directly from the program, using the command-line!
Do you get my point, or am I just crazy?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CoRoNe
post Jan 23 2013, 00:26
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 31-May 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 22417



I take it "DVD-Audio Explorer 2008" uses stdout (pipe):
sox.exe - -r 44100 -b 16 output.flac (sox uses max flac compression level by default).
or if you want to pipe yet to another encoder:
sox.exe - -r 44100 -b 16 -t wav - | encoder.exe - [options] output.ext


--------------------
DC-Bass Source Mod: http://reino.degeelebosch.nl
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
phofman
post Jan 23 2013, 08:19
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 261
Joined: 14-February 12
Member No.: 97162



QUOTE (-Aze- @ Jan 23 2013, 00:27) *
There's the "run command" line. Shall I clear this, adding the new "Sox-line" to it?


The manual http://501post.com/audio/db/from%20aaron/D...r%20Manual.html explains the command line substitutions you have to use in your command line in the DVD-AE settings. The rest is just trial and error to get it right smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
-Aze-
post Jan 23 2013, 22:47
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 13
Member No.: 106112



I'm really glad you guys are trying to help me...I'm a completely newbee in this field.

CoRoNe: I don't know what it means, if a program uses stdout (pipe)? Anyway I have added the sox.exe file to the folder where the FLAC.exe is also placed (in the DVD-AE bin folder), and added the command line "sox.exe - -r 44100 -b 16 output.flac".
I must be doing something completely wrong, as it not works still.

phofman: Great. I didn't even knew that there was a manual for it. I have been reading it, but still not sure what to add to the command-line field?

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CoRoNe
post Jan 23 2013, 22:58
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 31-May 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 22417



After quickly looking through that manual: replace the first dash with %filepath% and see if it works.

This post has been edited by CoRoNe: Jan 23 2013, 22:59


--------------------
DC-Bass Source Mod: http://reino.degeelebosch.nl
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
-Aze-
post Jan 27 2013, 12:38
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 13
Member No.: 106112



So sorry for the delay in my reply.

OK, I have tried everything now. None seems to work for me. I'm an idiot in this command-line thing.
No matter what I try, the result is still an 24/96 FLAC file.

I have made a stap-by-step picture series of the process I do. Hope you can tell me what I'm doing wrong:











Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CoRoNe
post Jan 27 2013, 13:07
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 31-May 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 22417



You need to specify sox.exe's location and replace the first dash (stdin) with %filepath%, according to the manual:

"D:\Storage\Media\Binaries\SoX 14.3.2\sox.exe" %filepath% -r 44100 -b 16 output.flac

Change the path to sox.exe accordingly and you're free to change the name of the flac-file of course. Don't forget quotation marks when your path contains spaces.


--------------------
DC-Bass Source Mod: http://reino.degeelebosch.nl
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
-Aze-
post Jan 27 2013, 13:38
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 13
Member No.: 106112



Ok, I just don't get it...Sorry.

Have tried everyting.

I have installed the Sox to the bin-folder of DVDAE.

Is this the right command line to ad:
"C:\Users\CARMOD\Downloads\DVDAExplorer2008.07.21\bin\sox-14-4-0\sox.exe" -r 44100 -b 16 output.flac

The path should be correct, but it seems that Sox does not run at all...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CoRoNe
post Jan 27 2013, 13:42
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 31-May 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 22417



%filepath% ?


--------------------
DC-Bass Source Mod: http://reino.degeelebosch.nl
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
-Aze-
post Jan 27 2013, 13:55
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 13
Member No.: 106112



I thought the filepath was the sox.exe location?

Is it the place where the wav that should be converted is stored?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CoRoNe
post Jan 27 2013, 13:59
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 31-May 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 22417



No, you forgot to put "%filepath%" in your command-line. See Post #12.


--------------------
DC-Bass Source Mod: http://reino.degeelebosch.nl
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
-Aze-
post Jan 27 2013, 14:23
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 13
Member No.: 106112



I have added this line: "C:\Users\CARMOD\Downloads\DVDAExplorer2008.07.21\bin\sox-14-4-0\sox.exe" %filepath% -r 44100 -b 16 output.flac

Isn't that correct? None the less, it doesn't do the trick:-(

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CoRoNe
post Jan 27 2013, 17:51
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 31-May 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 22417



I had never used this program before, and since you still couldn't get it to work, I decided to have a look myself.
- "[path]\sox.exe" %filepath% -r 44100 -b 16 output.flac didn't work.
- putting sox.exe in DVDAExplorer.exe's folder, as suggested by the manual, and: sox.exe %filepath% -r 44100 -b 16 output.flac didn't work.
- sox.exe %filepath% -r 44100 -b 16 %filebase%.flac didn't work.
- even flac.exe -8 %filepath% -o %filebase%.flac didn't work...

If you ask me, this whole features doesn't work!


--------------------
DC-Bass Source Mod: http://reino.degeelebosch.nl
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
phofman
post Jan 27 2013, 20:02
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 261
Joined: 14-February 12
Member No.: 97162



The manual at http://501post.com/audio/db/from%20aaron/D...r%20Manual.html talks about DVDAExplorerEnc.log. What is in that file?

In linux I would wrap the command into a short script, logging all its parameters to a file. The windows command shell should be able to do the same as the $@ expansion in bash.

Did you consider spaces in the path? Perhaps they are handled incorrectly. How about wrapping the %xxx% parameters into double quotes?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CoRoNe
post Jan 27 2013, 20:35
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 31-May 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 22417



You're right. DVDAExplorerEnc.log:
CODE
D:\Storage\Media\Binaries\SoX 14.3.2\sox.exe FAIL formats: can't open input file `files/Audio/track-01-01[1]-03-[Downmix]-24-96000.wav': No such file or directory
"`files/" is part of directory with spaces in it.

"D:\Storage\Media\Binaries\SoX 14.3.2\sox.exe" "%filepath%" -r 44100 -b 16 "%path%/%filebase%".flac solves that issue.
Right after extraction sox crashes though, but that could a problem of my old computer. It happens more often.

I know this is old software, but in the end...what the point of having this "Run program"-feature when it doesn't make use of piping and the program still extracts the huge wav-files?!


--------------------
DC-Bass Source Mod: http://reino.degeelebosch.nl
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
phofman
post Jan 28 2013, 10:21
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 261
Joined: 14-February 12
Member No.: 97162



QUOTE (CoRoNe @ Jan 27 2013, 21:35) *
I know this is old software, but in the end...what the point of having this "Run program"-feature when it doesn't make use of piping and the program still extracts the huge wav-files?!


IMO the existing solution is easier for the developer and makes the extension a bit more flexible. Piping is a blocking operation which the developer would have to take into account. Also, having a finished wav at the time of postprocessing could be useful for some tasks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
-Aze-
post Jan 28 2013, 22:45
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 22-January 13
Member No.: 106112



Thank you guys so much for trying to help me out. I really appreciate your support. None the less it seems that it is not possible, to do what I want, right?

If so, I will convert to wave, and using DB poweramp or similar, converting to the FLAC files. I preferred to have the single-program solution though, but if not possible, that's just the way it is...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 22:27