IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
How to connect this amp to PC
hydrogenxx
post Nov 14 2013, 08:19
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 4-January 12
Member No.: 96236



Hi guys, could you just take a quick look at these two pics of an integrated amp (front and rear):

http://www.globalaudio.ru/sadm_images/stag...I_%28big%29.jpg
http://www.studio-22.com/marantz/images/e_pm7001_ki_bck.gif

For those in the know; from the rec selector functions and jacks and everything the amp contains, is it possible, is there a way of successfully connecting a turntable (with no preamp built-in) hooked into the phono-in of this integrated amp, and then to a PC sound card line-in, without having to use the headphones jack (gross!) of the amp OR sending the signal from the amp to a cassette deck and then using the deck's line-out as a way to output the signal to the PC ? Is there a way to do it by just using the turntable and just this integrated amp (headphones jack excluded, of course). Thank you.

This post has been edited by hydrogenxx: Nov 14 2013, 08:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skamp
post Nov 14 2013, 08:38
Post #2





Group: Developer
Posts: 1343
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875



Connect the turntable to the "phono" input, and the "pre out" output to your PC's line-in (you'll probably need an RCA to stereo mini jack cable).


--------------------
caudec.net
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Nov 14 2013, 13:21
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 453
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 10915



^Exactly, or take the output to PC from either of the RECORDER > OUT jack pairs. If you use the PRE OUT, you'll probably need to flip the SEPARATE switch to ON. Listen to both options: you may find one to be quieter (hum-free). PRE OUT keeps the front panel volume control in the circuit which you may find useful.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Glenn Gundlach
post Nov 14 2013, 17:04
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 359
Joined: 19-April 08
From: LA
Member No.: 52914



QUOTE (Apesbrain @ Nov 14 2013, 04:21) *
^Exactly, or take the output to PC from either of the RECORDER > OUT jack pairs. If you use the PRE OUT, you'll probably need to flip the SEPARATE switch to ON. Listen to both options: you may find one to be quieter (hum-free). PRE OUT keeps the front panel volume control in the circuit which you may find useful.


Yes but be aware the analog in on most computers has very little headroom and if driven too hard may fail. If you're getting good recording levels with Windows mixer between 50 and 75% you're fine.

G
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hydrogenxx
post Nov 14 2013, 20:57
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 4-January 12
Member No.: 96236



Thanks everyone, I think 've tried it all, here's the deal; when I connect via Pre Out I get no sound on the PC whatsoever (using Audacity With ASIO), with or without separation switch. When I connect the amp to the PC directly from either of the Recorder outs, I get the sound and it sounds really fine, but I have no control over the input signal. Luckily the signal turns out to be very strong, hitting constatly on the Audacity level meter from minus 12 almost to zero, albeit no clipping heard afterwards in the recording. If that wasn't the case and the signal was too strong, I guess the only way to control it would be the aforementioned connection via cassette deck and by using the deck's rec level meter. I guess I'll leave it this way for now, via either Recorder out jack, until there are no clipping problems. I think I've covered it all, though the sole usage of that Pre out jack remains a mystery to me :-)

This post has been edited by hydrogenxx: Nov 14 2013, 20:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Nov 14 2013, 22:32
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1122
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



Do the instructions not tell you what the Pre-Out is for? If it's the same as my old AVR, the pre-out is what it says and the main in is if you want to use the power amp section with the speaker outs. The manual should tell you the specs of the pre-out as well.

But yes I would have suggested the rec out on the tape loop rather than the pre-out smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Nov 14 2013, 23:04
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 453
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 10915



Just confirming...
When you use the PRE OUT (SEPARATE = ON), you select PHONO using the big INPUT SELECTOR knob on the front panel and the big VOLUME control has to be set somewhere above minimum. When you use RECORDER > OUT, you select PHONO using the smaller REC SELECTOR knob and the setting of the VOLUME control does not matter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hydrogenxx
post Nov 15 2013, 16:31
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 4-January 12
Member No.: 96236



Ah, now I got it, I was a bit tired yesterday evening. Ok, using the Pre-out, I have to raise the big volume control knob quite high bc it also serves now as a rec level meter, as you said before. For my setup here the volume must be risen over 50% to get the right input for the PC line-in; yesterday it was risen just above zero and that's why I didn't see any signal in Audacity. With the separator switch on you don't get the sound from the amp to the speakers, just to the PC line-in. With the separator off you can't have the amp's speakers on bc it's too loud, for the Volume knob has to be over 50% (I never have the speakers on anyway while recording an LP to PC). As for the little rec selector knob, it doesn't play any role if it's set to phono or off or to anything else, you always get the signal from the Pre-out to the PC line-in.

I think for now I like the Rec-out solution better, bc although I have no control over the output signal level, it seems just fit as it is, at least with the LP tested. If with some other LP this solution produces clipping, will change to the Pre-amp mode.

If anything else has been left out uncovered, feel free to say it :-)

Oh, for the other question, yes. Using the Rec-out, with the rec selector set to phono (otherwise no output signal), the big Volume control knob has no effect on the output level for the PC line-in.

This post has been edited by hydrogenxx: Nov 15 2013, 16:36
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 01:02