IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Album art cache for Facet / Foobar2000, Need help with Facet album art cache
omnimodis78
post Jan 1 2014, 19:24
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Canada
Member No.: 70802



Hello All! I have an ongoing issue that is by no means a deal breaker or anything catastrophic, but it is odd and I am hoping that it can either be solved, or be told that it is something that cannot at this point be fixed. Basically, I am using Facets with Foobar2000 (1.2.9) and the problem is that when I activate/open Facets, it always re-caches the album art. If I close Foobar, and then reopen it, the album art cache remains intact, but if I reboot the computer, the cache is gone, and it does the initial scanning and displaying of all album art (it is slow). Is there anything that can be done to basically retain this cache so that it only adds or removes upon the addition or deletion of files, but doesn't force to re-scan and re-cache my entire library (over 800 albums...)?

The option to "rescan at startup" has no effect be it enabled or disabled. It only affects whether new files are added to the library or not, but it initiates a re-cache of album art with existing files regardless.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by omnimodis78: Jan 1 2014, 19:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
omnimodis78
post Feb 21 2014, 14:57
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Canada
Member No.: 70802



Sorry to shamelessly bump my own topic, but anyone? Any feedback?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Feb 21 2014, 15:21
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4326
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



QUOTE (omnimodis78 @ Jan 1 2014, 18:24) *
If I close Foobar, and then reopen it, the album art cache remains intact


i'm surprised by this - i can only assume it's somehow cached by windows itself because when foobar is shut down, it doesn't have any background processes running.

and to answer your question, i doubt anything can be done as the component doesn't appear to be actively developed any more.

i suspect a SSD might improve things but it's probably a bit overkill. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by marc2003: Feb 21 2014, 15:22
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
omnimodis78
post Feb 21 2014, 16:18
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Canada
Member No.: 70802



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Feb 21 2014, 10:21) *
QUOTE (omnimodis78 @ Jan 1 2014, 18:24) *
If I close Foobar, and then reopen it, the album art cache remains intact


i'm surprised by this - i can only assume it's somehow cached by windows itself because when foobar is shut down, it doesn't have any background processes running.

and to answer your question, i doubt anything can be done as the component doesn't appear to be actively developed any more.

i suspect a SSD might improve things but it's probably a bit overkill. tongue.gif

Thanks for the reply. Yes, whatever is cached remains in memory even after exiting from Foobar so long as the PC isn't rebooted, which, if it is, the caching process starts from scratch.

I suspected that the lack of development was going to be a problem, but I was hoping that there was something I could do with some sort of parameter, but I guess it's just no possible. Is it just me or an Album Art cache would have made sense as a basic feature for a media library component. If anyone is using Calibre (an ebook management program), you know that the book thumbnails are cached in a folder (in %localappdata%). Anyways...

Yes, an SSD would probably improve things, but since it would have to re-write the cache at every boot, it would still be inefficient, not to mention, geez, my music library is 446GB large at the moment (damned FLAC addiction). blink.gif

This post has been edited by omnimodis78: Feb 21 2014, 16:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Feb 21 2014, 16:25
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4326
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



i suppose you could consider putting your pc to sleep instead of shutting down?

also, if you ever get a SSD in the future (i would hope for other reasons tongue.gif), you could save just the artwork on it - the path to it can be completely independent of your music folders.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
omnimodis78
post Apr 9 2014, 20:06
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Canada
Member No.: 70802



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Feb 21 2014, 11:25) *
i suppose you could consider putting your pc to sleep instead of shutting down?

also, if you ever get a SSD in the future (i would hope for other reasons tongue.gif), you could save just the artwork on it - the path to it can be completely independent of your music folders.

Well, the sleep option is viable, I guess! Eh, I do have an SSD as the system drive, heck, I even have a second SSD where I moved all temporary folders (user and system) as well as other application related caches. How would I go about moving the artwork onto the temp drive SSD? I mean all my artwork is embedded in the files, not separate image files - is there a way or would it more or less entail having to rip all image files.

This post has been edited by omnimodis78: Apr 9 2014, 20:08
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2014 - 03:25