IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

14 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_uie_playlists_dropdown, Playlists Dropdown - Columns UI Extension
mil3s
post May 31 2006, 13:47
Post #76





Group: Members
Posts: 400
Joined: 22-February 06
Member No.: 27971



I like the first alternative.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bachi-Bouzouk
post May 31 2006, 13:52
Post #77





Group: Members
Posts: 591
Joined: 3-May 05
From: Dijon, France
Member No.: 21852



I will send you a personal message in the coming minutes wink.gif (I will just remove audioscrobbler and foo sic plugins, to keep my stats personal wink.gif )


It 's not hard to see this probleme appear, just resize the seekbar, first far from your plugin (i.e. 5-10 pixels of grey comming from your panel) then stick the seekbar to your plugin, and try to expand the dropdown menu smile.gif (Try 2 or 3 times if it does not work the first)

This post has been edited by Bachi-Bouzouk: May 31 2006, 13:53


--------------------
Foobar 0.9.X manual - http://eolindel.free.fr/foobar0.9/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mazy
post May 31 2006, 14:02
Post #78





Group: Members
Posts: 680
Joined: 11-July 03
From: Brno, Czech Rep.
Member No.: 7705



about those dividers, it's not easy task (i.e. if it should work universaly, taking sorting and other issues into account as mixcherry suggested).

i think that #1 is the way to go (for ppl who want this feature). you can already implement it (given you have font with connected dashes / lines). so maybe something like this should be enough:

1) checkbox + editbox "treat playlists with this name as dividers"
2) some customization of the divider (line color, height, background ...) and maybe checkbox + editbox "use this titleformatting to draw the divider"
3) really nice feature of this (direct support for divider playlists) would be that user couldn't switch to divider playlist (i.e. make it active) through foo_uie_playlists_dropdown (the line wouldn't get highlighted). plus bonus would be to prevent this foobar-wide (when divider playlist gets active -> select the next one or something like this; maybe track active playlist changes and select the next in the direction the change was made, but that's a lot of work i guess)


--------------------
info about my tag guesser script for foo_lua (preview version available):
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?showtopic=16987
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mil3s
post May 31 2006, 14:26
Post #79





Group: Members
Posts: 400
Joined: 22-February 06
Member No.: 27971



^ For mixcherrys sake I think he should keep it simple. Number 2 and 3 are completly unnecessary imo. Though it should be possible to select a divider.

Number 1 wouldn't be necessary either. A simple '-' could be set to create a divider without any special settings.

This post has been edited by mil3s: May 31 2006, 14:29
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mazy
post May 31 2006, 15:05
Post #80





Group: Members
Posts: 680
Joined: 11-July 03
From: Brno, Czech Rep.
Member No.: 7705



well i use empty name for separators (looks good enough without any formatting).

as for 2), i wouldn't use simple horizontal lines, as i use vertical pseudo-columns in my formatting.

ad 3), that would be real workflow enhancement for me (even only the basic, foo_uie_playlists_dropdown-internal version)

edit: thinking about it, for the looks of separators, special field for titleformatting for them isn't needed, as i already use the normal one and i do special things for playlists i consider separators. only thing i miss is the ability to change background color for them.

so maybe way to set background color, line color and checkbox "draw separator line". if not checked, it would display whatever the default formatting would return with the exception of using separator's background color.

This post has been edited by mazy: May 31 2006, 15:10


--------------------
info about my tag guesser script for foo_lua (preview version available):
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?showtopic=16987
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xliu5
post May 31 2006, 18:10
Post #81





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 1-March 05
Member No.: 20266



Don't know if it is a bug or not. The %filesize% tag does not report correct information on files other than mp3 (e.g. cue+ape).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mixcherry
post May 31 2006, 19:30
Post #82





Group: Developer
Posts: 255
Joined: 9-July 04
From: Poland / Warsaw
Member No.: 15201



QUOTE (Bachi-Bouzouk @ May 31 2006, 14:52) *
It 's not hard to see this probleme appear, just resize the seekbar, first far from your plugin (i.e. 5-10 pixels of grey comming from your panel) then stick the seekbar to your plugin, and try to expand the dropdown menu smile.gif (Try 2 or 3 times if it does not work the first)
Thank you! I finally managed to generate this problem!! (thanks to your description) This is rather hard to fix, because the bug occurs kind of randomly :/ ouch...

To all people who have this problem with 'sometimes-not-showing-dropdown-list'. Please, mark the 'Set max height' option (on my plugin's Preferences page) -> you'll have to reset foobar! Does the problem steel occur when the option 'Set max height' is turned ON?

QUOTE (mazy @ May 31 2006, 15:02) *
some customization of the divider (line color, height, background ...) and maybe checkbox + editbox "use this titleformatting to draw the divider"
The divider-line would have to be the same height as all other dropdown lines - that's because I use CBS_OWNERDRAWFIXED window style (and not CBS_OWNERDRAWVARIABLE), if you know what I mean tongue.gif For non-developer, this means that all lines in dropdown-list must be the same height. And I'm not going to change this.

I think I won't give option to change separator's background color. I'd rather prefer the ability to change each line's background smile.gif Maybe something similar to $set_style(...)?... who knows?... wink.gif

My aim was to keep my all prefereneces on one page biggrin.gif As long as this aim is reached, I think that this plugin is simple and not over-bloated smile.gif

QUOTE (mazy @ May 31 2006, 15:02) *
really nice feature of this (direct support for divider playlists) would be that user couldn't switch to divider playlist (i.e. make it active) through foo_uie_playlists_dropdown (the line wouldn't get highlighted).
This is achievable, and I'll add this option to the 'divider-playlists'. However, your other suggestion to make it 'foobar-wide'... Remember, that it would also work for normal playlist-tabs and Playlist Switcher! I can imagine people who accidentally mark this foobar-wide option to 'omit' divider-playlists, two days later forget about it, and then spam 'support' forums complaining about 'auto-changing-playlists' wink.gif This is *not* task for my plugin! Remember, this component is for *displaying* list of playlists, not organizing or changing form/behavior of it.

The best solution is to write separate plugin that groups and organizes playlists (or something) - in the way where other plugins could benefit from it (or not!). This is possible to implement (though, I don't say it's simple!). And I am not going to write this smile.gif (in a couple of weeks, at least wink.gif).

And BTW, mazy, thanks for all your suggestions smile.gif

QUOTE (xliu5 @ May 31 2006, 19:10) *
Don't know if it is a bug or not. The %filesize% tag does not report correct information on files other than mp3 (e.g. cue+ape).
Correct, this is a bug smile.gif Thanks for the report. I'll try to fix it in the new release.

This post has been edited by mixcherry: May 31 2006, 19:30


--------------------
http://foobar2000.pl/ :: unofficial polish forum
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sphix
post May 31 2006, 21:49
Post #83





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 26-March 06
From: Brazil
Member No.: 28866



Really nice plugin, thanks! biggrin.gif


--------------------
-foobar2000 + Burrrn + EAC
-HD 80Gb using High QualityVBR MP3s
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mil3s
post May 31 2006, 21:57
Post #84





Group: Members
Posts: 400
Joined: 22-February 06
Member No.: 27971



What is 'Set max height'?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bachi-Bouzouk
post May 31 2006, 22:00
Post #85





Group: Members
Posts: 591
Joined: 3-May 05
From: Dijon, France
Member No.: 21852



now it works perfectly !! wink.gif and as the dropdown panel is made to be one line sized, maybe you should activate this option by default?


--------------------
Foobar 0.9.X manual - http://eolindel.free.fr/foobar0.9/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mazy
post Jun 1 2006, 01:37
Post #86





Group: Members
Posts: 680
Joined: 11-July 03
From: Brno, Czech Rep.
Member No.: 7705



QUOTE (mixcherry @ May 31 2006, 20:30) *
The divider-line would have to be the same height as all other dropdown lines - that's because I use CBS_OWNERDRAWFIXED window style (and not CBS_OWNERDRAWVARIABLE), if you know what I mean tongue.gif For non-developer, this means that all lines in dropdown-list must be the same height. And I'm not going to change this.

there was a little misunderstanding. i was talking about the drawn line (which was 1px in the mock up image), not the row (i guess i got these terms mixed wink.gif).

QUOTE (mixcherry @ May 31 2006, 20:30) *
I think I won't give option to change separator's background color. I'd rather prefer the ability to change each line's background smile.gif Maybe something similar to $set_style(...)?... who knows?... wink.gif

that would be amazing! now, who's going to do the same to trackinfo panel? wink.gif

QUOTE (mixcherry @ May 31 2006, 20:30) *
This is achievable, and I'll add this option to the 'divider-playlists'. However, your other suggestion to make it 'foobar-wide'... Remember, that it would also work for normal playlist-tabs and Playlist Switcher! I can imagine people who accidentally mark this foobar-wide option to 'omit' divider-playlists, two days later forget about it, and then spam 'support' forums complaining about 'auto-changing-playlists' wink.gif This is *not* task for my plugin! Remember, this component is for *displaying* list of playlists, not organizing or changing form/behavior of it.

all fair, you're right. i would be more than happy with support for this just in your plugin, i.e. when using mouse wheel or arrow keys etc.

thank you for your great plugin, that was something i was waiting for like for ages ...


--------------------
info about my tag guesser script for foo_lua (preview version available):
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?showtopic=16987
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mil3s
post Jun 4 2006, 10:04
Post #87





Group: Members
Posts: 400
Joined: 22-February 06
Member No.: 27971



Any news?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mixcherry
post Jun 6 2006, 11:51
Post #88





Group: Developer
Posts: 255
Joined: 9-July 04
From: Poland / Warsaw
Member No.: 15201



QUOTE (mil3s @ May 31 2006, 22:57) *
What is 'Set max height'?
I've explained it here, but it doesn't matter anymore, as I removed this option (nobody used it/knew why does it exist wink.gif)

QUOTE (mil3s @ Jun 4 2006, 11:04) *
Any news?
Sorry, I've been quite busy last few days... Anyway, I've uploaded new version (v0.5.7.5) with simple separator lines. They are very simple for now:
  • You have to rename your playlist to '-' (minus -- without quotation marks wink.gif) if you want to use it as 'separator'.
  • 'Separators' are currently selectable, just as any other normal playlist.
  • Color and style of the line is not configurable (actually, the line has the same color as default text).
  • Using separators and sorting dropdown list can result in some unpredictable mess wink.gif
I'm not planning to improve anything until I finish my exams wink.gif But as soon as it is possible, I'll try to add options mazy requested ($set_style(...) etc.).

This post has been edited by mixcherry: Jun 6 2006, 11:56


--------------------
http://foobar2000.pl/ :: unofficial polish forum
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zimdgre
post Jun 6 2006, 15:07
Post #89


banned (TOS #12)


Group: Banned
Posts: 66
Joined: 25-March 06
Member No.: 28820



I have a request which is not likely would be done, but It'll be really nice if this dropdown plugin can be configured to act like the address bar from Windows Explorer, so we can type the name of the playlist to the dropdown box when it gets focus.

There are only just a few keyboard shortcuts that assigned to a single keystroke by default, like Z, X, C, V, so it's not a big deal if this feature requires a modification on those shortcuts.

This post has been edited by Zimdgre: Jun 6 2006, 15:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
unabatedshagie
post Jun 6 2006, 15:20
Post #90





Group: Members
Posts: 234
Joined: 2-October 05
From: Scotland
Member No.: 24838



question, how would I go about chnaging the order of the playlists using the dropdown? Is the move up move down in the context menu supposed to move the playlist or the actual component?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Squeller
post Jun 6 2006, 15:30
Post #91





Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 28-August 02
Member No.: 3218



A request: Would you please add support for display modes "none", "grey" and "sunken"?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
roentgen
post Jun 6 2006, 15:39
Post #92





Group: Members
Posts: 271
Joined: 19-February 06
Member No.: 27893



well... having '-' playlists only to show separators surely wasn't on my wish list tongue.gif... anyway maybe those that requested this actualy use it...

anyhow... just tested this functionality... and seen some kind of bug
With having the dropdown sorted by %title% and having a '-' playlist, the separator is shown in a different position

screenshot:


now... something from my own wishlist tongue.gif : after using the dropdown menu focus should be set on playlist (or pressing Esc key should deselect the menu and set focus on playlist)... so key down would go to the next item in playlist... not to the next playlist

anyway... great job so far smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mil3s
post Jun 6 2006, 16:28
Post #93





Group: Members
Posts: 400
Joined: 22-February 06
Member No.: 27971



Thanks mixcherry for the new version. The dividers are awesome.

A few other requests for future versions.
* A fast way to change places of playlists and dividers without the need to change the layout and add the playlist switcher.
* Scrollbar for long playlist menu. More than 14 entries adds scrollbar in Firefox and Windows folder adressbar.
* Text in center of divider. Not important but would be cool. Not sure if it's possible either.
* Optional 'Playlist'-button. ... you know what I mean. Asked for it earlier.

QUOTE (Squeller @ Jun 6 2006, 08:30) *
A request: Would you please add support for display modes "none", "grey" and "sunken"?
No, please don't add this. You can look all over Windows, the border is correct as it is.

This post has been edited by mil3s: Jun 6 2006, 18:09
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mazy
post Jun 6 2006, 17:18
Post #94





Group: Members
Posts: 680
Joined: 11-July 03
From: Brno, Czech Rep.
Member No.: 7705



QUOTE (Squeller @ Jun 6 2006, 16:30) *
A request: Would you please add support for display modes "none", "grey" and "sunken"?

this is a standard windows combobox control, so it's (imho) fine as it is ...


--------------------
info about my tag guesser script for foo_lua (preview version available):
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?showtopic=16987
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
4nt1
post Jun 6 2006, 19:07
Post #95





Group: Members
Posts: 492
Joined: 3-January 05
Member No.: 18811



yes I too second that for none, grey and sunken... please....
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gfngfgf
post Jun 7 2006, 00:39
Post #96





Group: Members
Posts: 899
Joined: 2-November 04
Member No.: 17951



QUOTE (mil3s @ Jun 6 2006, 08:28) *
* A fast way to change places of playlists and dividers without the need to change the layout and add the playlist switcher.

I've been using foo_playlist_manager when I need to move playlists around. It's just a popup window, so no need to mess around with my layout.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Squeller
post Jun 7 2006, 07:29
Post #97





Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 28-August 02
Member No.: 3218



QUOTE (mil3s @ Jun 6 2006, 07:28) *
QUOTE (Squeller @ Jun 6 2006, 08:30) *

A request: Would you please add support for display modes "none", "grey" and "sunken"?
No, please don't add this. You can look all over Windows, the border is correct as it is.

No one will force you to use it. And which windows? Windows may change as well. Even foo_uie_quicksearch has it, it's a text box. There are lots of beautiful foobars out there. From the point "you can look all over windows" they are evil. Menu bars at the bottom, no menu bars, etc. etc.

Why do I ask for it:

1. With all the possibilities of columns ui you can place this component WHEREEVER and depending on the style of your personal foobar, you may need a borderless.
2. I guess it's easy to implement or offered by the sdk, because many plugins have a frame style option. If not possible. No problem.

I'd like frameless borders because of this (the top panel is the dropdown)



Yes, I misuse it! And I love it!

This post has been edited by Squeller: Jun 7 2006, 07:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mil3s
post Jun 7 2006, 08:26
Post #98





Group: Members
Posts: 400
Joined: 22-February 06
Member No.: 27971



Squeller: The border as it is now is exactly how it should look (I've created a few XP themes so I actually have some knowledge). This border-look sadly not available in uie_quicksearch, and if mixcherry where to add the other border looks the current look might disappear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mixcherry
post Jun 7 2006, 08:41
Post #99





Group: Developer
Posts: 255
Joined: 9-July 04
From: Poland / Warsaw
Member No.: 15201



QUOTE (Zimdgre @ Jun 6 2006, 16:07) *
I have a request which is not likely would be done, but It'll be really nice if this dropdown plugin can be configured to act like the address bar from Windows Explorer, so we can type the name of the playlist to the dropdown box when it gets focus.

There are only just a few keyboard shortcuts that assigned to a single keystroke by default, like Z, X, C, V, so it's not a big deal if this feature requires a modification on those shortcuts.
I'll think about it, but this is not trivial (especially when I use owner drawing), so I wouldn't expect it very soon. I'd say, 'never' is very possible time. I'd rather make my combobox to highlight items according to keys you press (e.g. highlight 'Default' when you press 'D').

QUOTE (unabatedshagie @ Jun 6 2006, 16:20) *
question, how would I go about chnaging the order of the playlists using the dropdown? Is the move up move down in the context menu supposed to move the playlist or the actual component?
See the answer for mil3s questions below. The 'Move up/down' are standard Columns UI's Layout commands and they affect actual component, not list of playlists.

QUOTE (Squeller @ Jun 6 2006, 16:30) *
A request: Would you please add support for display modes "none", "grey" and "sunken"?
I'm afraid that with standard Windows' Dropdown List it's not as easy as with e.g. Album Art or Track Info (or Quicksearch). Some code sample would be very helpful, but AFAGK (As Far As Google Knows wink.gif), I'd have to do some nasty 'tricks', and this is the thing I do not like very much. I'd also like to have this as an option (so mil3s doesn't have to worry, it would look like now for default), but I can't find way to make my ComboBox borderless... Sorry.

So please, don't request / discuss about 'none' / 'grey' / 'sunken'. If I find a way to implement it, I'll implement it.

QUOTE (roentgen @ Jun 6 2006, 16:39) *
well... having '-' playlists only to show separators surely wasn't on my wish list tongue.gif...
Wasn't that your request?:
QUOTE (roentgen @ May 17 2006, 13:23) *
I'm wonedring... is there some custom sorting available? 'cause I want the drop-down menu to be sorted by name of playlist not by their order on playlist tabs
wink.gif

QUOTE (roentgen @ Jun 6 2006, 16:39) *
anyhow... just tested this functionality... and seen some kind of bug
With having the dropdown sorted by %title% and having a '-' playlist, the separator is shown in a different position
QUOTE (mixcherry @ Jun 6 2006, 12:51) *
Using separators and sorting dropdown list can result in some unpredictable mess wink.gif
tongue.gif

QUOTE (roentgen @ Jun 6 2006, 16:39) *
now... something from my own wishlist tongue.gif : after using the dropdown menu focus should be set on playlist (or pressing Esc key should deselect the menu and set focus on playlist)... so key down would go to the next item in playlist... not to the next playlist
Yes, that would be useful option, I'll add it.

QUOTE (roentgen @ Jun 6 2006, 16:39) *
anyway... great job so far smile.gif
Thanks smile.gif

QUOTE (mil3s @ Jun 6 2006, 17:28) *
Thanks mixcherry for the new version. The dividers are awesome.

A few other requests for future versions.
* A fast way to change places of playlists and dividers without the need to change the layout and add the playlist switcher.
* Scrollbar for long playlist menu. More than 14 entries adds scrollbar in Firefox and Windows folder adressbar.
* Text in center of divider. Not important but would be cool. Not sure if it's possible either.
* Optional 'Playlist'-button. ... you know what I mean. Asked for it earlier.
  1. I know, I know... I have to add options to move playlists using my component. In the meantime, I'd recommend you to use Playlist Manager (from foosion's pack, I believe), just as gfngfgf mentioned.
  2. For now, scrollbar is shown with minimum 30 entries (this is the default value for standard dropdown list). I'll make it configurable with next version.
  3. Well, it's possible (everything is possible wink.gif), but that would require 2 more options under Preferences... And what sort of text should be displayed?... Different for each divider? Some static text? ...I don't know, maybe in foo_playlists_dropdown 2.0 wink.gif Or maybe the text just after '-' would be shown (e.g. if playlist name was '-yoyoyo', the divider would be shown with text 'yoyoyo' in center of it... I'll think about it).
  4. I don't remember if I answered you, but I don't think this is good idea for my little and simple component wink.gif You know, this is very individual request and I don't want to make my Preferences more messy than they are now. Same as above, maybe in 2.0...


--------------------
http://foobar2000.pl/ :: unofficial polish forum
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mil3s
post Jun 7 2006, 09:26
Post #100





Group: Members
Posts: 400
Joined: 22-February 06
Member No.: 27971



^Thanks for your replys. Take your time. Looking forward to v2.0 biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

14 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2014 - 14:47