IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Pre-gaps ripped in EAC?
12345
post May 4 2002, 12:07
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 205
Joined: 4-May 02
Member No.: 1959



Are the pre-gaps ripped and added to the tracks when ripping with the "copy selected tracks" option in EAC or are they just added when using "copy image & create cue sheet"? If they can be added to the tracks in "copy selected tracks" mode, do i have to press F4 to "detect gaps" for EAC to include them?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JungleJim
post May 4 2002, 12:23
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 11-February 02
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 1309



Afaik, you first have to detect the gaps by pressing F4. You can then set what EAC will do with the gaps. Default is to append gaps to the previous track. Other options are to leave out the gaps, or append them to the next gap. These options are available in the action menu.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pio2001
post May 4 2002, 15:21
Post #3


Moderator


Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3936
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 73



Pregaps are always ripped, exept if you detect them, then choose to leave them out.
I wouldn't say they are "added" to the tracks, since they are in fact part of the tracks, as CD players and rippers understand the concept of "track" (ie data between track N index 1 to track N+1 index 1).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
12345
post May 5 2002, 06:33
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 205
Joined: 4-May 02
Member No.: 1959



"added" might have been a wrong, i blame that on english not being my native tounge. smile.gif thanks for the replies... so, i know i wont make a perfect copy of a cd not using the image/cue thing. but, will a copy that has been ripped with "append gaps to previous track" & then burned with with nero in disc at once mode with 0 sec gaps between the songs _sound_ exactly as the original?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
David Nordin
post May 5 2002, 09:40
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 751
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Falkenberg
Member No.: 3810



yes =)

I always do a Alt+O -> F4 combo for my rips =)


--------------------
http://davidnordin.wordpress.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pio2001
post May 5 2002, 18:11
Post #6


Moderator


Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3936
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 73



QUOTE
Originally posted by 12345
"added" might have been a wrong, i blame that on english not being my native tounge. smile.gif


No, no, it's EAC that is confusing.

QUOTE
Originally posted by 12345
i know i wont make a perfect copy of a cd not using the image/cue thing.


You'll make a perfect copy of the audio data nonetheless.
The image/cue only adds some subchannel infos used to display negative times on standalone players.
The ony PC programs that use those infos are...EAC, clone CD, CDRWin... for the sake of making perfect copy.
Those "indexes 0" in the subchannel are never used by Winamp, or Windows media player, for example.

QUOTE
Originally posted by 12345
will a copy that has been ripped with "append gaps to previous track" & then burned with with nero in disc at once mode with 0 sec gaps between the songs _sound_ exactly as the original?


It depends on which version of Nero you used.
Versions 5.0.0.0 to 5.5.7.7 were bugged. You should miss one sector of audio in each track if you used one of those. With audible clicks if there is music at the track transition.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
12345
post May 7 2002, 12:17
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 205
Joined: 4-May 02
Member No.: 1959



ALT+O, "multiple wav files with corrected gaps"? What differs this method from "multiple wav files with gaps" or just "copy selcted tracks"?

/Mikael
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rommel
post May 7 2002, 21:09
Post #8





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 67
Joined: 13-January 02
From: Italy
Member No.: 1012



QUOTE
Originally posted by Pio2001


The ony PC programs that use those infos are...EAC, clone CD, CDRWin... for the sake of making perfect copy.


Feurio?


--------------------
Rommel
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jjarmak
post May 7 2002, 23:14
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 11-January 02
Member No.: 986



What are they and are they a good thing?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pio2001
post May 8 2002, 01:54
Post #10


Moderator


Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3936
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 73



probably Feurio, yes, I don't know.


A pregap can be something different according to different people.
I think that officially, it is a hidden part before a session.

EAC calls "pregaps" the "gaps" of the tracks because CDRWin used a command called "pregap" to create them in the cuesheets.
They were 2 seconds long silences marked with indexes.
Nero and EasyCD creator call them "pauses".

Now, what EAC calls "pre-gaps" are the audio data at the end of tracks that are between the index marker 0 of next track, and the index 1 of next track (that marks the actual beginning of next track).

EAC is the only program I know that enables handling them, and I think it's the most confusing thing in this program after offsets.

When you don't detect gaps, EAC will work like any other ripper and copy all the audio data.

Problems begin when you detect gaps. EAC now handles them separately. It can append them to previous track, as should always be done, since they are the end of previous track.
It can append them to next track. I don't know the hell what for.
It can leave out them, cutting your tracks before they finish !

I don't know if I should say they are "useful". The data they contain are part of the CD, and often part of the music (classical recordings, live recordings...).
Their detection is seldom useful. The only case I heard of usefulness is if the gaps actually mark silence between separated tracks (not always the case), and if you want to rip MP3s from the copy, and use the leave out gaps option is order to have the MP3s of your playlist play right after each other with no silence between them.
It will always work from the original, but it will only work from the copy if you used the copy CD and create cuesheet action. Otherwise, the gaps won't be marked on the copy.

The gaps are always copied. If you don't detect them, they are copied all the same, they're just not marked.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
liekloo
post Oct 24 2002, 18:40
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 22-March 02
From: Belgium
Member No.: 1596



Thank you Pio, I have found this very useful (even if we are some time later now).


--------------------
"E S S E N T I A L" Guide for E A C :

http://users.fulladsl.be/spb2267/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pio2001
post Oct 25 2002, 20:58
Post #12


Moderator


Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3936
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 73



Tell me which thread ou find more useful : this one or that one : http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....&t=3922&hl=gaps

It's the same thing, but I forgot the existence of this thread when I posted that one.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Infrared Archer
post Oct 25 2002, 22:09
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 23-July 02
From: Washington
Member No.: 2757



Pregaps are used by hardware cd players.

If you directly select a track to play in a harware cd player, the track will start playing at index 1 of that track skipping any index 0 gap (if present) in the track. From what I understand the cd's table of contents lists all tracks and their index 1 positions.
If you play a cd continuously you will here the index 0 gaps.

If tracks are not played back continuously you will not here any index 0 gap (if present).

Track7
---------------
No index 0
--------------
track 3
--------------
No index 0
--------------
track 8
--------------
index0 played
--------------
track 9
--------------
index 0 played
--------------
track 10
--------------
No index 0 played
--------------
track 12

So, because winamp doesn't recongnize if index 0 is appended to a track, it will not leave out the index0 gap in non-continuous tracks like a hardware cd player would.

This only becomes annoying with certain cd's such as Tool's Lateralus, assuming I append gap to previous track, as is default for all cd rippers.

track 12 Triad + 2min (track 13 index0) gap consisting of silence is appended.
This means everytime I play Triad I hear 2 minutes of silence at the end of the track.
I should only hear 2 minutes of silence if track 13 (Faipp De Oiad) is played directly after track 12 (Triad)

I hope this makes sense, pregaps and offsets aren't my native tounge either rolleyes.gif


--------------------
"I have learned a lesson from the lessons I have learned"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pio2001
post Oct 25 2002, 23:23
Post #14


Moderator


Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3936
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 73



QUOTE (Infrared Archer @ Oct 26 2002 - 12:09 AM)
Pregaps are used by hardware cd players.

If you directly select a track to play in a harware cd player, the track will start playing at index 1 of that track skipping any index 0 gap (if present) in the track.
(...)
If you play a cd continuously you will here the index 0 gaps.

If tracks are not played back continuously you will not here any index 0 gap (if present).

Ohhhhh ! Yes, I never noticed it !

You're right, my Yamaha does it too.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
phuturephunktion
post Oct 29 2002, 01:43
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 29-October 02
Member No.: 3649



I have a problem that i wish to solve. I downloaded a continuous mix live set by a certain DJ. Now, that set is one file w/c is 77 mins long. If i write the track to a cd as is, it plays as one very long track. I wish to break that 1 track down into 13 or 14 tracks without any gaps in between. If anyone can help me, i would be very thankful
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AtaqueEG
post Oct 29 2002, 05:37
Post #16





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 1336
Joined: 18-November 01
From: Celaya, Guanajuato
Member No.: 478



Hi, well, if the DJ set is an "official" release (I mean an actual CD that is sold in stores) you can go to this site http://www.regeert.nl/cuesheet/ and try to find the matching cue sheet which you can use to burn with something like the programs mentioned above in this topic. Of course, the file that you downloaded MUST match the duration of the original CD set for it to be accurate.
If it is not an actual release, but a bootleg you can use CD Wave (http://www.homepages.hetnet.nl/~mjmlooijmans/cdwave/) or an audio editor such as Cool Edit to make your own cue sheet and then burn the CD.
Vale.


--------------------
I'm the one in the picture, sitting on a giant cabbage in Mexico, circa 1978.
Reseņas de Rock en Espaņol: www.estadogeneral.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pio2001
post Oct 29 2002, 12:36
Post #17


Moderator


Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3936
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 73



QUOTE (phuturephunktion @ Oct 29 2002 - 03:43 AM)
I wish to break that 1 track down into 13 or 14 tracks without any gaps in between

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....t=ST&f=1&t=4425

Edit : Replaced r3mix URL with HydrogenAudio one

This post has been edited by Pio2001: Jan 11 2003, 21:36
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
liekloo
post Oct 29 2002, 13:13
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 22-March 02
From: Belgium
Member No.: 1596



Posted by Pio
QUOTE
Tell me which thread ou find more useful : this one or that one : http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....&t=3922&hl=gaps
It's the same thing, but I forgot the existence of this thread when I posted that one.


biggrin.gif

Well both I should say (they kind of complete each other)
The link you just gave is the on I found first. It suggested 'by the way' that gap detection is not necessary...
but
as I wasn't 100% sure if I really could draw that conclusion, I continued searching untill I found this one smile.gif


--------------------
"E S S E N T I A L" Guide for E A C :

http://users.fulladsl.be/spb2267/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pio2001
post Oct 29 2002, 20:59
Post #19


Moderator


Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3936
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 73



Infrared Archer's remark about programmed playback now makes this one more complete.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 18:14