IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
can't foobar surport 'cue' file in unicode?
mebanna
post Dec 16 2005, 19:00
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 26-August 05
Member No.: 24136



I've study with the FAQ post, but not understood what the "code" means at all sad.gif

OS: winxp simple-chinese version, Foobar v0.83 Special.

My problem: some ape files can't keep tag informations come from FREEDB. Like this:
Kantate BWV 145 - III. Aria (B): Merke, mein Herze, bestndig nur dies
Kantate BWV 145 - IV. Recitativo (B): Mein Jesus lebt
Kantate BWV 145 - V. Choral: Drum wir auch billig frhlich sein


the RED part always become "?" after restart FOOBAR, just like this
Kantate BWV 145 - III. Aria (B): Merke, mein Herze, best?ndig nur dies
Kantate BWV 145 - IV. Recitativo (B): Mein Jesus lebt
Kantate BWV 145 - V. Choral: Drum wir auch billig fr?hlich sein


I've tried to copy them to the CUE files(open with "notepad" program).
But when I try to save the modified CUE, an alert window always jump out and advise me to save it in "unicode" because "the file include unicode characters, it will lose when be saved in ANSI code. To save those unicode informations, click "cancel" and choose Unicode from code list".
I followed it to save the CUE files in unicode. But another alert window jump out from FOOBAR program when I double-click the new cue files to paly the ape files, like this:
INFO (CORE) : startup time: 451 ms
INFO (CORE) : opening file for playback :
INFO (CORE) : location: "file://D:\Classic\newo\Bach VOL11\CD4\CD 92.044ddddddddddddddddd.cue" (0)
ERROR (CORE) : error opening file for playback :
INFO (CORE) : location: "file://D:\Classic\newo\Bach VOL11\CD4\CD 92.044ddddddddddddddddd.cue" (0)


That's why I question: can't foobar surport 'cue' file in unicode?
Infact, it's not my point.
I just wanna know: How to keep those characters instead of "?" into the cue files?
I hate those "?" !

At the end, thanks for your patience with my stiff English tongue.gif ----I just wanna you know one thing: No matter how much time have you spent to understand my post, I did the triple to finish it crying.gif

This post has been edited by mebanna: Dec 16 2005, 19:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gfngfgf
post Dec 16 2005, 21:30
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 899
Joined: 2-November 04
Member No.: 17951



In version 0.8.3, foobar2000 supports reading CUE files that are encoded in UTF-8 (at least that's my experience), but always writes CUE files in ANSI (hence the '?'s). More discussion in this thread:

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....hl=cue++unicode
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lyx
post Dec 16 2005, 22:17
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3353
Joined: 6-July 03
From: Sachsen (DE)
Member No.: 7609



I dont know what is going to happen in 0.9 - anyways, here's my personal opinion:

1. cuesheet-standard (as in "what most other applications support and do) doesn't support unicode
2. therefore, if fb2k would write cuesheets in UTF8, then they would only be compatible with foobar
3. in that case however, it basically isn't a cuesheet anymore but instead a new vendor-specific format - the only similarity would be the fileextension... which would only lead to ambiguity
4. thus, unicode cuesheets should be a seperate format. But such a format does already exist: APL
5. thus, if you need support with other apps, use ansi cuesheets - if you need unicode, use APL

- Lyx


--------------------
I am arrogant and I can afford it because I deliver.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kjoonlee
post Dec 17 2005, 03:58
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2526
Joined: 25-July 02
From: South Korea
Member No.: 2782



Personally, I don't use cuesheets much, and I'll probably use APL files in the future.

However, one thing I'm curious about is .m3u and .m3u8. Why hasn't a UTF-8 -aware .cue8 been created?


--------------------
http://blacksun.ivyro.net/vorbis/vorbisfaq.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mebanna
post Dec 23 2005, 15:45
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 26-August 05
Member No.: 24136



Thanks for all responses.

with your guides, I restudied the FAQ & HELP post these days and now I'm able to know something about "code".beer.gif
specialy, APL is an amazing solution of solving unrecognized characters. I do haven't thought it can be used on this way.

here comes an other question: is there any way to combine those APL files into one files? I mean "each track with one APL" confuses me sometimes.

Does my english look better? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mebanna: Dec 23 2005, 16:11
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 01:14