IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
panels UI, columns UI, my heads gone boom
bojo
post May 24 2007, 10:59
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31005



Howdy,

i've used foobar for a year or 2 now, sometimes with nice columns UI, but then i reinstalled windows and it went byebye.
For a long time i was just using minimalist foobar2k, minimized in sys tray. Now i'm wanting something more pretty.
Because i have 3 monitors, i kinda want a setup that takes up a whole screen, lyrics etc would be sweet, which seems an option nowadays, and like album art etc.

Question is, do i want columnsUI or is that outdated now?, im confused as to what PanelsUI is... i tried it and got confused as hell....and i can't seem to get to the columnsUI webpage? it's down, temporarily or permantely im not sure...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Squeller
post May 24 2007, 11:11
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 28-August 02
Member No.: 3218



Columns UI isn't outdated, but it's not under heavy development any more. Don't know why, you may ask musicmusic.
Panels UI, yes. It's a complete ui plus some panels. I only need track display (formerly known as trackinfo_mod panel), I haven't understood the other panel. Also, panels ui is very tagz based. My head also went boom and I resigned.

I'd recommend you to use columns ui as your main UI. For albumart you can use panels ui "track display" panel.

This post has been edited by Squeller: May 24 2007, 11:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sylla
post May 24 2007, 11:11
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 7-March 07
Member No.: 41266



I'm using columns_ui but with panels_ui installed too, so that i get track_display and single column playlist. I think it's much easier to work in columns, and it still has some things that panels can't do I think. I think you should do the same, because you can make it have the same look and functions as in panels, but in an easier way. If you want to have buttons for 'mini mode' and such, or want to have transparent panels or backgrounds, I think you should try panels_ui.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bojo
post May 24 2007, 11:33
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31005



well i wouldnt mind transparent things, i have some nice wallpaper thats cool to view, but i'd rather actually having something right now.

so where has columnsUI moved to? all the links seem dead as a doorknob sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bimbel
post May 24 2007, 12:10
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 29-November 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 38183



Hm weird! Every page seems fine here:
http://yuo.be/columns.php And musicmusic has released 0.2.0 alpha 1 just some time ago I think!


--------------------
https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTMyNTMzNTk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bojo
post May 24 2007, 14:42
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31005



wahhh, works now :S.

dayum internet's out to get me. 5 minutes ago someone said jfgi, so i google searched it. Needless to say, the irony was overwhelming.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bojo
post May 25 2007, 07:31
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31005



Screenshot

that's what it looks like now. fullscreened on one of my three monitors, plan to have that info when i play games on one biggrin.gif. All done with columns UI.

im thinking about having a Library browser plugin for the bottom. But im not sure what to get?. Also is there any auto-tagging programs out there?. i've tagged lots of stuff differently, usually winamp or other would do tags, and some albums aren't nice compared to others.

Ps. any suggestions? Pps. when i play prey, the global control settings don't work on foobar? why's that?, it works in other games.

Moderation: Turned screenshot into a link as it was too large.

This post has been edited by Frank Bicking: May 25 2007, 16:26
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pepoluan
post May 25 2007, 08:14
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1455
Joined: 22-November 05
From: Jakarta
Member No.: 25929



My suggestions:

ColumnsUI - Hidden
Playlist Dropdown
QuickSearch
Album Art
Egoh Visualizer
Lyrics (there are some available)
Trackinfo


--------------------
Nobody is Perfect.
I am Nobody.

http://pandu.poluan.info
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
elVyse
post May 25 2007, 08:29
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 27-February 05
Member No.: 20211



You could also use one of the many user submitted configurations like the one from Cepiperez which is absolutely gorgeous.

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=53703
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bojo
post May 25 2007, 14:02
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31005



did anyone see the image i uploaded? just you suggested things i thought i had?...

essientially im looking for a good media library viewer?

i've got my music organized in

music/ARTIST/ALBUMS/TRACKS.

so i've just been creating and adding playlists when i want to listen to albums.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
elVyse
post May 25 2007, 15:15
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 27-February 05
Member No.: 20211



QUOTE (bojo @ May 25 2007, 15:02) *
did anyone see the image i uploaded?
No I don't see any image.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bojo
post May 25 2007, 16:07
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31005



did i fix it now ? sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
elVyse
post May 25 2007, 20:08
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 27-February 05
Member No.: 20211



Ah yes, I see it now smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bojo
post May 26 2007, 04:32
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31005



stupid capitals tongue.gif, sadly there's a problem with my web-server, as i can't see stuff, but other people can (same network hoo ha).

So what thinks you?.

and what's the point of columns UI (hidden).?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rama kandra
post May 26 2007, 19:56
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 17-May 07
Member No.: 43538



the best suggestion for the media library viewer is to use panelsUI and put in a 'Album list' which you should already have configured. Then you can arrange it to view by arist/ album or in my case, by directory structure. It works really well and for more advice, create another column like you did with albumart/lyrics/spectra, just for the Album list panel, as it will be a long list of all your files in your music directory, pretty simple, and gets the job done.


--------------------
that is our karma...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rama kandra
post May 26 2007, 20:07
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 17-May 07
Member No.: 43538



I thought I would just share what I was working on in columnsUI for creative purposes.

http://gulicio.us/Capture.JPG


--------------------
that is our karma...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bojo
post May 27 2007, 04:33
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31005



whats the media library plugin your using called?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Squeller
post May 27 2007, 08:28
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 28-August 02
Member No.: 3218



Looks like this is foo_uie_albumlist from musicmusic. Anyway, this is what you want.

This post has been edited by Squeller: May 27 2007, 08:30
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bojo
post May 27 2007, 09:57
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31005



yeah i ended up using the old one i found on my hard-drive. what's weird is 50% of the time music music's site timesout or something?.

Thanks for all your help biggrin.gif. my foobar lookes ace now.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rama kandra
post May 27 2007, 18:30
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 17-May 07
Member No.: 43538



post a screenshot now, im excited to see how it went


--------------------
that is our karma...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bojo
post May 28 2007, 11:19
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 31005



Wholedesktop

just foobar

First one is my whole desktop. 3 CRT's and a tv (the smaller one). One of the screens stays dedicated for foobar!. How it should be tongue.gif.

Probably will get updated heaps and heaps though biggrin.gif, but i reckon that's a good clean effort for a few hours learning it all again biggrin.gif. (ps. transparency settings are sexy with that background )

This post has been edited by bojo: May 28 2007, 11:20
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th April 2014 - 03:04