IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

156 Pages V  « < 147 148 149 150 151 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
[seemingly abandonware] iPod manager, also known as foo_dop
leeyingseng
post Jan 20 2012, 09:27
Post #3701





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 25-November 11
Member No.: 95392



QUOTE (sonvolt @ Jan 13 2012, 14:45) *
I use method described in post #3651, works for me..


hi there

just saw this topic, and i tried finding the post you mention, but i can not. Any chance you can point me in the right direction to the method your talking about? i stupidly upgraded my ipod touch, and i am now stuck with no music sad.gif

cheers

lm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sonvolt
post Jan 21 2012, 18:36
Post #3702





Group: Members
Posts: 132
Joined: 14-August 09
From: Edinburgh
Member No.: 72310



Post is on page 147 but here a resume, Send music to Apple device using Foobar/Foodop, close Foobar then open Itunes go to the music on your device then
selected one of your songs and play it. A quick Synch should occur and your songs should now show up.
Album art doesn't work but can live with that.

This post has been edited by db1989: Jan 23 2012, 12:28
Reason for edit: removing unnecessary full quote of above post
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mcai8rw2
post Jan 23 2012, 12:21
Post #3703





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 24-November 11
Member No.: 95374



QUOTE
Hello All,

I have had a search on the forums... but i couldn;t come up with anything. Probably because the keywords I am using to search, are so generic.

In ITUNES... if i transfer a particular album onto my IPOD, in my Albums list it appears as ONE album, with many tracks.

In FOOBAR, if i transfer the SAME album to my ipod, Foobar SPLITS the album up into the different artists, and i end up with LOADS of copies of the same album.

So... please can anyone advise me on how to get foo_dop to sort my albums by album title... and not take artist into consideration on the album.

I'm relatively certain this has something to do with the metadata / Database mapping... but i am REALLY struggling to get my head around what strings like this:

$if($stricmp($meta(album artist),various artists),1,%ipod_compilation%)

Actually mean. So any help would be dearly appreciated.

Sincerely

This post has been edited by mcai8rw2: Jan 19 2012, 10:57


sorry to shamlessly self bump...(not that bumping works on this kind of thread...)...

But i;m really still stuck on how to stop FOOBAR from splitting my Albums with Different artists as separate Albums on my ipod.

Basically... I want my Ipod Nano to group the albums by album title... and ignore the fact that there are different artists.

Help! I hate itunes!

Thanks

This post has been edited by mcai8rw2: Jan 23 2012, 12:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zlodey
post Jan 23 2012, 13:09
Post #3704





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 14-May 11
Member No.: 90619



Album Artist and Artist Name are not the same !!! iPod sorts the albums by the Album Artist, so, if you have a VA album, than you should tag it as it is: in the Album Artist field write "Various Artists", and leave the "Artst Name" as is, different for different song. All this do in Foobar (or other tagging tool) and it should look like this:
http://iceimg.com/i/55/9f/5788699881.png (one Various Artists for all the album)

Now simply transfer the album to iPod, and in the iPod search it at "Compilations" or by Album name.


and i have a question: which version of foo-dop (if there is one) supports tracks' ratings, so as to be able to see in Foobar which track from my iPod nano 2G has 1 or 5 stars ??? Is it possible somehow to see this information ?

This post has been edited by db1989: Jan 23 2012, 19:21
Reason for edit: removing unnecessary full quote
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skace
post Jan 24 2012, 01:55
Post #3705





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 9-April 09
Member No.: 68796



More importantly, is musicmusic alive? I'd be willing to donate for a new version, but I haven't seen anything from him at all.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
frogworth
post Jan 24 2012, 09:29
Post #3706





Group: Members
Posts: 163
Joined: 30-December 09
Member No.: 76511



QUOTE (skace @ Jan 24 2012, 10:55) *
More importantly, is musicmusic alive? I'd be willing to donate for a new version, but I haven't seen anything from him at all.


I emailed him a few weeks ago (contact address on his website) and got no response, so I hope he's just caught up with other things!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Xenion
post Jan 24 2012, 17:10
Post #3707





Group: Members
Posts: 1040
Joined: 23-May 02
From: DE
Member No.: 2107



i also hope that nothing serious happened to musicmusic because he used to show up in this forums regularly.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Der Internet
post Jan 24 2012, 17:26
Post #3708





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 27-December 09
Member No.: 76387



i wrote him too, some days ago.. no reply.


i heard that he used to code foo_dop, but then he took an arrow to the knee
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kerby
post Jan 26 2012, 08:31
Post #3709





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 26-January 12
Member No.: 96713



Hi everyone,

Just wanted to note that the method described earlier did work for me with IOS 5.01. (Using the iPhoneCalc.dll file, etc.).

There are a couple of things to note:
In iTunes, go to the Summary page to set the Options for your iPhone/iPod Touch and make sure you check:
"Manually manage music and videos"
Then go to the Music and uncheck:
"Sync Music"

Every time after copying files with Foobar2000, I had to restart iTunes and play a song off the device to get the database rebuilt.

Hopefully this is helpful to someone.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
krazyclocks
post Feb 4 2012, 23:02
Post #3710





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 28-January 12
Member No.: 96769



I would like to get a probally used Ipod Touch 3rd or 4th generation , for dual usage one to hold my flac converted files to MP3s for playback using line out in truck and just as important to remote control my foobar flac files on my home XP PC.

There seems to be conflicting data , the newest ios 5 will not work with album embedded art ?

However the older versions work fine ?

What versions work ?

While using Ipod as remote viewer will it sync up to the playing Flac files on the PC ?
What is displayed ?

Never owned a Apple product so all new to me , thanks for info from people whom are using in this way.

This post has been edited by krazyclocks: Feb 4 2012, 23:04
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NullString
post Feb 5 2012, 21:56
Post #3711





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 23-May 06
From: Chile!
Member No.: 31067



The Media Monkey team hasn't been able to implement a full featured iOS5 plug-in.
Many developers are with a huge headache trying to circumvent the changes introduced by Apple regarding audio management. We'll have to wait a little bit longer until a working DLL comes out I guess.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
somy
post Feb 6 2012, 15:08
Post #3712





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 19-August 11
Member No.: 93131



Is there any alternative to this plugin?
I tried to manually convert FLAC files to AAC format and then uses Itunes to sync to IPhone, but album covers are also lost during the conversion.
It would be nice to have something similar to this: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic...f=2&t=45713
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kompot
post Feb 6 2012, 15:14
Post #3713





Group: Members
Posts: 88
Joined: 20-July 07
Member No.: 45480



QUOTE (somy @ Feb 6 2012, 17:08) *
Is there any alternative to this plugin?

I've written an alternative that works pretty much the same as the solution you mentioned.
Take a look here
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=93063

This post has been edited by kompot: Feb 6 2012, 15:15
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vr4y
post Feb 15 2012, 02:23
Post #3714





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 11-November 11
Member No.: 95102



I have been waiting for update of foo-dop for a long time.
It turns out that I have to give up~
musicmusic is a great person.I appreciate what he has done for all of us.
However, he doesn't have responsibility to keep on updating it for free.
I dont like itunes,

For whom are looking for alternative ways to transfer songs to ios5 without itunes, I 'll recommend itools ,which is developed by a Chinese group .
Don't worry about your Chinese Level, they provide English Version here : http://itools.hk/tscms/ ,
Numerous Chinese iphone users manage their phone with itools.
It works fine for me.
However If you're very sensitive with it, make sure you have anti-virus software installed in your computer.
You use it on your own risk.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
garrettedge
post Feb 21 2012, 01:14
Post #3715





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 20-February 12
Member No.: 97279



If the source code is up on his website, why hasn't anyone just pulled the source and worked on it?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mraviator
post Feb 23 2012, 20:39
Post #3716





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-February 12
Member No.: 97365



Newb here...

On Win 7 running Foobar2000 1.1.11 and foo_dop 0.6.9.6. When trying to sync music with my iPod Nano (6G, the square one), I keep getting in I/O 1005 error.
any ideas what this is about? I'm using iPhoneCalc.dll from http://yuo.be/wiki/dop:start.

thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yeeeargh
post Feb 27 2012, 16:09
Post #3717





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 25-June 11
Member No.: 91829



hi, i have one question. is it possible to add artist-art which gets shown in the artist list on my ipod nano 6/7g?
the way i have it set up now it shows one of the album-covers of this artist. i have to option "additionally use foobar2000 built-in artwork reader" checked an in foobar it shows the artist-art.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mzso
post Feb 29 2012, 22:02
Post #3718





Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 2-May 07
Member No.: 43131



Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? I'm trying to add album art to the albums I already have on the ipod. I set the album art folder. All the album arts are correctly found and shown on the ipod playlist. I select all and choose "Update album art". But when the process is finished I can't see the album arts on the ipod.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fangs404
post Mar 7 2012, 03:09
Post #3719





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 11-December 07
From: Iowa City, IA
Member No.: 49482



QUOTE (garrettedge @ Feb 20 2012, 19:14) *
If the source code is up on his website, why hasn't anyone just pulled the source and worked on it?

Because it's not open source....
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halfnhalf03
post Mar 13 2012, 03:34
Post #3720





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 13-March 12
Member No.: 97751



Any word on whether or not it works in 5.1?

I'm currently using the previously stated method of opening my ipod in itunes and rebuilding it. I'm worried that if i upgrade to 5.1, that even this method wont be possible.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
matt the cat
post Mar 17 2012, 18:48
Post #3721





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 28-December 10
Member No.: 86874



I'm wondering does this work with iTunesEncode.exe in addition to Nero AAC? huh.gif

iTunes got better results in the listening tests on low bitrates and therefore I'd rather use it to encode those low bit rate files I'm adding to my iPod. beer.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smellyeagle
post Mar 28 2012, 18:26
Post #3722





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 28-March 12
Member No.: 98158



Hi,

I have a verizon iphone 4 and have had limited success with the experimental version of ipod manager. I'm able to copy files to the iphone, but am not able to see them on my phone. Strangely, I can see the music fine within itunes. Any idea what's going on?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
luckypops
post Apr 1 2012, 23:22
Post #3723





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 1-April 12
Member No.: 98296



I get the following error when I choose "Send to iPod" on my iPod Touch 1st Generation:

"Error writing iTunesDB file : Expected 16 character FireWireGUID. Got: 3F60901FB5F9D2E0FADBFD1296AFC4B97E88FAC0"

I am running Windows 7 Home Edition, along with the latest versions of foo_dop.dll and iPhoneCalc.dll.

This post has been edited by luckypops: Apr 1 2012, 23:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skace
post Apr 4 2012, 00:44
Post #3724





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 9-April 09
Member No.: 68796



The old method of repairing it via itunes after syncing with foo_dop doesn't appear to work in 5.1 for me. Yea I had to find out....
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trelain
post Apr 6 2012, 02:16
Post #3725





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 2-January 09
From: Omaha, NE USA
Member No.: 65081



Anyone know of another forum thread that provides any more ongoing info about the prospects of regaining 3rd party access to the iPod database post-IOS 5? The Media monkey thread hasn't been updated in months, and I haven't been able to find any other product besides iTunes that will work with IOS 5, and iTunes is too tag-ignorant to be useful. Since this affects so many people it seems to me that it warrants more frequent info updates than once every 6 months. It's like everyone involved just disappeared off the face of the earth or something. If it can't be done it would be helpful (and professional) to know that so we can all move on to getting rid of our iPods or capitulate and become slaves to the almighty totalitarian fruit. Not being a dick, just want some info from somebody who actually knows something, not more "just wait" comments - are we SOL or not? Any suggestions for an iPod alternative whose hardware is just as sexy and wonderful?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

156 Pages V  « < 147 148 149 150 151 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 08:19