IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

275 Pages V  « < 269 270 271 272 273 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
[seemingly abandonware] Columns UI, alternative user interface
Solynth
post Jul 12 2012, 14:38
Post #6751





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 20-February 12
Member No.: 97273



QUOTE (derty2 @ Jul 12 2012, 21:16) *
Do you have a reason for putting Pipe or Dash characters between syntax variables in your sort script?

I looked into this once and tried a little test. . .read my Post (from Jun 15 2011) here


Ah thanks, I just assumed you were supposed to use pipes as that's all I've seen when looking up my problem.
My sort script reads:

CODE
%album artist% %date% %album% %tracknumber%


But I still have the same problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
derty2
post Jul 12 2012, 14:56
Post #6752





Group: Members
Posts: 559
Joined: 5-June 11
Member No.: 91257



So your sort problem relates to the view in your playlist viewer: NG Playlist ?
Have you checked the sort script for each of your columns ?
Especially check the sort script for the first column (on the left).

This post has been edited by derty2: Jul 12 2012, 14:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Solynth
post Jul 12 2012, 15:42
Post #6753





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 20-February 12
Member No.: 97273



QUOTE (derty2 @ Jul 12 2012, 21:56) *
So your sort problem relates to the view in your playlist viewer: NG Playlist ?
Have you checked the sort script for each of your columns ?
Especially check the sort script for the first column (on the left).


Hm, I've tried that before but I just double checked, still doesn't fix it.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
derty2
post Jul 12 2012, 15:50
Post #6754





Group: Members
Posts: 559
Joined: 5-June 11
Member No.: 91257



%path_sort% %album artist% %date% %album% %tracknumber%

Put that sort script in every single column (except the info columns such as Bitrate and Length)

This post has been edited by derty2: Jul 12 2012, 15:52
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Solynth
post Jul 12 2012, 15:54
Post #6755





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 20-February 12
Member No.: 97273



QUOTE (derty2 @ Jul 12 2012, 22:50) *
%path_sort% %album artist% %date% %album% %tracknumber%

Put that sort script in every single column (except the info columns such as Bitrate and Length)


Done, it still doesn't want to work though.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
derty2
post Jul 12 2012, 15:58
Post #6756





Group: Members
Posts: 559
Joined: 5-June 11
Member No.: 91257



You mean to tell me that if you click on the header bar of any column containing that sort script
NG Playlist still refuses to sort all the items as expected!!!??? ...I find this hard to believe.

This post has been edited by derty2: Jul 12 2012, 16:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Solynth
post Jul 13 2012, 01:58
Post #6757





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 20-February 12
Member No.: 97273



QUOTE (derty2 @ Jul 12 2012, 22:58) *
You mean to tell me that if you click on the header bar of any column containing that sort script
NG Playlist still refuses to sort all the items as expected!!!??? ...I find this hard to believe.


I'm at work now, I can screenshot it for you when I get home, but I copied the exact script you posted and put it in all the columns (except length and bitrate) and selected "Use custom sort script"
After refreshing the playlist, and opening and closing foobar those albums are still out of order. It's strange because I've never had this problem before and it's only started happening recently with albums I add. They just end up in alphabetical order instead of track order.

What am I missing?

Also I should let you know that all my other albums I added before this started happening are in correct track order, but these 3 or so I've added recently aren't.

This post has been edited by Solynth: Jul 13 2012, 01:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FichteFoll
post Jul 13 2012, 03:18
Post #6758





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 30-April 12
Member No.: 99350



QUOTE (derty2 @ Jul 12 2012, 15:58) *
You mean to tell me that if you click on the header bar of any column containing that sort script
NG Playlist still refuses to sort all the items as expected!!!??? ...I find this hard to believe.



QUOTE (Solynth @ Jul 13 2012, 01:58) *
After refreshing the playlist, and opening and closing foobar those albums are still out of order. It's strange because I've never had this problem before and it's only started happening recently with albums I add. They just end up in alphabetical order instead of track order.


Did you actually click on any of the columns' headers to sort the playlist? foobar won't autosort your playlists, you have to trigger that manually. You can define various sorting patterns for various actions like drag'n'drop or when using the library filters but if you want to auto-sort you playlist you probably have to create an auto-playlist, use "SORT BY %" in the query and select "force sorting" or how it was. AFAIK.

This post has been edited by FichteFoll: Jul 13 2012, 03:19
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Solynth
post Jul 13 2012, 07:40
Post #6759





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 20-February 12
Member No.: 97273



QUOTE (FichteFoll @ Jul 13 2012, 10:18) *
QUOTE (derty2 @ Jul 12 2012, 15:58) *
You mean to tell me that if you click on the header bar of any column containing that sort script
NG Playlist still refuses to sort all the items as expected!!!??? ...I find this hard to believe.



QUOTE (Solynth @ Jul 13 2012, 01:58) *
After refreshing the playlist, and opening and closing foobar those albums are still out of order. It's strange because I've never had this problem before and it's only started happening recently with albums I add. They just end up in alphabetical order instead of track order.


Did you actually click on any of the columns' headers to sort the playlist? foobar won't autosort your playlists, you have to trigger that manually. You can define various sorting patterns for various actions like drag'n'drop or when using the library filters but if you want to auto-sort you playlist you probably have to create an auto-playlist, use "SORT BY %" in the query and select "force sorting" or how it was. AFAIK.


I don't have column headers in my playlist, it's always worked before though and the tracks have always been in order.
Also I have an artist list on the left side and when I click on the artist it automatically sorts the albums and sends them to the NG Playlist.
I don't want to have to click the Track Number header, then the Album, then the Date every single time. I thought it was supposed to do that when I chose an artist in the artist panel?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
danyal711
post Jul 13 2012, 09:21
Post #6760





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 12-July 12
Member No.: 101363



QUOTE (BenB @ Jul 12 2012, 10:55) *
QUOTE (danyal711 @ Jul 12 2012, 02:55) *
I'm fairly new to Columns UI and have poured through most of the options but can't figure out how to do the following...


Documentation on Columns UI can be found here. I also suggest that you read the information contained and linked to here.

You can also google "columns ui" for more information, as well as read this thread.

It would help if you could be more specific other than telling us what the panels contain. What exactly are you using in your layout?


Hi Ben,

I've actually read through both of those guides and gone through all the options with a fine tooth comb to no avail. When you say "What exactly are you using in your layout what do you mean? The main components are 2 filters (artist/album) and the NG Playlist. And in the previous question I am referring to the fact that the NG Playlist isn't sorted by date by default (when I click on the artist filter which then dumps all tracks from that artist into the NG Playlist).

Another question I have is, I'm using all of this in conjunction with foo_upnp. Is there any way I can make the default action play via upnp rather than play locally. I've looked through all the shortcuts etc and can't find a way to do this. Right now I have to right click on the song I want to play, go to UPNP Controller, and then "Play on Device". It would be far better if I could default the double click action to send to the UPNP playlist etc.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
szasz
post Jul 15 2012, 13:31
Post #6761





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 15-July 12
Member No.: 101440



Hi, i've been using %directoryname% (playlist view > grouping) line to sort files, it fixed various artist problem, I just have to rename folders to what i want to display on playlist. Now my question: is there a way to sort files using %directoryname% but to display things like %album%, %artist%, %date% without showing folder name at front of the line so i don't have to rename every folder and fix lowercase and other things?

This post has been edited by szasz: Jul 15 2012, 13:42
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
FichteFoll
post Jul 16 2012, 12:46
Post #6762





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 30-April 12
Member No.: 99350



QUOTE (szasz @ Jul 15 2012, 13:31) *
Hi, i've been using %directoryname% (playlist view > grouping) line to sort files, it fixed various artist problem, I just have to rename folders to what i want to display on playlist. Now my question: is there a way to sort files using %directoryname% but to display things like %album%, %artist%, %date% without showing folder name at front of the line so i don't have to rename every folder and fix lowercase and other things?


You can set different sort scripts to the columns than what is actually displayed. Goto Preferences > Columns UI > Playlist view > Tab: Cloumns and select the column whose sorting you want to change. I chose my "Queue number" column for this because I will probably never sort by the queue (I have an own panel for that). So I went on to the "Scripts" tab and entered this:
CODE
$if2(%album artist%,$char(66000)) |
$if2(%date%,0000) |
$if2(%album%,$char(66000)) |
$if2(%discnumber%,$char(66000)) |
$if2(%tracknumber%,$char(66000))


The $char(66000) thing is so that those files which don't have the field are displayed at the bottom. Don't forget to select "Use costum sort script" and you're done.
Every time you click that column header the playlist will be sorted according to that.


The grouping thing is a bit different. If the grouping string of a file is equal to the above's it will add the track to the group. If it's not equal a new group will be created. If your sorting is messed up (e.g. the list has random artists) but your group selector uses the %artist% tag you're pretty much fucked. You can disable/enable the grouping for specific playlist names though (it supports wildcards, so you can use "NG:*" for example and name every playlist where you don't want groups like "NG:Some list").

Hope that helps.

This post has been edited by FichteFoll: Jul 16 2012, 12:46
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sentriz
post Jul 16 2012, 13:24
Post #6763





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 4-July 12
Member No.: 101166



Is is possible to remove grouping per playlist in ColoumnsUI? Please help. unsure.gif
Thanks in advance,
Senan cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
szasz
post Jul 16 2012, 16:29
Post #6764





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 15-July 12
Member No.: 101440



QUOTE (FichteFoll @ Jul 16 2012, 13:46) *
The grouping thing is a bit different. If the grouping string of a file is equal to the above's it will add the track to the group. If it's not equal a new group will be created. If your sorting is messed up (e.g. the list has random artists) but your group selector uses the %artist% tag you're pretty much fucked. You can disable/enable the grouping for specific playlist names though (it supports wildcards, so you can use "NG:*" for example and name every playlist where you don't want groups like "NG:Some list").

Thanks it will do the job
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WilB
post Jul 16 2012, 16:48
Post #6765





Group: Members
Posts: 259
Joined: 20-July 06
Member No.: 33113



@sentrix
If I understand you correctly, then you can do this with el_playlist since it has a playlist filter which enables association of presets (including grouping format) with specific playlists. Leaving the group format blank will remove grouping. It has a steep learning curve. I think you can also do it in a similar way with es_playlist based on looking at the available options, but I have not tried this. It is easier to get to grips with than el_playlist.
el_playlist: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=62133
es_playlist: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=79030
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Aug 2 2012, 12:55
Post #6766





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5157
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Just a notification: Iíve amended this threadís title in line with the thread for foo_dop and its recent posts, where I requested that users focus on helping themselves and others use the plugin rather than speculating about its future or developer. This isnít much of a problem here, as discussion is usually about usage and rarely about development, but I hope it can still help to preclude repetition of currently fruitless subjects in favour of productive discussion. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Graeme_D
post Aug 4 2012, 17:04
Post #6767





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 17-June 11
Member No.: 91597



Hi

Ive been using Foobar for a while to playback my FLACs, however ive never tried to customize it until now. Im a complete noob to this customizing, i started off with Columns UI and Album List addons to begin with. Trying to keep my Layout as simple as possible, but just need to know how to group the following album together into one (see pic), so the header for the album sees it as one album with two disks?



Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greensdrive
post Aug 4 2012, 17:19
Post #6768





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 20-May 11
Member No.: 90802



I could be wrong, but this seems like a tag issue. look at the "Disc 1" and "Disc 2" part. suggestion: make the two albums the same album title, and put the fact that they're different discs somewhere else in tags.

EDIT: then you'll just have to find a way to sort them without seeing track one of disc one come right before track one of disc two.

This post has been edited by greensdrive: Aug 4 2012, 17:20
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Graeme_D
post Aug 4 2012, 17:42
Post #6769





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 17-June 11
Member No.: 91597



QUOTE (greensdrive @ Aug 4 2012, 17:19) *
I could be wrong, but this seems like a tag issue. look at the "Disc 1" and "Disc 2" part. suggestion: make the two albums the same album title, and put the fact that they're different discs somewhere else in tags.

EDIT: then you'll just have to find a way to sort them without seeing track one of disc one come right before track one of disc two.



Hi greensdrive

Your probably right it could be a tagging issue. Could the tags be edited in Foobar by any chance?

Also how do i go about changing the Background colour in preferences?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BenB
post Aug 4 2012, 17:53
Post #6770





Group: Members
Posts: 626
Joined: 17-April 12
Member No.: 98921



Columns UI displays groups according to the settings located at Preferences > Display > Columns UI > Playlist view > Grouping tab.

Select the files you want to modify and hit "Alt"+"Enter".

Text (foreground) and background color settings are located at Preferences > Display > Columns UI > Colours and fonts.


BTW there's no need to quote the post you're responding to when it immediately precedes your post.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eightcore
post Aug 4 2012, 19:21
Post #6771





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-August 12
Member No.: 102013



Hello community.




As you can see, the tracks get grouped by artist and album name. That's a bit confusing (see the tracks of Coldplay).

This "problem" appears since I've installed ColumnsUI and SQL-Tree. In normal view, tracks get grouped by artist name only which is much clearer in my case.

How can I bring fb2k to group tracks only by artist name?

TIA

This post has been edited by eightcore: Aug 4 2012, 19:22
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Graeme_D
post Aug 4 2012, 19:49
Post #6772





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 17-June 11
Member No.: 91597



QUOTE (BenB @ Aug 4 2012, 17:53) *
Columns UI displays groups according to the settings located at Preferences > Display > Columns UI > Playlist view > Grouping tab.

Select the files you want to modify and hit "Alt"+"Enter".

Text (foreground) and background color settings are located at Preferences > Display > Columns UI > Colours and fonts.


BTW there's no need to quote the post you're responding to when it immediately precedes your post.


Oh im very sorry rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
prateek88
post Aug 4 2012, 19:59
Post #6773





Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 21-January 12
Member No.: 96605



QUOTE (eightcore @ Aug 4 2012, 20:21) *
How can I bring fb2k to group tracks only by artist name?

TIA


You need to change the grouping settings using title format
press ctrl+p or file -> preferences ->coloumns ui - > playlist view - > grouping tab and add the suitable TF string like %artist%

Edit: this would be more nice -

CODE
[$if2(%artist%,%album%)]


This post has been edited by prateek88: Aug 4 2012, 20:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eightcore
post Aug 4 2012, 20:05
Post #6774





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-August 12
Member No.: 102013



Thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Graeme_D
post Aug 4 2012, 20:32
Post #6775





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 17-June 11
Member No.: 91597



Ive managed to sort these by the 'disk number' and 'total disk' fields in the metadata. However is there anyway that i can make some form of sub-header that says Disk 2? Can this be done in Grouping under Playlist View in Preferences?



Thanks

This post has been edited by Graeme_D: Aug 4 2012, 20:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

275 Pages V  « < 269 270 271 272 273 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 12:47