IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Need help: When re-encoding to M4A, FLAC is cut off in the middle, [TOS #6: moved from Lossless/Other Codecs]
lawllmaster
post Apr 23 2013, 00:31
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 23-April 13
Member No.: 107795



This problem is such a pain. When I try to re-encode the flac file from a concert that I have, it cuts off at 21:36, when the actual length is much longer. I have tried many encoders, like eac2to, dbpoweramp, and Max. The FLAC error checker says there are no errors (at least for the first 20 mins, then it cuts off). Please help! This site is my last resort!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wombat
post Apr 23 2013, 02:11
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 950
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 235



You may try flac frontend and test for errors. You can set test/decode through errors. Some folks just test a new well working beta version of it here http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....c=99803&hl=
Maybe you are able to decode the file to wav and go further from there. You should listen at 21:36 if you hear a glitch that hints to a corrupt file.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lawllmaster
post Apr 23 2013, 02:28
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 23-April 13
Member No.: 107795



QUOTE (Wombat @ Apr 23 2013, 02:11) *
You may try flac frontend and test for errors. You can set test/decode through errors. Some folks just test a new well working beta version of it here http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....c=99803&hl=
Maybe you are able to decode the file to wav and go further from there. You should listen at 21:36 if you hear a glitch that hints to a corrupt file.


I tried the tool above, and it shows me a long line of "STREAM_ERROR_DECODER_STATUS_LOST_SYNC"s. What is this and how can I fix this??
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wombat
post Apr 23 2013, 02:38
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 950
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 235



Does it decode completely? The error itself tells you the file is broken, no idea how to fix it. Only chance is to decodce through errors and hope it is only some small parts missing.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lawllmaster
post Apr 23 2013, 03:57
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 23-April 13
Member No.: 107795



QUOTE (Wombat @ Apr 23 2013, 02:38) *
Does it decode completely? The error itself tells you the file is broken, no idea how to fix it. Only chance is to decodce through errors and hope it is only some small parts missing.


Funny thing is, when I play the file (originally an mkv) there is no problem. But everything else is screaming, "You've got a broken FLAC file!!!". How do I decode through errors? Please explain.

Oh, and one more thing. How do I use mkvextract (the cmd one) to, erm, "extract" the raw FLAC file? I'm not fond of the command prompt :/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lawllmaster
post Apr 23 2013, 04:25
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 23-April 13
Member No.: 107795



Uh oh. It seems I extracted the original flac wrong. Now that I re-extracted it via mkvextract (just found out how), even FLAC Frontend says it's "OK". HOW CAN IT BE OK IF THE FILE SIZE IS 2 GB AND THE RESULTING FILE IS ONLY 30 MB!!?!?!?
Oh gawd plz someone help meh. I have never seen a FLAC file error like this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Apr 23 2013, 08:18
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1122
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



Stop shouting.

I'm assuming it's in an mkv file with some video as well? Video takes up rather a lot more space than audio. I'm also guessing this is a downloaded rip? Your easiest solution would be to buy the original.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CoRoNe
post Apr 23 2013, 18:06
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 31-May 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 22417



Instead of using the command prompt, you might find MKVcleaver, or MKVExtractGUI useful.


--------------------
DC-Bass Source Mod: http://reino.degeelebosch.nl
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
detmek
post Apr 24 2013, 20:29
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 24-June 08
Member No.: 54802



TAudioConverter is also very good for extracting and/or transcoding audio.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Azevedo
post Apr 26 2013, 13:31
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 79
Joined: 3-November 08
Member No.: 61632



Did you tried to convert the flac file to wav and then to M4A?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 13:42