IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 >  
Closed TopicStart new topic
flac 1.3.0 pre-release
hidn
post Mar 17 2013, 13:16
Post #76





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 17-April 08
Member No.: 52847



anyway, slower and less compression than flaccl

This post has been edited by hidn: Mar 17 2013, 13:17
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Mar 17 2013, 13:58
Post #77





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2136
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



QUOTE (ktf @ Mar 14 2013, 21:49) *
Other news: The FLAC git has seen some changes on 2GB file limits on Windows. I didn't full understand the mailing list conversation, but apparently the limit was raised to 4GB and this can't be fixed until 1.3.1.


The fix has no such limits. Only API wasn't allowed to be changed, but that affects nothing but FLAC__metadata_simple_iterator_get_block_offset function. That means this function won't work if there's more than 2 GB worth of metadata. I have tested the modified code with 20 GB FLAC files without trouble.

Edit: I added experimental Unicode support to flac.exe last night. If anyone wants to experiment you can download this.

This post has been edited by Case: Mar 17 2013, 13:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ktf
post Mar 18 2013, 09:11
Post #78





Group: Members
Posts: 303
Joined: 22-March 09
Member No.: 68263



QUOTE (Case @ Mar 17 2013, 13:58) *
Edit: I added experimental Unicode support to flac.exe last night. If anyone wants to experiment you can download this.

Great stuff, can't wait to see it make it into git! Thanks!


--------------------
Music: sounds arranged such that they construct feelings.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Mar 18 2013, 15:31
Post #79





Group: Developer
Posts: 3208
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (Case @ Mar 17 2013, 16:58) *
Edit: I added experimental Unicode support to flac.exe last night. If anyone wants to experiment you can download this.

Does -o option work? Because when I use "flac -6 in.wav -o out.flac" it creates in.flac and outputs:

CODE
in.wav: wrote 21869264 bytes, ratio=0,731
ERROR: output file in.flac already exists, use -f to override
ERROR: output file in.flac already exists, use -f to override

If -f is added, it encodes the file three times.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Mar 18 2013, 20:17
Post #80





Group: Members
Posts: 1506
Joined: 3-January 05
From: Argentina, Bs As
Member No.: 18803



QUOTE (ktf @ Mar 13 2013, 10:57) *

So now new FLAC decoder decodes -8 preset faster than old decoder -0 preset.
Not bad.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Mar 18 2013, 23:00
Post #81





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (Case @ Mar 17 2013, 12:58) *
[coded support for files >2/4 GB and Unicode]
You’re on a roll here! biggrin.gif

Also, more speed-ups? Great, but as if it wasn’t far enough ahead of all the competition already. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by db1989: Mar 18 2013, 23:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Mar 19 2013, 20:56
Post #82





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2136
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Mar 18 2013, 16:31) *
Does -o option work? Because when I use "flac -6 in.wav -o out.flac" it creates in.flac and outputs:

CODE
in.wav: wrote 21869264 bytes, ratio=0,731
ERROR: output file in.flac already exists, use -f to override
ERROR: output file in.flac already exists, use -f to override

If -f is added, it encodes the file three times.


Thanks for testing. I had missed a couple of functions that took filenames. Appropriate fixes have been made and my own quick testing found no more problems.
I updated the archive with latest changes and added metaflac in too. It contains the same unicode and wildcard treatment.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Mar 19 2013, 23:27
Post #83





Group: Members
Posts: 1779
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



15 percent increase in decoding speed? It is hardly much compared to how CPU power has evolved over the years, but still cool in the 'just because one can' department. (After all, this is the yardstick I have been evaluating other codecs against; can it touch FLAC on both speed and compression simultaneously?)


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
birdie
post Apr 4 2013, 11:44
Post #84





Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 3-March 06
From: this planet
Member No.: 28235



I've compiled FLAC 1.3 pre3 with GCC 4.8 (vanilla) on i686 but it keeps crashing:

CODE
Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
(gdb) bt
#0  0x08078685 in FLAC__bitreader_read_rice_signed_block_asm_ia32_bswap.c0b0 ()
#1  0x00000000 in ?? ()


Compilation flags used are:
CODE
-O2/-O3 -pipe -march=native
(I've got an Intel Sandy Bridge CPU)
I configured it this way:
CODE
./configure --enable-sse  --disable-shared --enable-static
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
birdie
post Apr 4 2013, 11:52
Post #85





Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 3-March 06
From: this planet
Member No.: 28235



It also crashes when compiled with GCC 4.5.4 without "--enable-sse".

It also crashes when I used "-O2 -pipe".

OK, I give up, I've just compiled it with "-O0 -g" and it just doesn't work at all:

CODE
file.flac ERROR got FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_ERROR_STATUS_FRAME_CRC_MISMATCH while decoding FLAC input
file.flac ERROR: while decoding FLAC input, state = FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_SEARCH_FOR_FRAME_SYNC


I run flac this way:
CODE
./flac -f -8 -Ax2 --replay-gain -V *.flac


(This is how my files were originally compressed).

I even removed most flags:
CODE
./flac -f -V *.flac

The errors persist (STREAM_DECODER_ERROR).

Guys, is some magic required to compile the new FLAC? It seems totally broken.

This post has been edited by birdie: Apr 4 2013, 11:56
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
birdie
post Apr 4 2013, 12:02
Post #86





Group: Members
Posts: 106
Joined: 3-March 06
From: this planet
Member No.: 28235



GIT version has the same problems.

Sigh.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
chi
post Apr 4 2013, 18:38
Post #87





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 27-November 11
Member No.: 95439



QUOTE (birdie @ Apr 4 2013, 11:52) *
Guys, is some magic required to compile the new FLAC? It seems totally broken.


Why are you trying to do a static build?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ktf
post Apr 4 2013, 18:43
Post #88





Group: Members
Posts: 303
Joined: 22-March 09
Member No.: 68263



Static building never worked for me, but if you build shared, the flac utility will be static anyway (you'll have to run the script src/flac/flac and use src/flac/.libs/lt-flac after that), which does work here.

This release was mainly meant to fix built issues, so building should actually be easier.


--------------------
Music: sounds arranged such that they construct feelings.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
chi
post Apr 4 2013, 19:57
Post #89





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 27-November 11
Member No.: 95439



QUOTE (ktf @ Apr 4 2013, 18:43) *
but if you build shared, the flac utility will be static anyway (you'll have to run the script src/flac/flac and use src/flac/.libs/lt-flac after that), which does work here.


Thats not actually true, lt-flac is still dynamically linked. Libtool only makes sure that the uninstalled libFLAC is being used:
CODE
$ ldd src/flac/.libs/lt-flac | grep FLAC
    libFLAC.so.8 => /home/chi/devel/flac/_bd/src/libFLAC/.libs/libFLAC.so.8 (0x00007f419de57000)
Unlike a statically linked binary, this will stop working if moved (it may either silently use the system-wide library, if there is any, or fail).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ktf
post Apr 4 2013, 22:28
Post #90





Group: Members
Posts: 303
Joined: 22-March 09
Member No.: 68263



QUOTE (chi @ Apr 4 2013, 20:57) *
That’s not actually true

Oh right, I've been fooling myself apparently. huh.gif Sorry for talking BS, thanks for the warning.

This post has been edited by ktf: Apr 4 2013, 22:36


--------------------
Music: sounds arranged such that they construct feelings.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Apr 6 2013, 12:27
Post #91





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2136
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



The problems birdie has look very much like broken hardware to me. Bad memory stick could easily trigger such behavior.

I uploaded fresh Win32 binaries of 1.3pre3 + git fixes here.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ktf
post Apr 8 2013, 09:07
Post #92





Group: Members
Posts: 303
Joined: 22-March 09
Member No.: 68263



QUOTE (Case @ Apr 6 2013, 13:27) *
I uploaded fresh Win32 binaries of 1.3pre3 + git fixes here.


These are with the UTF-8 runtime patches you made? There are still problems with them (it actually got worse). I tested them on Windows XP SP3 and Windows 7 SP1, and I got this when used on three files, one with Cyrillic, one with Arabian and one with Japanese text.

See these screenshots:
http://www.icer.nl/misc_stuff/flac-130pre3-test.png
http://www.icer.nl/misc_stuff/flac-130pre3-test2.png

It seems it doesn't remove enough characters (doesn't empty the line completely) before writing a new step.


--------------------
Music: sounds arranged such that they construct feelings.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Apr 8 2013, 11:09
Post #93





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2136
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



Ouch, thanks. I used such tiny files in testing that the verification finished too fast to show this problem. I'll fix it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Apr 8 2013, 19:40
Post #94





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2136
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



Fixed the bug and repeating line bug with long filenames. Compiled version can be downloaded here.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ktf
post Apr 8 2013, 20:06
Post #95





Group: Members
Posts: 303
Joined: 22-March 09
Member No.: 68263



QUOTE (Case @ Apr 8 2013, 20:40) *
Fixed the bug and repeating line bug with long filenames.

We're getting there Case! Great job, finally the characters show up. However, I still have a bug to report. I can't catch it in screenshots this time.

Suppose I run flac.exe with 2 files, like flac.exe -t αβγδε.flac ζηθι.flac The first file shows up correctly:
CODE
flac 1.3.0pre3 [...]
αβγδε.flac: testing, 56% complete

However, the second filename is not displayed
CODE
flac 1.3.0pre3 [...]
αβγδε.flac: ok
testing, 12% complete

When finished, it does show the filename correctly:
CODE
flac 1.3.0pre3 [...]
αβγδε.flac: ok
ζηθι.flac: ok

Another bug is the following: when a file doesn't exist, flac returns the next message
CODE
flac 1.3.0pre3 [...]
αβγδε-n.flac: ERROR initializing decoder [...]

However, metaflac.exe returns something else:
CODE
αβγδε-n.flac: ERROR: reading metadata, status = "FLAC__METADATA_CHAIN_STATUS_ERROR_OP
ENING_FILE"

However, when the file exists, it works perfectly.

Still, I can't stress this enough, this is a *HUGE* improvement over no UTF-8 support at all, many thanks for fixing this smile.gif

This post has been edited by ktf: Apr 8 2013, 20:07


--------------------
Music: sounds arranged such that they construct feelings.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Apr 8 2013, 20:57
Post #96





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2136
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



I should hire you as my personal beta-tester. I reverted the long-line repeating fix as it obviously needs much more work. Here's a fresh set with above bugs fixed: flac-1.3pre3-mod.zip
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Apr 9 2013, 20:59
Post #97





Group: Members
Posts: 882
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



New Winamp 5.70 Build 3364 Beta 4

* Updated: [libFLAC] FLAC 1.3.0

Isn't too early to integrate FLAC 1.3.x?

edit:
Tag 1.2.1 20070917, same as the "Pre" versions.

This post has been edited by eahm: Apr 9 2013, 21:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SpaceAgeHero
post Apr 9 2013, 21:22
Post #98





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 23-August 08
From: Berlin
Member No.: 57417



QUOTE (eahm @ Apr 9 2013, 21:59) *
Isn't too early to integrate FLAC 1.3.x?


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
benski
post Apr 10 2013, 00:34
Post #99


Winamp Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 669
Joined: 17-July 05
From: Ashburn, VA
Member No.: 23375



QUOTE (eahm @ Apr 9 2013, 14:59) *
New Winamp 5.70 Build 3364 Beta 4

* Updated: [libFLAC] FLAC 1.3.0

Isn't too early to integrate FLAC 1.3.x?

edit:
Tag 1.2.1 20070917, same as the "Pre" versions.


It's a beta release of Winamp. It's a good opportunity to test the FLAC release.

It's also worth mentioning that a vast majority of the changes for 1.3.0 were in the build scripts and the various tools. The core libFLAC library only received a minor amount of changes.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Apr 10 2013, 08:29
Post #100





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2136
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



I uploaded a test binary with properly made long filename display fix. In my own testing it performs now correctly, but perhaps ktf could give it a try before I send patches to flac dev list. Download at the usual location.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

6 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 >
Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 10:11