IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

25 Pages V  « < 18 19 20 21 22 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
LyricsDB discussion, discussion of the foo_lyricsdb plugin
dug
post Jan 12 2009, 13:15
Post #476





Group: Developer
Posts: 157
Joined: 22-June 05
Member No.: 22902



oops everyone. server was up and running, but after some power failures the database was corrupted. Seems I have successfuly repaired it, so the service is working again

This post has been edited by dug: Jan 12 2009, 13:47


--------------------
dezisehtnys eb lliw noitulover eht
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nightgaunt
post Jan 15 2009, 06:28
Post #477





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 20-June 05
Member No.: 22867



looks like it might be down again?

(not to appear thankless -- it's a great plug-in. thanks so much!)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nightgaunt
post Jan 17 2009, 04:11
Post #478





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 20-June 05
Member No.: 22867



QUOTE (nightgaunt @ Jan 15 2009, 00:28) *
looks like it might be down again?

(not to appear thankless -- it's a great plug-in. thanks so much!)


ne'er mind, it's back up. thanks again!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
myvision
post Jan 17 2009, 15:48
Post #479





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 20-February 07
Member No.: 40799



First of all great plugin, many thanks for keeping up the work!

Now my question: smile.gif
Is there a possibility to save the lyrics to a file? Because I don't want to save all of my lyrics in the %Lyrics%-Tag. Instead I save 'em all in /Lyrics/%artist%/%album%/%title%.txt

If there is no possibilty yet, could you just add a button to save the lyrics to a file?
I think it wouldn't be much work, because the files are already a *.txt on the server.

Thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mobyduck
post Jan 18 2009, 09:13
Post #480





Group: Members
Posts: 570
Joined: 24-April 03
From: Italy
Member No.: 6159



QUOTE (myvision @ Jan 17 2009, 06:48) *
could you just add a button to save the lyrics to a file?
Maybe you can achieve that using foo_utils.

HTH.

Alessandro
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
myvision
post Jan 18 2009, 14:31
Post #481





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 20-February 07
Member No.: 40799



Thanks for your fast reply.
But I don't get it. How can foo_utils be helpful to me? Could you explain it to me? Many Thanks in advance.

Otherwise, I think the easiest and fastest way is to surf the internet for the lyrics and save 'em manually in a file. sad.gif

This post has been edited by myvision: Jan 18 2009, 14:56
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mobyduck
post Jan 19 2009, 09:44
Post #482





Group: Members
Posts: 570
Joined: 24-April 03
From: Italy
Member No.: 6159



QUOTE
Format text from track information and copy to clipboard or save to file
Form http://foosion.foobar2000.org/components/?...on=0.6.2+beta+6

It seems to me this was mainly used to create nicely formatted HTML files, but I guess nothing would stop you from creating a plain text file containing only the LYRICS tag. And I suppose you can also create a keyboard shortcut to activate this functionality.

Please note that I never actually tried it, so this is pure speculation on my part.

HTH.

Alessandro

This post has been edited by mobyduck: Jan 19 2009, 09:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
aereogramme
post Jan 19 2009, 22:27
Post #483





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 25-May 05
Member No.: 22299



I am using the default foobar and i was wondering if it was possible to put the lyrics in just a tab? like the UI elements?

thanks in advance
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ritsl
post Jan 20 2009, 09:54
Post #484





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 2-December 06
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 38275



QUOTE (aereogramme @ Jan 19 2009, 22:27) *
I am using the default foobar and i was wondering if it was possible to put the lyrics in just a tab? like the UI elements?

Use the Text Display component.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
aereogramme
post Jan 20 2009, 18:45
Post #485





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 25-May 05
Member No.: 22299



Ahhhh! Thank you very much. Greatly appreciated!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dug
post Jan 29 2009, 13:03
Post #486





Group: Developer
Posts: 157
Joined: 22-June 05
Member No.: 22902



yep, going down for about 8 hours.
may be we do need a twitter account for messages like that?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Talion
post Mar 4 2009, 22:04
Post #487





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-February 09
Member No.: 66653



Thanks for your plugin, it is exactly what I was looking for.

I'm using foobar on Linux with Wine, and lyricsdb did not work out of the box for me. It is necessary to override the wine dll msxml3.dll (and maybe msxml3r.dll) with an original windows dll. I am using the dll from my old Windows XP installation and now lyricsdb is working just fine for me.
(Just in case there are others with the same problem.)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dug
post Mar 4 2009, 22:56
Post #488





Group: Developer
Posts: 157
Joined: 22-June 05
Member No.: 22902



QUOTE (Talion @ Mar 5 2009, 00:04) *
(Just in case there are others with the same problem.)

oh, thanks, man, I'll place that somewhere on the site.

And by the way, it's still that bad with media players under linux? ;)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Talion
post Mar 6 2009, 10:04
Post #489





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-February 09
Member No.: 66653



QUOTE (dug @ Mar 4 2009, 22:56) *
And by the way, it's still that bad with media players under linux? wink.gif

There are some players that are quite okay, but nothing like Foobar. The only thing I am missing with Wine-Foobar is Drag&Drop-Support, everything else is working perfectly fine and I could keep all my foobar-customizations from my old windows installation by just copying it to Linux. Could be worse wink.gif


There are many lyrics in the database that have only the first 1-20 characters of the text and the rest is missing. One example is the complete "Hedniskhjärtad" album by Vintersorg, e.g. http://lyrics.mirkforce.net/vintersorg/norrland.txt and http://lyrics.mirkforce.net/vintersorg/stilla.txt
Does this happen due to a software bug, or is it just a careless edit by some users?

Other look like this: http://lyrics.mirkforce.net/ulver/ulvsblakk.txt
Is this some kind of automatic lyrics import or again careless editing?

(I know I can correct them myself and I'll do that whenever I find the time, but it's way to much to correct them all at once.)


Oh, and why is the FAQ visible only after login? (It's not very helpful yet, but anyway wink.gif )

This post has been edited by Talion: Mar 6 2009, 11:42
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foolver
post May 17 2009, 15:34
Post #490





Group: Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 5-October 08
Member No.: 59414



there's a very annoying bug which happens when it says "some network problem, aborting" which cause it not to abort, ever, and the window just stays frozen, so i can only remove by restarting foobar.


great plugin, nevertheless
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EeKuM
post Jun 3 2009, 18:52
Post #491





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 4-October 06
Member No.: 35962



Just wondering if this is on my end or a server problem...

Always says - [Lyrics not available] in my player

Is there an option I am missing?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anas
post Jun 4 2009, 10:11
Post #492





Group: Members
Posts: 466
Joined: 9-May 05
From: Deutschland
Member No.: 21968



QUOTE (Talion @ Mar 4 2009, 23:04) *
I'm using foobar on Linux with Wine, and lyricsdb did not work out of the box for me. It is necessary to override the wine dll msxml3.dll (and maybe msxml3r.dll) with an original windows dll. I am using the dll from my old Windows XP installation and now lyricsdb is working just fine for me.
(Just in case there are others with the same problem.)

This is just the information I was looking for, thanks a lot. I was wondering why lyricsdb didn't work. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nemphael
post Jun 22 2009, 15:32
Post #493





Group: Members
Posts: 244
Joined: 19-March 07
Member No.: 41623



Is there an easy way to upload lyrics? Something like a, "Check if server has lyrics" or an "Only upload if lyrics are missing" command would make things easier. Maybe the component could show both server side and client side lyrics to let users compare them before submitting.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mobyduck
post Jun 22 2009, 16:02
Post #494





Group: Members
Posts: 570
Joined: 24-April 03
From: Italy
Member No.: 6159



QUOTE (Nemphael @ Jun 22 2009, 06:32) *
Is there an easy way to upload lyrics?
Like Right click -> Export to db you mean? But, if I'm not mistaken, it's extremely basic: if a song is already in the db, it will create a "twin" and you (or someone else) will have to use the web interface to do the cleanup.

HTH.

Alessandro

This post has been edited by mobyduck: Jun 22 2009, 16:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nemphael
post Jun 22 2009, 16:21
Post #495





Group: Members
Posts: 244
Joined: 19-March 07
Member No.: 41623



That sounds like time consuming, potentially unnecessary work. (In addition,) Its web interface seems to be kind of slow.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mobyduck
post Jun 22 2009, 18:18
Post #496





Group: Members
Posts: 570
Joined: 24-April 03
From: Italy
Member No.: 6159



QUOTE (Nemphael @ Jun 22 2009, 07:21) *
That sounds like time consuming, potentially unnecessary work. (In addition,) Its web interface seems to be kind of slow.
You are right, but I don't think dug is actively developing the plugin and the site anymore (yes, a real shame because it's a great project IMHO). We'll have to make the best out of what we have today... hoping it will be still here tomorrow. wink.gif

Alessandro
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
x89x
post Jul 15 2009, 10:29
Post #497





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 22-June 09
Member No.: 70896



Its almost a week now am facing this problem!



Says some network problems, aborting

Was working perfectly fine for more than months! Why this problem suddenly??
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
v.43
post Jul 15 2009, 13:20
Post #498





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 2-June 09
Member No.: 70339



QUOTE (x89x @ Jul 15 2009, 10:29) *
Its almost a week now am facing this problem!

Says some network problems, aborting

Was working perfectly fine for more than months! Why this problem suddenly??


same here. the site is down too. is it the end of this great project? sad.gif

This post has been edited by v.43: Jul 15 2009, 13:21
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dug
post Jul 16 2009, 09:16
Post #499





Group: Developer
Posts: 157
Joined: 22-June 05
Member No.: 22902



goddddemit

I just freaking hate my hosting service and hope to change it in a week o less

sorry folks and thanks for your patience


--------------------
dezisehtnys eb lliw noitulover eht
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
blonde
post Jul 16 2009, 14:43
Post #500





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Eastern Canada
Member No.: 45402



Thanks for looking into it.

I had noticed this a couple of weeks ago, but assumed it was a work/proxy thing. I should have spoken up earlier.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

25 Pages V  « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 16:49