IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

101 Pages V  « < 86 87 88 89 90 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Album Art Downloader XUI, A tool for downloading cover art
vagskal
post Aug 3 2012, 17:29
Post #2176





Group: Members
Posts: 97
Joined: 5-June 11
Member No.: 91252



Would it be possible to add also this site?
http://www.iodalliance.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexVallat
post Aug 5 2012, 09:23
Post #2177





Group: Developer
Posts: 1048
Joined: 31-July 06
Member No.: 33465



QUOTE (vagskal @ Aug 3 2012, 17:29) *
Would it be possible to add also this site?
http://www.iodalliance.com

Sure, give this one a try: ioda.boo

Alex
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vagskal
post Aug 5 2012, 10:01
Post #2178





Group: Members
Posts: 97
Joined: 5-June 11
Member No.: 91252



Thanks!

Sometimes it produces many irrelevant hits, like when I searched for Artist=Kelly Willis Album=Kelly Willis

I rather have irrelevant hits than having the script missing a real hit.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vagskal
post Aug 5 2012, 10:16
Post #2179





Group: Members
Posts: 97
Joined: 5-June 11
Member No.: 91252



PS. Is it possible to strip accents if that gives better results. The DJ Shop for example does not find Diamanda Galás but finds Diamanda Galas.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexVallat
post Aug 5 2012, 12:08
Post #2180





Group: Developer
Posts: 1048
Joined: 31-July 06
Member No.: 33465



QUOTE (vagskal @ Aug 5 2012, 10:01) *
Sometimes it produces many irrelevant hits, like when I searched for Artist=Kelly Willis Album=Kelly Willis
Yeah, it looks like it's searching for any contributing artist or something. The basic problem with searching for the album "Kelly Willis", though, is that they don't have that album!

Stripping accents, in the general case, is tricky and not necessarily right. If there's a specific site which is dumbly always strips all accents, I suppose a special case could be made, but take your DJ Shop example. They do list "Diamanda Galas", but also both "Björk" and "Bjork", "Michel Teló" and "Michel Telo" (with different results), and "Grüner Samt" but nothing for "Gruner Samt". So you can't just rely on stripping accents for the search, what it should really do is make the search accent-insensitive, so results with or without accents would be returned. Unfortunately, that's something only they can do.

Alex
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vagskal
post Aug 5 2012, 15:24
Post #2181





Group: Members
Posts: 97
Joined: 5-June 11
Member No.: 91252



QUOTE (AlexVallat @ Aug 5 2012, 13:08) *
QUOTE (vagskal @ Aug 5 2012, 10:01) *
Sometimes it produces many irrelevant hits, like when I searched for Artist=Kelly Willis Album=Kelly Willis
Yeah, it looks like it's searching for any contributing artist or something. The basic problem with searching for the album "Kelly Willis", though, is that they don't have that album!

Stripping accents, in the general case, is tricky and not necessarily right. If there's a specific site which is dumbly always strips all accents, I suppose a special case could be made, but take your DJ Shop example. They do list "Diamanda Galas", but also both "Björk" and "Bjork", "Michel Teló" and "Michel Telo" (with different results), and "Grüner Samt" but nothing for "Gruner Samt". So you can't just rely on stripping accents for the search, what it should really do is make the search accent-insensitive, so results with or without accents would be returned. Unfortunately, that's something only they can do.

Alex


Thanks for the reply!

I know they do not have the album, but that was just to show that the script comes up with several hits anyway.

I see about the accents. If it is not possible to send a second request without accents if the first request does not result in any hits, I guess I will have to strip the accents manually and do a second search. I do this for ' (like in it's) and The in the beginning of the artist name.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hlina
post Aug 21 2012, 13:55
Post #2182





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-August 12
Member No.: 102542



Hi, I just downloaded and installed Album Art Downloader on my windows 7 64 bits PC. When I try launching the program, a small infobox opens ("compiling scripts"), then it disappears and nothing happens. Task Manager reports, that Album Art Downloader is running, consuimng 25 % CPU power and 20-30 MB RAM, however, there is no program window.

Can somebody help me?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexVallat
post Aug 22 2012, 08:22
Post #2183





Group: Developer
Posts: 1048
Joined: 31-July 06
Member No.: 33465



QUOTE (hlina @ Aug 21 2012, 13:55) *

Hi, that's really strange, I haven't come across that before. The fact that the "compiling scripts" window is shown correctly indicates that .net framework is correctly installed, and can display windows properly, but for some reason it isn't able to display the main window! As it doesn't actually crash, there is no error report to give me any other clues, so I have to admit I'm a bit mystified by this one, sorry. You could try running it with the parameter "?" to see if it can show the command args help window, or "/fileBrowser" to see if it can show the file browser window instead of the main one; that might possibly give a clue as to what's going on.

Alex
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
audio20
post Aug 27 2012, 06:45
Post #2184





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 23-August 09
From: Brasil
Member No.: 72590



Hi, Alex,
sorry to 'bug' you with this , but is there a way to "re-categorize" the scripts sources groups (on the "Sources:" grouping on the left side of the search window) and/or "re-assign" scripts to a different or new group?

Also, maybe in the future, it would be great if we could collapse/expand those groupings; since we can't sort them, it would be a great way to get back "in control": see the most important and "search first" sources all-at-once with their respective results, progress and individual stop links.

(e.g. Current Script Sources Groups are: "Dance, Club, Eletronic" / "Independent" / "Fan-Made Covers" / "Reggae" / "Canadian" / "South-African" / "Punk, Metal, Rock" / "Eastern" / plus a few others)

Many thanks in advance. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexVallat
post Aug 27 2012, 08:12
Post #2185





Group: Developer
Posts: 1048
Joined: 31-July 06
Member No.: 33465



QUOTE (audio20 @ Aug 27 2012, 06:45) *

There isn't any easy way to recategorize sources, no. If you really need to do it, you could go to the scripts folder and open the .boo file for the script in notepad, then just change the category in there. It's a bit more tricky for scripts which don't have categories, but for those that already have them it should be simple to change the text. If you think there are any that are actually miscategorised, though, or any scripts that ought to be in a category but aren't, then do let me know!

Thanks for your suggestions on expanding and collapsing groupings, I'll look into what would be involved in adding support for that.

Alex
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hlina
post Aug 27 2012, 11:00
Post #2186





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-August 12
Member No.: 102542



Hi AlexVallat: Thanks for your answer. I tried /? option - but nothing happens, it starts, but doesn't display any window. Using /filebrowser opens the filebrowser without any problems. Today, AlbumArt.exe started the first try and offered to download some updates. I allowed to update, the program requested to restart, the next restart presented the "compiling scripts" window, and then it did't display a window as before (it doesn't even display the "compiling scripts" window at restart).

This post has been edited by hlina: Aug 27 2012, 11:11
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
audio20
post Aug 27 2012, 12:12
Post #2187





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 23-August 09
From: Brasil
Member No.: 72590



QUOTE (AlexVallat @ Aug 27 2012, 04:12) *
There isn't any easy way... scripts folder... boo file for the script in notepad, then just change the category in there.

I did just that, for all current scripts in the folder (although while I was doing that I really regret the fact that I would have to say goodbye to automatic updates to the scripts, meaning I would have to do all manually from now on...);

For Scripts that did not already have Categories assigned to them, I included the 2 extra lines, depending on the type of script, e.g.:
CODE
    Category as string:
        get: return "C - CD Covers"
or
CODE
    static SourceCategory as string:
        get: return "E - Other Sites"


Here's the partial result:

The Sorting of the Groups is a bit odd (I don't really understand it); Also, all sources had a Category assigned to them, but almost half "didn't stick"... Other than that, everything is working fine/better than the previous grouping (for my own and personal taste and use, of course).

I was expecting something more in this order:

QUOTE
It's a bit more tricky for scripts which don't have categories...

Isn't just adding the section of code above for the ones that don't have it?

QUOTE
If you think there are any that are actually miscategorised, though, or any scripts that ought to be in a category but aren't, then do let me know!

Oh, no... Not at all! The Categories there are just fine; the only thing for my personal use is that I would like/prefer if the categories grouped specific sources together; It's also a matter of personal taste, so I reckon it would be very difficult for you to cater to every opinion/preference...

QUOTE
Thanks for your suggestions on expanding and collapsing groupings, I'll look into what would be involved in adding support for that.

I really appreciate that. smile.gif (feel free to postpone it as much as you need tongue.gif )

P.S.: I guess I should mention that the whole "collapsing/expanding" of source groupings only really works/makes sense if there is either an easy way to assign a group to each script/source or if they all come "pre-loaded" with a reasonable grouping; I posted my "first try" into grouping the sources (for my own needs/liking, of course) here:
Google Docs: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key...NU1ERFFHZEE3Y2c
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexVallat
post Aug 27 2012, 14:17
Post #2188





Group: Developer
Posts: 1048
Joined: 31-July 06
Member No.: 33465



QUOTE (hlina @ Aug 27 2012, 11:00) *
Using /filebrowser opens the filebrowser without any problems.
Now that's weird. The compiling scripts window behaviour is normal - that only shows once, or after updates, it isn't supposed to show every time. I don't understand why the file browser window can open but the help window can't, though. If you try and open a new search window from the file browser window (Ctrl+N, or File, New, Search Window) does it report any error, or just give the same hanging behaviour?

QUOTE (audio20 @ Aug 27 2012, 12:12) *

For those scripts which didn't have a category before, if you want to add one, it depends on the sort of script. As you noticed, there are two sorts, the old style (which after the imports start with a declaration like "class Coveralia:") and the new style, whose declaration looks more like: "class eMusic(AlbumArtDownloader.Scripts.IScript):". If it's the second style, then in order for adding the category to work, you have to also add ", ICategorised" to the declaration, so it would become: "class eMusic(AlbumArtDownloader.Scripts.IScript, ICategorised):"

That is a *lot* of scripts you are using! I think the reason you are finding the sources list doesn't quite match your needs is because the design had in mind that people would be using only a few scripts, perhaps one or two search-first, then maybe 4 or 5 others! Anyway, I had a look at the weird sorting of categories. It turns out that, although the thing is set to sort the sources alphabetically, it doesn't do that for the group names. Not really sure why not, but I'll do some experimenting with the list control and figure out a way to make it happen for the next version. It appears that the way it's sorting it at the moment is by the first member of the group, alphabetically. So "G - Last Shops" comes before "C - CD Covers" because the first member of G starts with a B (Beatport) and the first member of C starts with a C (Cover-Paradies)!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hlina
post Aug 27 2012, 15:05
Post #2189





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-August 12
Member No.: 102542



Alex: While the filebrowser window opens immediately and without problems, it tends to hang when I try to do something in it. Pressing Ctrl+N causes the program to hang and presents me an "album art downloader not responding window". Is there a way to create a log file to pinpoint the reason for my problem?



QUOTE (AlexVallat @ Aug 27 2012, 14:17) *
QUOTE (hlina @ Aug 27 2012, 11:00) *
Using /filebrowser opens the filebrowser without any problems.
Now that's weird. The compiling scripts window behaviour is normal - that only shows once, or after updates, it isn't supposed to show every time. I don't understand why the file browser window can open but the help window can't, though. If you try and open a new search window from the file browser window (Ctrl+N, or File, New, Search Window) does it report any error, or just give the same hanging behaviour?

QUOTE (audio20 @ Aug 27 2012, 12:12) *

For those scripts which didn't have a category before, if you want to add one, it depends on the sort of script. As you noticed, there are two sorts, the old style (which after the imports start with a declaration like "class Coveralia:") and the new style, whose declaration looks more like: "class eMusic(AlbumArtDownloader.Scripts.IScript):". If it's the second style, then in order for adding the category to work, you have to also add ", ICategorised" to the declaration, so it would become: "class eMusic(AlbumArtDownloader.Scripts.IScript, ICategorised):"

That is a *lot* of scripts you are using! I think the reason you are finding the sources list doesn't quite match your needs is because the design had in mind that people would be using only a few scripts, perhaps one or two search-first, then maybe 4 or 5 others! Anyway, I had a look at the weird sorting of categories. It turns out that, although the thing is set to sort the sources alphabetically, it doesn't do that for the group names. Not really sure why not, but I'll do some experimenting with the list control and figure out a way to make it happen for the next version. It appears that the way it's sorting it at the moment is by the first member of the group, alphabetically. So "G - Last Shops" comes before "C - CD Covers" because the first member of G starts with a B (Beatport) and the first member of C starts with a C (Cover-Paradies)!


This post has been edited by hlina: Aug 27 2012, 15:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
audio20
post Aug 27 2012, 15:22
Post #2190





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 23-August 09
From: Brasil
Member No.: 72590



QUOTE (AlexVallat @ Aug 27 2012, 10:17) *
For those scripts which didn't have a category...old style...new style...also add ", ICategorised" to the declaration

Many thanks for that! I'll add it where appropriate, that'll be great! Thanks for the information!

QUOTE
That is a *lot* of scripts you are using!...the design had in mind that people would be using only a few scripts, perhaps one or two search-first, then maybe 4 or 5 others!

Yes, I know... :ashamed:

I think this started because I had a lot of albums that are not so popular / a bit "obscure"; then it got worse when the main sources that I used started changing the output/results (AAX was gone, then iTunes blocked bigger images, other sources also started blocking, etc, etc); I also started having problems with 'timeouts', due to the slow internet connection I was forced to use; to compensate, I graduately added more and more sources to the "search first" list, even if this seems counter-intuitive (it's easier to request a search on more sources at the same time and then forget about it for a few minutes instead of keep checking and adding new sources and hitting 'extend search');

I don't mind when there are many results, as I often spend a lot of time comparing and analysing all different covers obtained from different sources to determine wich one is best in terms of quality (and I'm gonna keep) and also wich ones are slightly different versions (also to keep).

As "extreme" as my use case may seem at first, and although I would recognize that I am indeed in a minority, I don't think I'm all alone in this (using many sources at the same time and having to scroll back and forth to see them all). I am 'offline' most of the time, so I use AAD to fetch good image sources to work on later, either eliminating blemishes (jpeg artifacts) in the image, cutting or including extra pixels in the image to make it perfectly square, etc, etc. I know that doesn't fully justify using so many sources, but it's an explanation... wink.gif

QUOTE
Anyway, I had a look at the weird sorting of categories.

You meant the 'new' categories I assigned to the scripts? Yes, it was pretty weird indeed... laugh.gif biggrin.gif
(it was just a 'first draft', though, as I had no idea if it would work; but I bet you that some groups, like the "CD Covers", go pretty well together as they provide the same kind of results; I grant you that what I called "First Shops" would be better named "Top Digital Stores" or something like that tongue.gif )


QUOTE
...set to sort the sources alphabetically, it doesn't do that for the group names...experimenting with the list control...make it happen for the next version...

That will be very very good! I'm looking forward to it (no hurry, though). Thanks!

Maybe, since I'm already editing all script files, I could try to experiment changing their filenames (yesasia.boo to 20_yesasia.boo, for example) and/or "Name" properties (YesAsia to 20_YesAsia)?

Again, many thanks for your patience and your very quick responses!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexVallat
post Aug 27 2012, 17:25
Post #2191





Group: Developer
Posts: 1048
Joined: 31-July 06
Member No.: 33465



QUOTE (hlina @ Aug 27 2012, 15:05) *
Pressing Ctrl+N causes the program to hang and presents me an "album art downloader not responding window". Is there a way to create a log file to pinpoint the reason for my problem?
Unfortunately, no. It will produce a log if it crashes, but if it just goes into an infinite loop like this there's no way of getting any sort of log or report out of it.

QUOTE (audio20 @ Aug 27 2012, 12:12) *
Maybe, since I'm already editing all script files, I could try to experiment changing their filenames (yesasia.boo to 20_yesasia.boo, for example) and/or "Name" properties (YesAsia to 20_YesAsia)?

Checking the code, it should be file-system order at the moment, as it doesn't apply sorting. So changing the filenames ought to allow you to control the order...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
audio20
post Aug 28 2012, 06:13
Post #2192





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 23-August 09
From: Brasil
Member No.: 72590



QUOTE (AlexVallat @ Aug 27 2012, 13:25) *
Checking the code, it should be file-system order at the moment, as it doesn't apply sorting. So changing the filenames ought to allow you to control the order...

Dawn! It works! It totally works! Yay! biggrin.gif
(I'm singing "Look at me now! Look at me now! I'm grouping sources!" laugh.gif - like that Chris Brown song)


It's so 'refreshing seeing all "search first" progress grouped right at the top! All the 'caos' in my life is gone! laugh.gif All I had to do was add 3 simple chars to each files
CODE
01_7digital.boo
02_deezer.boo
03_djshop.boo
04_emusic.boo
05_itunes.boo
etc...

From now on, it's only manual editing to update the scripts for me, but it's totally worth it!

Once again, my most sincere gratitude for your work and your tips, Alex! smile.gif

P.S.: The only script that gave me trouble for editing was "amazon-common.boo", I think it's because it has unicode in it (and my default editor apparently saves files in ANSI - but I might be wrong about that...). If anyone else is thinking about manually editing those files too, just be aware of this...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
audio20
post Aug 28 2012, 08:28
Post #2193





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 23-August 09
From: Brasil
Member No.: 72590



I keep forgeting to ask this, as it's really not that important...

Is there a way to edit these 'presets' that show up next to the thumbnail (and let's you assign a preset for those 'unknown')? Furthermore, could I possible add a few extra presets (like CD1, CD2, etc)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexVallat
post Aug 28 2012, 18:34
Post #2194





Group: Developer
Posts: 1048
Joined: 31-July 06
Member No.: 33465



QUOTE (audio20 @ Aug 28 2012, 08:28) *
Is there a way to edit these 'presets' that show up next to the thumbnail

Sorry, no. To change those, it would have to be a change to the main program code, and then most of the scripts would need to be updated to match.

There are things you can do, though, if what you want to do is change how they are inserted into the filename. If, instead of %type%, you use %type(Unknown,Front,Back,Inside,CD)% then just replace whichever word in there you don't like with the word that should be used to replace it (but make sure you keep them in the same order so it knows which is which).

For adding values, there's no way of doing that (and none of the current scripts would be able to return any additional values anyway!), however types can be combined with the actual preset system. Instead of including %type% in the filename, include %preset%. Then edit the presets dialog so that the default preset value is %type% (including custom names in parenthesis, if you want). Then add all your other custom values as other preset values. That way, when you choose to save, you can click the drop down and pick one of your custom choices, if you don't want it to use the type name itself.

Alex
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
audio20
post Aug 29 2012, 06:30
Post #2195





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 23-August 09
From: Brasil
Member No.: 72590



QUOTE (AlexVallat @ Aug 28 2012, 14:34) *
Sorry, no. To change those, it would have to be a change to the main program code, and then most of the scripts would need to be updated to match.

Completely makes sense. Many thanks for clarifying it!

QUOTE
There are things you can do...replace whichever word in there you don't like...adding values, there's no way of doing that...types can be combined with the actual preset system...include %preset%...default preset value is %type% (including custom names in parenthesis, if you want). Then add all your other custom values as other preset values.

I think I may have not expressed myself so well, I meant edit as in edit the 'list' of words included in that %type% category, to include a few that would most likely replace the 'unknown' values (mostly on results given by google and discogs); generally the other sites give pretty accurate results in that field that I usually don't want to change.

QUOTE
That way, when you choose to save, you can click the drop down and pick one of your custom choices, if you don't want it to use the type name itself.

I really like that option, it's pretty clever! The only problem is that it only works with 'manual searches'; when I'm doing searches derived from the 'File Browser' it seems it doesn't give me the option to save as a preset (the small downward arrow to the right)...

'Manual' Search: --- 'File Browser' Search:

This post has been edited by audio20: Aug 29 2012, 06:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexVallat
post Aug 29 2012, 08:01
Post #2196





Group: Developer
Posts: 1048
Joined: 31-July 06
Member No.: 33465



QUOTE (audio20 @ Aug 29 2012, 06:30) *
when I'm doing searches derived from the 'File Browser' it seems it doesn't give me the option to save as a preset (the small downward arrow to the right)...

When you start a search from the file browser, it assumes that you want to save the image in the location images are searched for in the file browser. So, to get the same behaviour there, make sure that you've added %preset% to the "Specify path to find images" box in the Options panel of the file browser.

Alex
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
audio20
post Aug 31 2012, 08:22
Post #2197





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 23-August 09
From: Brasil
Member No.: 72590



QUOTE (AlexVallat @ Aug 29 2012, 04:01) *
When you start a search from the file browser...to get the same behaviour there, make sure that you've added %preset% to the "Specify path to find images" box in the Options panel of the file browser.

My apologies... I not 100% sure but I think I might have "skipped" the re-starting of the application and maybe that's what was preventing it from showing the "small arrow downwards" on the search windows coming from the file browser; Now it is working perfectly! The system you proposed with %type% inside presets is just genious! Once again, many thanks for your work, tips and patience! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
iammike
post Sep 1 2012, 12:37
Post #2198





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 1-September 12
From: SE Asia
Member No.: 102831



Hi Alex,

thanks for your program I use it everyday in combination with Mp3tag (Brilliant Combination)

But I just had to register to post a very minor bug.

Every time I start AAD it notifies me that it downloaded New Scripts, (that's a good thing) but however the script is always the same one.

Amazon MP3 (.com) Version v0.1.

I uninstalled AAD and reinstalled already 2 times but it doesn't change things.

Regards
M

Edit: // I forgot to add that the downloaded file \Scripts\amazon-mp3-com.boo is always 0 ("Zero") Bytes

This post has been edited by iammike: Sep 1 2012, 13:10
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexVallat
post Sep 1 2012, 15:56
Post #2199





Group: Developer
Posts: 1048
Joined: 31-July 06
Member No.: 33465



QUOTE (iammike @ Sep 1 2012, 12:37) *

Thanks for letting me know - I checked it out, and it does seem like that script was missing from the server! I've uploaded it now so it should be available for you next time AAD tries to download it.

Alex
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
iammike
post Sep 2 2012, 04:35
Post #2200





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 1-September 12
From: SE Asia
Member No.: 102831



@AlexVallat

Solved !!! Thanks for the quick action. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

101 Pages V  « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 09:12