IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

old FLAC to new FLAC 1.1.4
the irf
post Feb 16 2007, 12:38
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



I've been good smile.gif, cleaned out all the shit I know I never will use
Can't even remember how much, must be +100GB smile.gif


Now I am left with 2 empty drives.
1 160GB external and 1 320GB internal.


My FLAC collection I already have on system drive ( have it on D: not on C: partition )
Want to move it to a less active drive.

My collection is about 150GB FLAC files
How can I easily convert all old FLAC to the new FLAC to another drive with identical folders and subfolders?

I wish FLAC frontend had this function, auto create folders and subfolders.
If you drag 1 folder to FLAC frontend, 1 identical folder with same subfolders is created in the output directory.
This would ease the process considerable
please rolleyes.gif

Is there any reason to wait for new FLAC version?
Was mostly thinking if FLAC 1.1.4 has any serious bug reports......

Was thinking it would be great to have all FLAC on the 160GB drive that I never have turned on anyway.
Easy to turn on if I need it ....
I use FLAC on PC, convert to mp3 for my DAP (iAudio U2)



My FLAC collection is set up like this:

Lossless
-----------Artist 1
----------------------Album 1
----------------------Album 2
----------------------Album 3
-----------Artist 2
----------------------Album 1
-----------Artist 3
----------------------Album 1
----------------------Album 2
-----------Artist 4
----------------------Album 1
----------------------Album 2
-----------Artist 5
----------------------Album 1
----------------------Album 2
-----------Artist 6
----------------------Album 1
----------------------Album 2
----------------------Album 3


Lossless is the main folder
Artist is a subfolder to Lossless
Album is a subfolder to Artist

This post has been edited by the irf: Feb 19 2007, 00:32
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 24)
beto
post Feb 16 2007, 13:26
Post #2





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 713
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Sao Paulo
Member No.: 15173



maybe I am not grasping something but why don't you move the files from one drive to the other? I don't get your question...


--------------------
http://volutabro.blogspot.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 16 2007, 13:31
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



I want to convert from old FLAC to latest FLAC 1.1.4.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Marino13
post Feb 16 2007, 13:32
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 7-October 03
Member No.: 9206



You could use a progrm like foobar2000 which will do exactly what you are asking or you could use Synthetic Soul's batch file found in this thread http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....=50993&st=0 and then just copy your music to your other drives once it is complete.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 16 2007, 13:35
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



foobar 0.9.4.2 isn't updated with FLAC 1.1.4

This post has been edited by the irf: Feb 16 2007, 14:11
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DrGreen
post Feb 16 2007, 14:19
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 22-January 05
Member No.: 19216



if you have the space, do what beto said. copy the root dir to the new drive and encode the files there with --force (flac --verify --force File.flac). when the conversion is done and you have verified that there are no errors, delete the oiginal files
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 16 2007, 14:24
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



Is there are a way I can copy only the folders and not the files?

I can do this manually, probably gona delete some stuff to.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gottkaiser
post Feb 16 2007, 14:31
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 171
Joined: 7-January 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 18891



The re-encode batch file is very helpful. The tools is discussed here.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DJED
post Feb 16 2007, 14:33
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 22-March 04
Member No.: 12918



Gosh darn - ya beat me to it...

It is VERY effective. The space saving is very much worth it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 16 2007, 19:40
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



This is too much, the batch file.
It ain't default settings, i want default.

like this:


and yes, wihtout tags
Don't use it, never will.......

Is there a way to re-create the directory without the files?
I'm gonna do it manually, gonna delete what I don't need anyway........

This post has been edited by the irf: Feb 16 2007, 19:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
goweropolis
post Feb 16 2007, 20:22
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 210
Joined: 17-April 02
From: Vancouver, Canada
Member No.: 1807



QUOTE (the irf @ Feb 16 2007, 05:35) *
foobar 0.9.4.2 isn't updated with FLAC 1.1.4

Couldn't you just set up a custom encoder in foobar and point it to wherever you have the FLAC 1.1.4 binary on your hard drive? For transcoding and customizing output to specific directories based on tags, foobar is without a doubt the best solution.

This post has been edited by goweropolis: Feb 16 2007, 20:22


--------------------
http://goweropolis.no-ip.org:8080/blog/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 16 2007, 20:26
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



note, based on tags
have no tags biggrin.gif

And I'm not about to tag 5000 FLAC files wink.gif


my request on the first post:
I wish FLAC frontend had this function, auto create folders and subfolders.
If you drag 1 folder to FLAC frontend, 1 identical folder with same subfolders is created in the output directory.
This would ease the process considerable

by that I meant something similar to what Monkeys Audio has
like this:


This post has been edited by the irf: Feb 16 2007, 20:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Feb 16 2007, 20:54
Post #13


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



you can reencode in place with a simple script that finds all flac files and then reencodes them one at a time. in bash it's just

CODE
find /top/level/directory -name '*.flac' -exec flac -5Vf {} \;


I am hesitant to add functionality like this that is so easily accomplished with scripts.

Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
beto
post Feb 16 2007, 21:11
Post #14





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 713
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Sao Paulo
Member No.: 15173



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Feb 16 2007, 16:54) *
I am hesitant to add functionality like this that is so easily accomplished with scripts.


Sorry josh, but there is no script easier than a gui. If it is implemented in the binary then a gui will certainly follow.
And not everyone is on *nix, in fact almost no one is. wink.gif


--------------------
http://volutabro.blogspot.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 16 2007, 21:34
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



Josh, I wish I knew how smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
HotshotGG
post Feb 16 2007, 22:07
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 1593
Joined: 24-March 02
From: Revere, MA
Member No.: 1607



QUOTE
Sorry josh, but there is no script easier than a gui. If it is implemented in the binary then a gui will certainly follow.
And not everyone is on *nix, in fact almost no one is


but the command-line is significantly easier once you learn how... I haven't played around with Bash myself in a long time wink.gif


--------------------
College student/IT Assistant
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Feb 16 2007, 22:46
Post #17


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



I disagree that a gui is easier. it may be easier if you don't know any scripting language. but no doubt you run into situations like this ones quite often, not just with flac. I've seen hundreds of threads and posts on HA asking for things that are so easy to do with scripts. your small investment learning bash will pay off countless times. you can install cygwin and get a bash shell with little hassle.

to me, GUIs are like a caveman language where you have to grunt (click) and wave your hands (mouse) at the computer until it does what you want. (imagine the mouse pointer as your hand, then say "ugh" every time you click to mean "ME WANT THAT".) if whoever wrote the gui didn't add a feature that you can specifically communicate with an exact grunt and wave sequence, you're out of luck and have to ask the developer to add that.

shell scripting is like spoken language, a much more natural and powerful way to communicate what you want to do. instead of every developer having to reimplement functionality for crawling a tree and doing something, one guy just writes the 'find' command and it's usable in conjunctions with other commands.

windows has tried to dumb everything down to make it seem like a caveman can communicate but I think a basic part of computer literacy is knowing a scripted language.

Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 16 2007, 23:49
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



1 question to you Josh

Is what I requested difficult to add to FLAC frontend?


If you think about, it's useful feature smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Marino13
post Feb 17 2007, 00:16
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 7-October 03
Member No.: 9206



QUOTE (the irf @ Feb 16 2007, 04:31) *
I want to convert from old FLAC to latest FLAC 1.1.4.



That is why you use it as a command line encoder. Heck, I still use 0.8.3.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Feb 17 2007, 00:21
Post #20


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



oh, I didn't write the frontend, you'll have to ask speek.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Marino13
post Feb 17 2007, 00:22
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 7-October 03
Member No.: 9206



QUOTE (the irf @ Feb 16 2007, 14:49) *
1 question to you Josh

Is what I requested difficult to add to FLAC frontend?


If you think about, it's useful feature smile.gif



You need to take some time and search this forum. There is plenty of information you need and plenty of ways to do what you want. If you do not think that Synthetic Soul's batch file is easy and can't figure out how to set up foobar2000 (which will do EXACTLY what you want it to) then I question your computer skills. Maybe you need to talk to a friend who can help you out instead of trying it yourself. My five-year-old son could use SS's batch file!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Martin H
post Feb 17 2007, 00:28
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 857
Joined: 5-March 05
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20365



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Feb 16 2007, 22:46) *
to me, GUIs are like a caveman language where you have to grunt (click) and wave your hands (mouse) at the computer until it does what you want. (imagine the mouse pointer as your hand, then say "ugh" every time you click to mean "ME WANT THAT".) if whoever wrote the gui didn't add a feature that you can specifically communicate with an exact grunt and wave sequence, you're out of luck and have to ask the developer to add that.

*LOL* That is one great analogy, Josh smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Daffy
post Feb 17 2007, 00:44
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 189
Joined: 30-September 01
From: North Carolina
Member No.: 114



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Feb 16 2007, 16:46) *
I disagree that a gui is easier. it may be easier if you don't know any scripting language. but no doubt you run into situations like this ones quite often, not just with flac. I've seen hundreds of threads and posts on HA asking for things that are so easy to do with scripts. your small investment learning bash will pay off countless times. you can install cygwin and get a bash shell with little hassle.

to me, GUIs are like a caveman language where you have to grunt (click) and wave your hands (mouse) at the computer until it does what you want. (imagine the mouse pointer as your hand, then say "ugh" every time you click to mean "ME WANT THAT".) if whoever wrote the gui didn't add a feature that you can specifically communicate with an exact grunt and wave sequence, you're out of luck and have to ask the developer to add that.

shell scripting is like spoken language, a much more natural and powerful way to communicate what you want to do. instead of every developer having to reimplement functionality for crawling a tree and doing something, one guy just writes the 'find' command and it's usable in conjunctions with other commands.

windows has tried to dumb everything down to make it seem like a caveman can communicate but I think a basic part of computer literacy is knowing a scripted language.

Josh


No offense, but this logic/attitude is appalling coming from someone of such stature. You do realize that not everyone is a programmer or as skilled at scripts as you? I've been hanging out around here since the beginning of time so it seems and I still don't understand 90% of the stuff I read. That's why I rarely post. But I had to express my disappointment on this one. How come all of a sudden I'm relating to the "cavemen" in the Geico commercials?

This post has been edited by Daffy: Feb 17 2007, 00:48
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Feb 17 2007, 01:24
Post #24


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



please don't be offended. the "caveman" thing came to me many times in my own personal use of GUIs where I felt like a caveman myself trying to grunt and wave through something that a simple one line script could have done.

also note that you and any other english speaker has no trouble communicating to me in english, which is a far, far more complex language than either bash or perl. so I am not looking down on anyone. I think with cygwin and an oreilly book even a casual computer user could pick up bash in an afternoon and be instantly more productive.

Josh


edit: I mean this book: http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/bash3/index.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
the irf
post Feb 17 2007, 02:09
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 15-January 07
Member No.: 39680



QUOTE (Marino13 @ Feb 17 2007, 00:22) *
You need to take some time and search this forum. There is plenty of information you need and plenty of ways to do what you want. If you do not think that Synthetic Soul's batch file is easy and can't figure out how to set up foobar2000 (which will do EXACTLY what you want it to) then I question your computer skills. Maybe you need to talk to a friend who can help you out instead of trying it yourself. My five-year-old son could use SS's batch file!



Search, ok, I will do so!
But for what exactly?, it would help to know.

QUOTE (Marino13 @ Feb 17 2007, 00:22) *
My five-year-old son could use SS's batch file!


Smart kid you got wink.gif

What a "nice" way to say dumbass laugh.gif
"Thanks"!


I can run it, and do the task but I have a few questions about it.

1. It's set up for 1.1.3, I do not know if something has changed in 1.1.4 that can affect the output files.
2. Except the highest compression ratio is anything else changed ?


Computer skills is a very wide area.
We all lack of knowledge in some areas.


About foobar, how am I supposed to know how when I never use it.
It's not like any other software I use!


As you all can see I'm new here smile.gif
Take it easy wink.gif

--------------------------------------------

It's often a lot easier to understand when someone tells you the first step.

Sometimes you can't see even if it's in front of you blink.gif
You all know what I mean, for example when driving you can see a sign and your mind is somewhere else tongue.gif

Not all of us walk the same stairs in the learning process!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 10:53