IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
[newbie] FLAC to AAC with XLD, how to do this in best quality?
Jedi82
post Nov 5 2010, 11:21
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-November 02
From: Italy
Member No.: 3728



hello guys and sorry for my bad english. I have a Macbookpro and use XLD to convert my music from FLAC to AAC format for my pc / iphone / car...i red a lot here in this forum and understood that AAC (maximum quality) is "much" better then mp3 so i choose this type of format. I also did some test with my iphone but don't ear a big difference between mp3 vb3 @320 and an AAC file in maximum quality. I ask you if how i do it's ok or must do other stuff:

1) open XLD and set AAC preferences like this (i use the aac codec inside XLD and don't know if i must change it or not):

http://cdn.head-fi.org/a/ae/ae6eff2e_vbattach3493.jpg (i have the latest version so add gapless is not present)

2) drag and drop my flac files into XLD and wait it convert all my music

3) open the album with itunes and tag all my song with name, cover ecc ecc...

it's ok or maybe some good extra advice?

This post has been edited by Jedi82: Nov 5 2010, 11:24
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Larson
post Nov 5 2010, 12:40
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 27-March 09
Member No.: 68422



You're definitely using an old version of XLD/ quicktime since true vbr has maximum of 320 kbps now and you have the old 192kbps version. Check for updates! Since you have basically everything compatible with AAC go with it; as for the setting you could have 256 vbr constrained which is the same itunes uses for itunes store music (encoder quality always set to max) or you could go with true vbr. If you want the best quality for AAC you could use VBR Constrained at 320 or True VBR at Q127 (with the new quicktime which you have to update first).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jedi82
post Nov 5 2010, 12:43
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-November 02
From: Italy
Member No.: 3728



oh no no i have the last version, the screenshot is taken on internet because i'm not at home...and yes now i use True VBR at Q127 (with the new quicktime which you have to update first), it's ok? the other things that i do are ok or..?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Larson
post Nov 5 2010, 12:48
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 27-March 09
Member No.: 68422



Well then you're good to go! One more thing, if your flac files aren't already properly tagged (so they can keep their tags after the conversion without you to do any more steps) you could use Tagr which is very nice in tagging MP3/AAC/Apple Lossless, it's easy to use and is similar to MP3TAG for Windows, even though it misses many features and more formats support. If you find iTunes easier and better in doing this then it's the same, it's up to you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jedi82
post Nov 5 2010, 12:51
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-November 02
From: Italy
Member No.: 3728



oh great thanks! In windows i loved Tag&rename, so so complete but no version on Mac sad.gifsad.gif Other nice stuff about tagging files? I use to fill only this field:

http://www.markinns.com/images/article_ima...nes-tagging.png

NAME / ARTIST / ALBUM ARTIST / ALBUM / GENRE / COVER

ah and of course every single lyrics with Get Lyrical, what an amazing tool!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by Jedi82: Nov 5 2010, 12:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Nov 5 2010, 19:56
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (Jedi82 @ Nov 5 2010, 03:21) *
i red a lot here in this forum and understood that AAC (maximum quality) is "much" better then mp3

Are you sure you read this here? Can you provide any links as examples?


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jedi82
post Nov 8 2010, 10:02
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-November 02
From: Italy
Member No.: 3728



no i'm not sure and understand that the best quality is up to us and that's all. I red numerous thread here and understand that AAC is more recent than mp3 and with a little bit of more quality!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Nov 8 2010, 18:46
Post #8





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (Jedi82 @ Nov 8 2010, 01:02) *
AAC is more recent than mp3 and with a little bit of more quality!

And mp3 has had the benefit of more years of fine-tuning.

I think we've achieved consensus that AAC does better at lower bitrates, but at higher bitrates where you are at the edge of transparency there hasn't been much data presented to this forum.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Centauri
post Nov 9 2010, 00:49
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 9-June 09
Member No.: 70521



In other words; AAC is fundamentally superior, though it's a moot point beyond a certain bit rate.


--------------------
Altec UHP336s/Sennheiser eH 150s/AKG K171s & q113 tVBR AAC...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Nov 9 2010, 07:42
Post #10





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



...and that bitrate (the point at which transparency has been achieved) may be lower with aac over mp3, or it may not. Either way it will ultimately depend on the encoders and the individual conducting the test. I am not taking killer samples into account, but it is an important metric to take into consideration as well.

I think I'm done belaboring the point. wink.gif


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jedi82
post Nov 9 2010, 09:45
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-November 02
From: Italy
Member No.: 3728



my point is to have my music collection at maximum bitrate so in HQ...i use a Mac and XLD to do my convertion and yesterday i encode some albums in mp3

with these settings --> http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/3483/69023917.png

and not in AAC that i discover my car doesn't read sigh sad.gifsad.gif

This post has been edited by Jedi82: Nov 9 2010, 09:46
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Nov 9 2010, 19:46
Post #12





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5141
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (Jedi82 @ Nov 9 2010, 08:45) *
my point is to have my music collection at maximum bitrate
Assuming you are limited to MP3, that would entail using 320 kbps CBR. However, that is almost certainly overkill for most material. It has been suggested in your other topic that you ABX various VBR settings against the lossless files to determine the minimum that is regularly transparent to you and therefore avoid using space needlessly.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Nov 9 2010, 19:58
Post #13





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I don't see a reason why there needs to be two threads for the same topic.

Seeing that the OP is going with mp3, I'm closing this one.


This post has been edited by greynol: Nov 9 2010, 19:59


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 07:06