IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
trying to convert batch files to shell scripts, wanting to use linux version of lame
kaibab
post Apr 13 2005, 15:51
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-April 05
Member No.: 21404



here is what i am trying to do
convert wavs to mp3s
i just need some help in converting dos batch files to linux shell scripts
here is a link to give you more info
http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-39733.html

This post has been edited by kaibab: Apr 13 2005, 15:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Apr 13 2005, 15:57
Post #2


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4853
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



The problem is probably that you need to mark the scripts as executable on linux.

For example

chmod u+x myscriptname.sh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kaibab
post Apr 13 2005, 15:59
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-April 05
Member No.: 21404



i am kinda new to doing shell scripting

This post has been edited by kaibab: Apr 13 2005, 16:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Benjamin Lebsanf...
post Apr 13 2005, 16:59
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 761
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 40



OT:
may I ask why you use -b 192 and -B 320 when using -V4 ? -mj is also the default. Seems odd.

If you use bash, you need something like:

CODE
list=`ls ~/path-to-your-waves`

for files in $list
do
 if [[ -f $files && ${files: -3} == "wav" ]]; then
     lame -V4 $files
 fi
done


This post has been edited by Benjamin Lebsanft: Apr 13 2005, 17:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xmixahlx
post Apr 13 2005, 18:02
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1394
Joined: 20-December 01
From: seattle
Member No.: 693



just write a for/do script to encode.

CODE
#!/bin/sh
for file in *wav
do
lame --alt-preset standard "$file"
done


CODE
#!/bin/sh
for dir in *
do
cd "$dir"
~/bin/myfuzzylamescript.sh
cd ..
done


--------------------
RareWares/Debian :: http://www.rarewares.org/debian.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kaibab
post Apr 14 2005, 21:45
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-April 05
Member No.: 21404



i have tried the scripts in the way that my batch files were written: bash -x scriptname.sh
it said it couldn't find the files
how do split the commands so you can use only one shell script file?
do i need to add #!/bin/bash before each lame command?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kaibab
post Apr 14 2005, 21:46
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-April 05
Member No.: 21404



i have tried the scripts in the way that my batch files were written: bash -x scriptname.sh
it said it couldn't find the files
how do split the commands so you can use only one shell script file?
do i need to add #!/bin/bash before each lame command?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kaibab
post Apr 14 2005, 21:47
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-April 05
Member No.: 21404



i have tried the scripts in the way that my batch files were written: bash -x scriptname.sh
it said it couldn't find the files
how do split the commands so you can use only one shell script file?
do i need to add #!/bin/bash before each lame command?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kaibab
post Apr 14 2005, 21:48
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-April 05
Member No.: 21404



i have tried the scripts in the way that my batch files were written: bash -x scriptname.sh
it said it couldn't find the files
how do split the commands so you can use only one shell script file?
do i need to add #!/bin/bash before each lame command?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xmixahlx
post Apr 15 2005, 00:12
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1394
Joined: 20-December 01
From: seattle
Member No.: 693



whoa there... settle down

try $ sh scriptname.sh


--------------------
RareWares/Debian :: http://www.rarewares.org/debian.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kaibab
post Apr 15 2005, 01:56
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12-April 05
Member No.: 21404



QUOTE (xmixahlx @ Apr 14 2005, 05:12 PM)
whoa there... settle down

sorry about the triple posting
the stupid browser wouldn't load the next page this morning
the connection showed that it wasn't loading anything

This post has been edited by kaibab: Apr 15 2005, 01:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 23:22