IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Setting up skipping silence
goodiesguy
post Jan 8 2012, 07:40
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 27-April 11
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 90128



How do i set up the skipping silence so i don't get a clipping noise when listening to the likes of "Pink Floyd - The Wall" or "Electric Light Orchestra - Time".
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Jan 8 2012, 12:37
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4337
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



have you enabled it under file>preferences>playback>dsp manager>active dsp
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Jan 8 2012, 14:18
Post #3





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2137
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



Do you mean you get a glitch at track change and want to use Skip Silence DSP to fix that? I hope I misunderstood because the DSP is not meant for such use and won't work that way.
Old lossy encoders couldn't handle such gapless albums but nowadays formats support restoring original track length and don't add any additional silence on track changes. If your lossy files are old I suggest re-encoding them from the CDs. Lossy codecs can also cause a glitch that sounds like 'click' on track change, when the codec can't store transition sample values accurately enough. It can be worked around by increasing bitrate or by using a dsp that changes the transition position to happen in digital silence.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Jan 8 2012, 14:52
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4337
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



damn i totally misread that. i was thinking of foo_skip. sorry...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
goodiesguy
post Feb 28 2014, 09:15
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 27-April 11
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 90128



I hate bumping all threads, but i'm looking for a plugin called "Skip Silence (alternate)". it worked a treat on my old laptop, but I can't find it anywhere to download. The built in silence skipper has never worked for me.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Feb 28 2014, 12:41
Post #6





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2137
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



That component is located here.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th April 2014 - 06:40