IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  « < 2 3 4  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
westgroveg's EAC+FLAC image guide, See wiki for official EAC guides
VCSkier
post Apr 13 2006, 04:46
Post #76





Group: Members
Posts: 447
Joined: 26-January 05
From: LynchburgVA(US)
Member No.: 19325



QUOTE (mordeth @ Aug 31 2005, 01:22 AM) *
does anyone know of any players for linux that support flac disk images with cuesheets (imbedded or external)?

I want to setup a linux box as my media player, but if I can't find the proper support for cuesheets, then I'm either gonna have to resort to windows, or change my method of music storage

i'd be curious to know this too, if any of you have figured it out...


--------------------
a windows-free, linux user since 1/31/06.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
artyomk3d
post May 29 2006, 12:57
Post #77





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 3-March 06
Member No.: 28229



On flac mailing list there was a guy who wrote a console player for FLACs. Maybe you could try to search that list and contact him.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dbAmp
post Jul 5 2006, 21:58
Post #78





Group: Members
Posts: 107
Joined: 10-October 05
Member No.: 25035



I'm new to encoding with FLAC, so please excuse my ignorance. I have two questions:

1. Is step 3 necessary if I am ripping images to listen in foobar?
2. For the new tip on storing CD text within the image using foobar2000, where is the cuesheet tag?

My assumption is that it is missing either as a result of me not going through step 3, or I am looking in the wrong place.

I assumed it would be under properties (I load the flac file into foobar, select all the tracks, right click --> properties) but I do not see that tag.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ESP85
post Dec 24 2006, 01:19
Post #79





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 10-October 06
Member No.: 36190



When burning a FLAC image to CD and reripping, should I be getting the same checksums as the original CD?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mmortal03
post Dec 24 2006, 01:30
Post #80





Group: Members
Posts: 601
Joined: 19-July 02
From: USA
Member No.: 2667



QUOTE (ESP85 @ Dec 23 2006, 19:19) *
When burning a FLAC image to CD and reripping, should I be getting the same checksums as the original CD?


Only if you are ripping it in EAC with the correct offsets, and burning it with the correct offsets and a cuesheet from EAC.

This post has been edited by mmortal03: Dec 24 2006, 01:31


--------------------
WARNING: Changing of advanced parameters might degrade sound quality. Modify them only if you are expirienced in audio compression!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Dec 24 2006, 06:41
Post #81





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



If gaps are appended to the previous track, cue sheets are not necessary to get the same checksums. Offset correction and overreading/overwriting are all that matter.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mmortal03
post Dec 24 2006, 09:51
Post #82





Group: Members
Posts: 601
Joined: 19-July 02
From: USA
Member No.: 2667



QUOTE (greynol @ Dec 24 2006, 00:41) *
If gaps are appended to the previous track, cue sheets are not necessary to get the same checksums. Offset correction and overreading/overwriting are all that matter.


There could be issues if he burns it as you say, with a program that adds gaps between the tracks, and then he re-rips it, though.


--------------------
WARNING: Changing of advanced parameters might degrade sound quality. Modify them only if you are expirienced in audio compression!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ESP85
post Dec 24 2006, 13:04
Post #83





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 10-October 06
Member No.: 36190



Yeah. I don't think my drive does overreading and overwriting since it's an NEC, not a Plextor.

Also, I think I have it set up so the gaps are appended to the ends of the tracks. I use EAC + REACT2 and ACDIR. However ACDIR splits it up is how it goes.

How important are the checksums anyway?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ESP85
post Dec 24 2006, 17:26
Post #84





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 10-October 06
Member No.: 36190



Oh yeah, is there anyway to setup EAC so it can decode FLAC on-the-fly when burning CD-Rs, instead of decoding FLAC manually?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Dec 24 2006, 19:12
Post #85





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (mmortal03 @ Dec 24 2006, 00:51) *
QUOTE (greynol @ Dec 24 2006, 00:41) *
If gaps are appended to the previous track, cue sheets are not necessary to get the same checksums. Offset correction and overreading/overwriting are all that matter.

There could be issues if he burns it as you say, with a program that adds gaps between the tracks, and then he re-rips it, though.
Which program would that be? CUE sheets are not necessary for gapless audio.

QUOTE (ESP85 @ Dec 24 2006, 04:04) *
Yeah. I don't think my drive does overreading and overwriting since it's an NEC, not a Plextor.
This is only an issue when the first track begins with and/or the last track ends in non-silent samples.

QUOTE (ESP85 @ Dec 24 2006, 04:04) *
How important are the checksums anyway?
It's just an easy way to verify the data was correct.

QUOTE (ESP85 @ Dec 24 2006, 08:26) *
Oh yeah, is there anyway to setup EAC so it can decode FLAC on-the-fly when burning CD-Rs, instead of decoding FLAC manually?
I don't think so, but I could be wrong. A lot of people use Burrrn to do this. If you have a drive with a write samples offset of 0 then you don't need to concern yourself with the fact that Burrrn doesn't have this option. Otherwise you can use a combined read/write offset correction on your rip or use a program like Moitah's WAV Tools prior to burning if you're concerned about this.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dewey1973
post Dec 24 2006, 20:55
Post #86





Group: Members
Posts: 383
Joined: 31-March 03
From: Seattle, WA
Member No.: 5771



I like the convenience of this method and have been thinking about switching from track-based to image-based backup. Especially since REACT2 makes it so easy to create the image and lossy files at the same time while saving all the cue sheets and getting album art.

However, I'm not entirely convinced that images are the way to go. You can't use Test & Copy and you can't use AccurateRip. Am I just being anal and paranoid?

This post has been edited by dewey1973: Dec 24 2006, 20:56
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jan 7 2008, 06:46
Post #87





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Would it be possible to improve the accuracy of some of the information mentioned in this guide?

My particular concerns are the following:

QUOTE (westgroveg @ Dec 6 2003, 22:01) *
If EAC reports "Caching: Yes" your drive caches audio data, every sector read will be read from cache and is identical, this will increase the probability of errors & cause a speed decrease.

QUOTE (westgroveg @ Dec 6 2003, 22:01) *
Tip: EAC may misinform about audio caching, as an alternative you can use Feurio's audio caching test found in Feurio.exe\Ctrl+Alt+P\Test device\Cache test.

QUOTE (westgroveg @ Dec 6 2003, 22:01) *
Tip: Some drives disable audio caching at low speeds; if your drive is set to DMA transfer mode, try changing it to PIO only transfer mode, then re-test for caching and set back to DMA mode.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  « < 2 3 4
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 08:00