IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
MP4, Flac in Mp4
poochi
post Nov 12 2013, 13:50
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 12-October 12
Member No.: 103802



Can Flac be present in Mp4 container ?
If yes how do i get one ?
If No why not ?



Thanks a lot smile.gif

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SigHunter
post Nov 12 2013, 13:57
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 22-September 08
Member No.: 58544



https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mp4#Data_streams
so, apparently this is possible with "private streams".
but i don't think you'd want to do that. what would be the benefit to a normal flac file?


This post has been edited by SigHunter: Nov 12 2013, 13:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skamp
post Nov 12 2013, 14:01
Post #3





Group: Developer
Posts: 1343
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875



You can use Apple Lossless (ALAC). How to "get" those? Rip your audio CDs and encode to ALAC.

This post has been edited by skamp: Nov 12 2013, 14:02


--------------------
caudec.net
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Nov 12 2013, 14:52
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1120
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



To the OP, is this purely for audio reasons or for an MP4 video? If video you're better using mkv as it supports far more audio formats I think. Default audio in MP4 has to be AAC I believe. Certainly, players like Quicktime won't do audio with MP4 that isn't AAC that I've noticed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Nov 12 2013, 17:51
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4715
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



Putting unusual formats into containers they aren't typically used with is usually a bad idea even if it can be done.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2014 - 06:04