Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: Rip Problems Mystery (Read 1784 times) previous topic - next topic

Rip Problems Mystery

First off... I hope I posted this in the right place... I'm new to HA and it didn't really seem to fit in any of the other forums...

I was hoping someone with a little more technical knowledge could shed some light on what exactly happened when I tried to rip my CD.

Here's the story:

I have a brand new, unscratched, copy of the Rooney, CD, which, to the best of my knowledge does not have any DRM software on it. I have been ripping my entire collection in ALAC on a WinXPSP2 PC using iTunes 6.0.1.3, with error correction turned on. I have a Samsung DVD+-RW drive (which is my main drive) and an older Samsung 52x CD-RW drive. All of the tracks except 6 and 7 ripped with no problems. Track 6 had skips in it, track 7 was only :07 seconds long.

So I deleted the bad files and tried to re-rip in the CD-RW... same results. Perplexed, I closed iTunes and opened EAC to rip the .wav files (figuring I would just covert them to ALAC in iTunes and delete the originals). EAC got 2% into tack 6, then stopped responding. I rebooted the machine, and tried track 7... which had sync and read errors. Let me reiterate, this is a brand new, unscrated CD...