Skip to main content

Notice

Please note that most of the software linked on this forum is likely to be safe to use. If you are unsure, feel free to ask in the relevant topics, or send a private message to an administrator or moderator. To help curb the problems of false positives, or in the event that you do find actual malware, you can contribute through the article linked here.
Topic: ABC/HR rating scale accuracy (Read 4006 times) previous topic - next topic

ABC/HR rating scale accuracy

I am far from a statistics expert, and am hoping to learn more about testing multiple codecs. The ABX explanation states that an ABC/HR test is performed by comparing two files A and B to the original C and rating both A and B on a scale from 1 to 5. Based on my naive analysis, it appears the linked Friedman test (I found The Friedman Test for 3 or More Correlated Samples easier to follow) ignores the weights of the rankings and merely records the fact that, say, A was ranked above B. Does anyone have links or references on choosing between the Friedman test and the linked ANOVA test? My first reaction is that relying on the listener to accurately rate the samples on a given scale has problems similar to the ratings voting method (from a site advocating Ranked Pairs, which appears very similar to the Friedman test). Given the blind nature of the ABC/HR test, it would (unless the listener can identify specific codecs) be immune to the intentional gaming found in elections but would seem susceptible to the concern "Consider that a person who tends to see things in extremes, and therefore rates candidates toward the top or bottom of the scale may influence the race between certain candidates many times more powerfully than people who are more measured in their opinions."